How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Provider profile · 2026 edition

Stripe review 2026: scores, fees and alternatives.

An online payments platform that businesses in 51 countries and regions can sign up to directly.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 21 and 26 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
4.2 / 5Buckingham Intelligence score
5Awards 2026
2Indices
1 of 10Rank, Payment Processing and Acquiring Index

Short answer.

Stripe is ranked in 2 Buckingham Intelligence indices. Its highest score is 4.2 out of 5 (84 out of 100) in the Payment Processing and Acquiring Index, where it ranks 1 of 10. It is strongest for online businesses wanting full published pricing and self-serve sign-up in many countries, with 5 out of 5 for published pricing and merchant reach. Not published or not stated on the pages read: regulatory standing.

Also ranked in: Stablecoin Settlement Index (3.1 out of 5, rank 6 of 14).

Awards and scores.

Scores from the Payment Processing and Acquiring Index and Stablecoin Settlement Index 2026.

Payment Processing and Acquiring Index

4.2 / 584 out of 100 · rank 1 of 10
Leader 2026Best for enterprise and cross-border merchants 2026Best for platforms and regulated firms 2026Top rated for published pricing 2026Top rated for merchant reach 2026
SegmentScore out of 100Rank
For small and mid-sized merchants822 of 10
For enterprise and cross-border merchants851 of 10
For platforms and regulated firms841 of 10

Stablecoin Settlement Index

3.1 / 562 out of 100 · rank 6 of 14

No award in the Stablecoin Settlement Index 2026.

SegmentScore out of 100Rank
For receiving from buyers607 of 14
For paying suppliers655 of 14
For treasury and holding606 of 14

The score out of 5 is the overall score out of 100 divided by 20. Leader goes to the top three overall, Best for to the first in each segment, and Top rated for to a score of 5 out of 5 on a criterion. Awards cannot be bought.

Strengths and watch-outs.

Where it scores best, and where to check closely, as shown in each ranking.

Payment Processing and Acquiring Index

Strongest for

Online businesses wanting full published pricing and self-serve sign-up in many countries.

  • Published pricing (5/5). Exact rates for domestic, premium, EEA and international cards plus conversion and dispute fees published.
  • Merchant reach (5/5). 51 countries and regions published.
Watch out for
  • Payout speed (3/5). Daily payout schedule published, with T+3 settlement in some countries and a 7 to 14 day first payout.

Stablecoin Settlement Index

Strongest for

Taking stablecoin payments at checkout.

  • Licences (4/5). US licences in 49 states with NMLS number; non-US licences not confirmed on the pages read.
  • Coins and rails (4/5). USDC on five networks plus USD, EUR and GBP balances; no USDT.
  • Access (4/5). US live, published country lists for previews, dashboard and API.
Watch out for
  • Settlement (1/5). Payout timing 'varies by network'.
  • Protection (2/5). Custodian named (Bridge); no segregation or reserve detail on Stripe's pages.

Disclosure. Bridge, also assessed in this index, is part of the Stripe group and custodies Stripe's stablecoin balances.

Published facts.

What Stripe publishes on its own pages, read on 21 and 26 October 2026.

Payment Processing and Acquiring Index

An online payments platform that businesses in 51 countries and regions can sign up to directly. It publishes a complete UK price list, 125+ payment methods, PCI DSS Level 1 and its UK and US licences. Standard settlement is three business days in some countries, and licence numbers are shown for the UK only.

FactWhat the provider publishes
PricingUK standard: "1.5% + 20p for standard UK cards", "2.8% + 20p for premium UK cards", "2.5% + 20p for European Economic Area cards", "3.15% + 20p for international cards", "+ 2% if currency conversion is required". Bank debits 1%, minimum 20p, £4.00 cap. Dispute received fee £20.00. "No setup fees, monthly fees, or hidden fees."
Payment methods"Increase customer acquisition with 100+ payment methods"; product menu: "Access to 125+" payment methods. No currency count on the pages read.
Merchant reachGlobal page lists 51 countries and regions where Stripe is supported, including India and Indonesia in preview and five countries on an extended network.
Payout speedDocs: first payout "typically" within 7 to 14 days; with T+3 standard settlement (three business days after payment), a daily automatic schedule pays funds "captured 3 business days earlier"; schedule chosen in the Dashboard.
IntegrationAPI reference, libraries and SDKs, prebuilt checkout and Payment Links; "Create an account and start accepting payments", "no contracts or banking details required".
Regulatory standing"Stripe Payments UK, Limited, an electronic money institution authorised by the Financial Conduct Authority (firm reference number: 900461)". US money transmitter licences listed by state and regulator. "certified us to PCI Service Provider Level 1".
Date read26 October 2026

Not published or not stated by Stripe

  • Regulatory standing. Other regions' numbers not on the pages read.

A fact that is not published is scored as not offered or, for a fee, as if it were high. It is never estimated.

Facts read on 26 October 2026 from: stripe.com/gb/pricing, stripe.com/global, docs.stripe.com/payouts, docs.stripe.com/security, stripe.com/gb/spc/licenses.

Stablecoin Settlement Index

Stripe lets businesses accept stablecoin payments that settle to their Stripe balance in local currency for a published 1.5%, and hold a USDC balance in a financial account. Stablecoin custody is with Bridge, Stripe's group company.

