How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Home › Buckingham Intelligence › Providers › PayPal Braintree
Provider profile · 2026 edition

PayPal Braintree review 2026: scores, fees and alternatives.

PayPal's payment platform for card, wallet and PayPal payments, now also called PayPal Enterprise Payments.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 26 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
3.0 / 5Buckingham Intelligence score
1Awards 2026
1Index
7 of 10Rank, Payment Processing and Acquiring Index

Short answer.

PayPal Braintree scores 3.0 out of 5 (61 out of 100) in the Buckingham Intelligence Payment Processing and Acquiring Index 2026 and ranks 7 of 10. It is strongest for online merchants wanting card and PayPal acceptance with published UK rates, with 5 out of 5 for published pricing. Not published or not stated on the pages read: merchant reach, payout speed and integration.

Awards and scores.

Scores from the Payment Processing and Acquiring Index 2026.

Payment Processing and Acquiring Index

3.0 / 561 out of 100 · rank 7 of 10
Top rated for published pricing 2026
SegmentScore out of 100Rank
For small and mid-sized merchants617 of 10
For enterprise and cross-border merchants618 of 10
For platforms and regulated firms628 of 10

The score out of 5 is the overall score out of 100 divided by 20. Leader goes to the top three overall, Best for to the first in each segment, and Top rated for to a score of 5 out of 5 on a criterion. Awards cannot be bought.

Strengths and watch-outs.

Where it scores best, and where to check closely, as shown in each ranking.

Strongest for

Online merchants wanting card and PayPal acceptance with published UK rates.

  • Published pricing (5/5). Exact card, Amex, cross-border, conversion and chargeback fees published.
Watch out for
  • Payout speed (0/5). Not published on the pages read.

Published facts.

What PayPal Braintree publishes on its own pages, read on 26 October 2026.

PayPal's payment platform for card, wallet and PayPal payments, now also called PayPal Enterprise Payments. It publishes a full UK fee table, a sandbox and PCI DSS Level 1. It does not publish payout times, a payment method count or the countries where a business can open an account.

FactWhat the provider publishes
PricingUK fee table (last updated 29 June 2026): cards and digital wallets "1.9% + 0.20 GBP"; American Express "2.4% + 0.20 GBP"; card issued outside the UK "Additional 1% fee"; scheme currency settlement "Additional 1.5% fee"; chargebacks 20.00 GBP; Chargeback Protection 0.59%.
Payment methods"payouts to 200+ markets in 50+ currencies"; cards, digital wallets and PayPal. No payment method count.
Merchant reach"200+ markets around the globe" for payments; UK fee table applies to the UK, Guernsey, Jersey and the Isle of Man. Countries where a business can open an account not listed.
Payout speedNot published on the pages read.
IntegrationDeveloper docs; "Try our platform in the Sandbox before applying"; ready-built payment interfaces; online sign-up subject to approval.
Regulatory standing"PayPal UK Ltd is authorised and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) as an electronic money institution (firm reference number 994790)". "PayPal Braintree is a validated Level 1 PCI DSS compliant service provider."
Date read26 October 2026

Not published or not stated by PayPal Braintree

  • Merchant reach. Countries where a business can open an account not listed.
  • Payout speed. Not published on the pages read.
  • Integration. No-code tools not confirmed.

A fact that is not published is scored as not offered or, for a fee, as if it were high. It is never estimated.

Facts read on 26 October 2026 from: braintreepayments.com, braintreepayments.com/gb/braintree-pricing.

Criterion scores.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

  • Published pricing: 5/5. Exact card, Amex, cross-border, conversion and chargeback fees published.
  • Payment methods: 3/5. 50+ payout currencies published; no payment method count.
  • Merchant reach: 3/5. 200+ markets stated for payments; merchant sign-up countries not listed.
  • Payout speed: 0/5. Not published on the pages read.
  • Integration: 4/5. Sandbox, developer docs and ready-built interfaces; no-code tools not confirmed.
  • Regulatory standing: 3/5. One licence number with PCI DSS Level 1 published.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Payment Processing and Acquiring Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

PayPal Braintree alternatives.

The other providers in the same ranking, ordered by score.

ProviderScore out of 5RankStrongest for
Stripe4.21 of 10Online businesses wanting full published pricing and self-serve sign-up in many countries
Adyen3.92 of 10Large merchants wanting local acquiring and many payment methods from one licensed bank
Mollie3.63 of 10UK and European small businesses wanting simple published rates and daily payouts
Razorpay3.64 of 10Businesses selling to customers in India through UPI, cards and netbanking
Airwallex3.55 of 10Businesses wanting card acceptance with settlement into a multi-currency account
Nuvei3.46 of 10Merchants in gaming, travel and high-volume sectors needing many local methods
Checkout.com2.88 of 10Large online merchants needing local acquiring across many regions
SumUp2.69 of 10Small UK retailers and sole traders taking card payments in person
Worldpay1.610 of 10UK merchants wanting an established acquirer with next-day settlement

Full Payment Processing and Acquiring Index ranking

PayPal Braintree compared.

Side by side on every criterion, fact and award.

Head-to-head comparisons cover pairs within the top five of each ranking. PayPal Braintree is compared with its alternatives in the table above.

All comparisons

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.