How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Provider profile · 2026 edition

Adyen review 2026: scores, fees and alternatives.

A global payments platform and licensed bank that acquires card payments itself.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 26 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
3.9 / 5Buckingham Intelligence score
3Awards 2026
1Index
2 of 10Rank, Payment Processing and Acquiring Index

Short answer.

Adyen scores 3.9 out of 5 (77 out of 100) in the Buckingham Intelligence Payment Processing and Acquiring Index 2026 and ranks 2 of 10. It is strongest for large merchants wanting local acquiring and many payment methods from one licensed bank, with 5 out of 5 for payment methods and merchant reach. Not published or not stated on the pages read: payout speed and regulatory standing.

Awards and scores.

Scores from the Payment Processing and Acquiring Index 2026.

Payment Processing and Acquiring Index

3.9 / 577 out of 100 · rank 2 of 10
Leader 2026Top rated for payment methods 2026Top rated for merchant reach 2026
SegmentScore out of 100Rank
For small and mid-sized merchants695 of 10
For enterprise and cross-border merchants832 of 10
For platforms and regulated firms792 of 10

The score out of 5 is the overall score out of 100 divided by 20. Leader goes to the top three overall, Best for to the first in each segment, and Top rated for to a score of 5 out of 5 on a criterion. Awards cannot be bought.

Strengths and watch-outs.

Where it scores best, and where to check closely, as shown in each ranking.

Strongest for

Large merchants wanting local acquiring and many payment methods from one licensed bank.

  • Payment methods (5/5). 150+ currencies and 200+ local payment methods published.
  • Merchant reach (5/5). Licences in ten regions plus EEA passporting published.
Watch out for
  • Payout speed (2/5). Choice of payout timing and currency stated without times.

Published facts.

What Adyen publishes on its own pages, read on 26 October 2026.

A global payments platform and licensed bank that acquires card payments itself. It publishes the widest method and currency coverage in this edition, a per-transaction fee with interchange plus plus card pricing, and licence pages for ten regions, including banking licences in the EEA and the US. It does not publish payout times, and licence numbers are mostly not shown.

FactWhat the provider publishes
Pricing"For each transaction, we charge a fixed processing fee + a fee determined by the payment method." Processing fee $0.13; cards "Interchange+ + 0.60%". "No setup fee"; "no setup or monthly fees".
Payment methodsHomepage: "150+" currencies and "200+" local payment methods.
Merchant reachLicence pages for Australia, Canada, EMEA, India, the United States, Malaysia, Singapore, New Zealand, Hong Kong and Japan; banking licence passported to "all EEA countries".
Payout speed"Flexible payouts: Choose when and in which currency you want to settle." No payout times published.
Integration"One API that supports multiple use cases and channels"; sales contact to start. No self-serve sign-up or test environment on the pages read.
Regulatory standing"Adyen N.V. is authorised as a credit Institution under the supervision of Dutch Central Bank"; UK branch with Part 4A permission supervised by the PRA and FCA; US federal branch "licensed by the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency and the Federal Reserve Board"; MAS Major Payments Institution; CBUAE licence number 08.01.02.035.
Date read26 October 2026

Not published or not stated by Adyen

  • Payout speed. No payout times published.
  • Regulatory standing. Few licence numbers and PCI DSS not stated on the pages read.

A fact that is not published is scored as not offered or, for a fee, as if it were high. It is never estimated.

Facts read on 26 October 2026 from: adyen.com, adyen.com/pricing, adyen.com/licenses, adyen.com/licenses/emea, adyen.com/licenses/united-states, adyen.com/licenses/singapore.

Criterion scores.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

  • Published pricing: 4/5. Processing fee and card margin over interchange plus plus published; card cost depends on interchange.
  • Payment methods: 5/5. 150+ currencies and 200+ local payment methods published.
  • Merchant reach: 5/5. Licences in ten regions plus EEA passporting published.
  • Payout speed: 2/5. Choice of payout timing and currency stated without times.
  • Integration: 3/5. Single API published; no self-serve sign-up or test environment on the pages read.
  • Regulatory standing: 4/5. Banking licences in the EEA, UK and US and payment licences elsewhere; few licence numbers and PCI DSS not stated on the pages read.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Payment Processing and Acquiring Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

Adyen alternatives.

The other providers in the same ranking, ordered by score.

ProviderScore out of 5RankStrongest for
Stripe4.21 of 10Online businesses wanting full published pricing and self-serve sign-up in many countries
Mollie3.63 of 10UK and European small businesses wanting simple published rates and daily payouts
Razorpay3.64 of 10Businesses selling to customers in India through UPI, cards and netbanking
Airwallex3.55 of 10Businesses wanting card acceptance with settlement into a multi-currency account
Nuvei3.46 of 10Merchants in gaming, travel and high-volume sectors needing many local methods
PayPal Braintree3.07 of 10Online merchants wanting card and PayPal acceptance with published UK rates
Checkout.com2.88 of 10Large online merchants needing local acquiring across many regions
SumUp2.69 of 10Small UK retailers and sole traders taking card payments in person
Worldpay1.610 of 10UK merchants wanting an established acquirer with next-day settlement

Full Payment Processing and Acquiring Index ranking

Adyen compared.

Side by side on every criterion, fact and award.

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.