How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Provider profile · 2026 edition

Paxos review 2026: scores, reserves and alternatives.

Paxos issues Global Dollar (USDG) from Singapore and the EU, and Pax Dollar (USDP) and PayPal's PYUSD from its US trust company.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 21 and 26 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
3.6 / 5Buckingham Intelligence score
2Awards 2026
2Indices
2 of 11Rank, Stablecoin Issuers Index

Short answer.

Paxos is ranked in 2 Buckingham Intelligence indices. Its highest score is 3.6 out of 5 (73 out of 100) in the Stablecoin Issuers Index, where it ranks 2 of 11. It is strongest for payment firms wanting free redemption and a Big Four attestation, and its best criterion is independent assurance at 4 out of 5. Not published or not stated on the pages read: reserves, regulatory standing, redemption and published fees.

Also ranked in: Stablecoin Settlement Index (3.3 out of 5, rank 5 of 14).

Awards and scores.

Scores from the Stablecoin Issuers Index and Stablecoin Settlement Index 2026.

Stablecoin Issuers Index

3.6 / 573 out of 100 · rank 2 of 11
Leader 2026
SegmentScore out of 100Rank
For payment and e-money firms752 of 11
For exchanges and brokers723 of 11
For corporate treasuries732 of 11

Stablecoin Settlement Index

3.3 / 566 out of 100 · rank 5 of 14
Top rated for licences 2026
SegmentScore out of 100Rank
For receiving from buyers665 of 14
For paying suppliers664 of 14
For treasury and holding675 of 14

The score out of 5 is the overall score out of 100 divided by 20. Leader goes to the top three overall, Best for to the first in each segment, and Top rated for to a score of 5 out of 5 on a criterion. Awards cannot be bought.

Strengths and watch-outs.

Where it scores best, and where to check closely, as shown in each ranking.

Stablecoin Issuers Index

Strongest for

Payment firms wanting free redemption and a Big Four attestation.

  • Independent assurance (4/5). Monthly attestations by KPMG LLP for USDG and USDP; audited financial statements not read.
  • Regulatory standing (4/5). Regulated issuers in the US (OCC), Singapore (MAS), the EU (FIN-FSA under MiCA) and the UAE; licence numbers not on the pages read.
  • Redemption (4/5). Direct redemption with a stated minimum basis; processing time not published.
  • Published fees (4/5). No redemption fee and the dormant account charge published in the terms; purchase fees shown only at order.
Watch out for
  • Reserves (3/5). Monthly reserve composition reports; custodian banks not named on the pages read.
  • Currencies and networks (3/5). Seven named networks for USDG; one currency.

Stablecoin Settlement Index

Strongest for

Fee-free minting of USDG and PYUSD.

  • Licences (5/5). OCC national trust bank charter, EU EMI with reference number and Singapore MPI licences in its own name.
Watch out for
  • Coins and rails (2/5). Two Paxos coins, only US dollar wire and CUBIX described, networks not stated.
  • Access (2/5). Institutions only; no country list.

Published facts.

What Paxos publishes on its own pages, read on 21 and 26 October 2026.

Stablecoin Issuers Index

Paxos issues Global Dollar (USDG) from Singapore and the EU, and Pax Dollar (USDP) and PayPal's PYUSD from its US trust company. It publishes monthly reserve reports and monthly attestations by KPMG, states that it does not charge for redemption, and is authorised in the US, Singapore, the EU and the UAE. Licence numbers and redemption times are not on the pages read.