FactWhat the provider publishes
Legal statusStripe Payments Company, 'NMLS No. 1280479'. 'Bridge custodies USDC and OUSD.'
LicencesLicence table covers 49 states, DC, Guam, Puerto Rico and the US Virgin Islands (Montana not listed). Non-US Stripe entities not checked on the pages read.
Stablecoins and networksPayments: 'USDC (Tempo, Ethereum, Solana, Polygon, and Base networks), USDP (Ethereum and Solana, US-only), USDG (Ethereum, US-only)'. Financial accounts hold OUSD or USDC. USDT not listed.
Bank railsPayments settle 'in your Stripe balance in your local currency'. Financial accounts hold USD, EUR and GBP; Stripe blog: USD 'via ACH and wire, EUR via SEPA'.
FeesPricing page: stablecoin payments '1.5%' 'of the transaction amount in USD', including conversion to fiat, screening and gas. Link 0.8% is promotional and not scored. No fee listed for stablecoin financial accounts or stablecoin payouts.
Settlement'Payout timing: Varies by network.'
AccessStablecoin payments for US businesses; private preview in the EU, Hong Kong, Mexico and Switzerland. Stablecoin balances in public preview in the US and private preview in about 100 listed countries. Dashboard and API.
Protection'Bridge custodies USDC and OUSD.' Segregation and reserves not described on the Stripe pages read.
Date read21 October 2026

Not published or not stated by Stripe

  • Licences. Licence table covers 49 states, DC, Guam, Puerto Rico and the US Virgin Islands (Montana not listed).
  • Stablecoins and networks. USDT not listed.
  • Fees. No fee listed for stablecoin financial accounts or stablecoin payouts.
  • Protection. 'Bridge custodies USDC and OUSD.' Segregation and reserves not described on the Stripe pages read.
  • Licences. Non-US licences not confirmed on the pages read.
  • Published fees. Payout and conversion fees for financial accounts not listed.

A fact that is not published is scored as not offered or, for a fee, as if it were high. It is never estimated.

Facts read on 21 October 2026 from: stripe.com/pricing, stripe.com/en-be/spc/licenses, docs.stripe.com/crypto/stablecoin-payments.md, docs.stripe.com/crypto/…, docs.stripe.com/treasury/stablecoins, stripe.com/blog/….

Criterion scores.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

Payment Processing and Acquiring Index

  • Published pricing: 5/5. Exact rates for domestic, premium, EEA and international cards plus conversion and dispute fees published.
  • Payment methods: 4/5. 125+ payment methods published; no currency count on the pages read.
  • Merchant reach: 5/5. 51 countries and regions published.
  • Payout speed: 3/5. Daily payout schedule published, with T+3 settlement in some countries and a 7 to 14 day first payout.
  • Integration: 4/5. API, SDKs, no-code links and self-serve sign-up; no test environment confirmed on the pages read.
  • Regulatory standing: 4/5. UK licence number, US state licence list and PCI DSS Level 1 published; other regions' numbers not on the pages read.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Payment Processing and Acquiring Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

Stablecoin Settlement Index

  • Licences: 4/5. US licences in 49 states with NMLS number; non-US licences not confirmed on the pages read.
  • Published fees: 3/5. 1.5% payment fee published; payout and conversion fees for financial accounts not listed.
  • Coins and rails: 4/5. USDC on five networks plus USD, EUR and GBP balances; no USDT.
  • Settlement: 1/5. Payout timing 'varies by network'.
  • Access: 4/5. US live, published country lists for previews, dashboard and API.
  • Protection: 2/5. Custodian named (Bridge); no segregation or reserve detail on Stripe's pages.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Stablecoin Settlement Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

Stripe alternatives.

The other providers in the same ranking, ordered by score.

In the Payment Processing and Acquiring Index

ProviderScore out of 5RankStrongest for
Adyen3.92 of 10Large merchants wanting local acquiring and many payment methods from one licensed bank
Mollie3.63 of 10UK and European small businesses wanting simple published rates and daily payouts
Razorpay3.64 of 10Businesses selling to customers in India through UPI, cards and netbanking
Airwallex3.55 of 10Businesses wanting card acceptance with settlement into a multi-currency account
Nuvei3.46 of 10Merchants in gaming, travel and high-volume sectors needing many local methods
PayPal Braintree3.07 of 10Online merchants wanting card and PayPal acceptance with published UK rates
Checkout.com2.88 of 10Large online merchants needing local acquiring across many regions
SumUp2.69 of 10Small UK retailers and sole traders taking card payments in person
Worldpay1.610 of 10UK merchants wanting an established acquirer with next-day settlement

Full Payment Processing and Acquiring Index ranking

In the Stablecoin Settlement Index

ProviderScore out of 5RankStrongest for
Circle Mint4.01 of 14Minting and redeeming USDC at scale
Bridge3.72 of 14Moving between stablecoins and local bank rails
Brale3.63 of 14US businesses wanting a full public price list
BVNK3.44 of 14Businesses needing US, EU and UK rails together
Paxos3.35 of 14Fee-free minting of USDG and PYUSD
Ramp3.07 of 14US firms paying suppliers in stablecoins at no fee
Bitso Business2.88 of 14Real-time payouts in Mexico and Brazil
Conduit2.59 of 14Emerging market firms needing USD accounts and payouts
Reap2.410 of 14Asian firms paying suppliers from USDC or USDT
MoonPay Enterprise2.011 of 14Platforms paying out stablecoins as local fiat
Revolut Business1.912 of 14Firms already banking with Revolut
Coinbase Business1.913 of 14US and Singapore firms invoicing in USDC
Triple-A1.114 of 14Merchants in Asia and Europe settling to IBAN

Full Stablecoin Settlement Index ranking

Stripe compared.

Side by side on every criterion, fact and award.

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.