FactWhat the provider publishes
ReservesUSDG page: "Monthly reserve reports". USDP page: "Paxos self-reports its portfolio composition 5 business days after month's end; these reports have not been subjected to independent review." Stablecoin terms: reserves held as cash at financial institutions licensed in Singapore by MAS or overseas, or short-term US dollar debt instruments.
Independent assuranceUSDG: "Attestation reports posted on or after February 27, 2026 are issued by KPMG LLP" under ISCA standards; earlier reports by Enrome LLP. USDP: KPMG LLP from 28 February 2025 under AICPA standards; earlier reports by WithumSmith+Brown.
Regulatory standingUSDG "is issued by Paxos Digital Singapore, which is a Major Payments Institution supervised by the Monetary Authority of Singapore" and "also issued by Paxos Issuance Europe under the supervision of FIN FSA and in compliance with MiCA". NYDFS trust charter granted 2015, converted in 2025 to an OCC charter as Paxos Trust Company, N.A. "Paxos is authorized to issue stablecoins in the US, UAE, Singapore and EU."
RedemptionStablecoin terms: redemption needs a Paxos account; requests are processed "according to the redemption schedule" after compliance checks; Paxos "may require a minimum amount for redemption ... equal to the minimum wire fee charged by your bank".
Published feesStablecoin terms: "Paxos will not charge you fees for redeeming USD Stablecoins." Purchase shows "the commission or fee (if any)"; a monthly charge of "US $2.00" applies to dormant accounts with a balance and no activity for twelve months.
Currencies and networksUSDG "is issued on Arbitrum, Ethereum, Ink, Mantle, Robinhood Chain, Solana, X Layer". One currency: US dollar (USDG, USDP, PYUSD).
Date read26 October 2026

Not published or not stated by Paxos

  • Reserves. Custodian banks not named on the pages read.
  • Regulatory standing. Licence numbers not on the pages read.
  • Redemption. Processing time not published.
  • Published fees. No redemption fee and the dormant account charge published in the terms.

A fact that is not published is scored as not offered or, for a fee, as if it were high. It is never estimated.

Facts read on 26 October 2026 from: paxos.com/usdg, paxos.com/usdg-transparency, paxos.com/usdp-transparency, paxos.com/stablecoin-terms-conditions, docs.paxos.com/stablecoin/usdg.

Stablecoin Settlement Index

Paxos issues USDG and PayPal USD and lets institutions mint and redeem them against US dollars with no fee. It is a US national trust bank with licensed entities in Singapore and the EU. The rails it describes are US dollar wire and CUBIX.

FactWhat the provider publishes
Legal status'Paxos Trust Company, National Association', national trust bank charter, OCC 'Charter No. 25379'. Paxos Securities Settlement Company, LLC: SEC registered clearing agency, 'SEC Release No. 34-105562'.
LicencesSingapore: Paxos Digital Singapore Pte. Ltd. and Paxos Global Pte. Ltd., MAS 'Major Payment Institution' (no number listed). EU: Paxos Issuance Europe Oy, Finanssivalvonta, 'Authorization reference number 32368862'. Regulatory record page: 'Coverage across all 50 states.'
Stablecoins and networksMint and redeem USDG and PYUSD. Networks not stated on the pages read.
Bank railsUSD wire (domestic via FedWire and international) and CUBIX USD transfers. ACH, SWIFT and SEPA not mentioned.
Fees'Zero fees to mint or redeem Paxos-issued stablecoins USDG and PYUSD.' Wire fees not stated.
SettlementWire deposits credited 'as soon as it is received by our bank'; domestic wire withdrawals 'may take 1-3 business days to settle'; international wire withdrawals '1-5 days'; CUBIX 'processed 24/7'.
AccessFor 'institutions'; eligible countries not stated. Onboarding flow, dashboard and developer documentation linked.
Protection'USDG and PYUSD reserves are held 100% in US dollar deposits, US treasuries and cash equivalents'; reserve reports and attestations published monthly. Custody arrangement for customer balances not described.
Date read21 October 2026

Not published or not stated by Paxos

  • Licences. Ltd., MAS 'Major Payment Institution' (no number listed).
  • Stablecoins and networks. Networks not stated on the pages read.
  • Fees. 'Zero fees to mint or redeem Paxos-issued stablecoins USDG and PYUSD.' Wire fees not stated.
  • Access. Eligible countries not stated.
  • Protection. Custody arrangement for customer balances not described.
  • Published fees. Bank transfer fees not stated.
  • Coins and rails. Two Paxos coins, only US dollar wire and CUBIX described, networks not stated.
  • Protection. Custody and segregation of customer balances not described.

A fact that is not published is scored as not offered or, for a fee, as if it were high. It is never estimated.

Facts read on 21 October 2026 from: paxos.com/terms-and-conditions/licenses, paxos.com/regulatory-record, paxos.com/mint-and-redeem, docs.paxos.com/guides/developer/….

Criterion scores.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

Stablecoin Issuers Index

  • Reserves: 3/5. Monthly reserve composition reports; custodian banks not named on the pages read.
  • Independent assurance: 4/5. Monthly attestations by KPMG LLP for USDG and USDP; audited financial statements not read.
  • Regulatory standing: 4/5. Regulated issuers in the US (OCC), Singapore (MAS), the EU (FIN-FSA under MiCA) and the UAE; licence numbers not on the pages read.
  • Redemption: 4/5. Direct redemption with a stated minimum basis; processing time not published.
  • Published fees: 4/5. No redemption fee and the dormant account charge published in the terms; purchase fees shown only at order.
  • Currencies and networks: 3/5. Seven named networks for USDG; one currency.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Stablecoin Issuers Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

Stablecoin Settlement Index

  • Licences: 5/5. OCC national trust bank charter, EU EMI with reference number and Singapore MPI licences in its own name.
  • Published fees: 4/5. Zero mint and redeem fees published; bank transfer fees not stated.
  • Coins and rails: 2/5. Two Paxos coins, only US dollar wire and CUBIX described, networks not stated.
  • Settlement: 3/5. Deposits credited on receipt; domestic wire withdrawals 1 to 3 business days.
  • Access: 2/5. Institutions only; no country list.
  • Protection: 3/5. Reserve composition and monthly attestations published; custody and segregation of customer balances not described.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Stablecoin Settlement Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

Paxos alternatives.

The other providers in the same ranking, ordered by score.

In the Stablecoin Issuers Index

ProviderScore out of 5RankStrongest for
Circle (USDC and EURC)4.31 of 11Payment firms and exchanges needing the widest licensing and network coverage
Tether (USDT)3.53 of 11Exchanges and large traders needing the most widely held dollar stablecoin
Agora (AUSD)3.34 of 11Fintechs and platforms wanting fee-free minting and a share of reserve income
Gemini (GUSD)3.15 of 11Firms already on Gemini wanting fee-free conversion and named reserve banks
StraitsX (XSGD, XUSD and XIDR)2.86 of 11Payment firms in Southeast Asia needing a Singapore dollar stablecoin
Quantoz (EURQ and USDQ)2.77 of 11European firms wanting free direct redemption without an existing account
Societe Generale-Forge (EURCV and USDCV)2.58 of 11European banks and institutions wanting a bank-group issuer with daily reserve disclosure
AllUnity (EURAU, CHFAU, SEKAU and USDAU)2.49 of 11European corporates wanting a no-code mint account and several currencies
Ripple (RLUSD)2.410 of 11Banks and brokers wanting a New York trust issuer
Monerium (EURe and GBPe)1.911 of 11Fintechs and wallets needing euro tokens linked to a named IBAN

Full Stablecoin Issuers Index ranking

In the Stablecoin Settlement Index

ProviderScore out of 5RankStrongest for
Circle Mint4.01 of 14Minting and redeeming USDC at scale
Bridge3.72 of 14Moving between stablecoins and local bank rails
Brale3.63 of 14US businesses wanting a full public price list
BVNK3.44 of 14Businesses needing US, EU and UK rails together
Stripe3.16 of 14Taking stablecoin payments at checkout
Ramp3.07 of 14US firms paying suppliers in stablecoins at no fee
Bitso Business2.88 of 14Real-time payouts in Mexico and Brazil
Conduit2.59 of 14Emerging market firms needing USD accounts and payouts
Reap2.410 of 14Asian firms paying suppliers from USDC or USDT
MoonPay Enterprise2.011 of 14Platforms paying out stablecoins as local fiat
Revolut Business1.912 of 14Firms already banking with Revolut
Coinbase Business1.913 of 14US and Singapore firms invoicing in USDC
Triple-A1.114 of 14Merchants in Asia and Europe settling to IBAN

Full Stablecoin Settlement Index ranking

Paxos compared.

Side by side on every criterion, fact and award.

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.