How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Home › Buckingham Intelligence › Providers › Circle Mint
Provider profile · 2026 edition

Circle Mint review 2026: scores, fees and alternatives.

Circle issues USDC and EURC. Circle Mint lets institutions convert bank money into USDC or EURC and redeem 1:1 back to a bank account, through a web console or API. It holds the widest set of licences in its own name of any provider assessed, but publishes no fee schedule and does not list USDT.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 21 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
4.0 / 5Buckingham Intelligence score
6Awards 2026
1Index
1 of 14Rank, Stablecoin Settlement Index

Short answer.

Circle Mint scores 4.0 out of 5 (79 out of 100) in the Buckingham Intelligence Stablecoin Settlement Index 2026 and ranks 1 of 14. It is strongest for minting and redeeming USDC at scale, with 5 out of 5 for licences, access and protection. Not published or not stated on the pages read: stablecoins and networks, fees and coins and rails.

Awards and scores.

Scores from the Stablecoin Settlement Index 2026.

Stablecoin Settlement Index

4.0 / 579 out of 100 · rank 1 of 14
Leader 2026Best for receiving from buyers 2026Best for treasury and holding 2026Top rated for licences 2026Top rated for access 2026Top rated for protection 2026
SegmentScore out of 100Rank
For receiving from buyers761 of 14
For paying suppliers742 of 14
For treasury and holding881 of 14

The score out of 5 is the overall score out of 100 divided by 20. Leader goes to the top three overall, Best for to the first in each segment, and Top rated for to a score of 5 out of 5 on a criterion. Awards cannot be bought.

Strengths and watch-outs.

Where it scores best, and where to check closely, as shown in each ranking.

Strongest for

Minting and redeeming USDC at scale.

  • Licences (5/5). Licences in its own name in the US (46 states, New York, OCC trust charter), France (EMI and MiCA), Singapore, UK, Bermuda and ADGM, all with numbers.
  • Access (5/5). 185+ countries with a published list, web console and API.
  • Protection (5/5). Named trust bank custody, segregation, bankruptcy remote structure, an SEC-registered reserve fund reported via BlackRock and monthly Big Four assurance.
Watch out for
  • Published fees (1/5). No fee schedule; only a 1:1 mint and redeem statement and gas covered in most cases.

Published facts.

What Circle Mint publishes on its own pages, read on 21 October 2026.

Circle issues USDC and EURC. Circle Mint lets institutions convert bank money into USDC or EURC and redeem 1:1 back to a bank account, through a web console or API. It holds the widest set of licences in its own name of any provider assessed, but publishes no fee schedule and does not list USDT.

FactWhat the provider publishes
Legal statusUS: 'Circle Internet Financial, LLC (NMLS ID# 1201441)'; New York 'Virtual Currency License, BL000042' and 'New York Money Transmitter License, MT104963'; First National Digital Currency Bank, N.A., operating as Circle National Trust, OCC 'Federal - Charter Number 25361'.
LicencesState licences listed for 46 states (45 money transmitter licences and a Georgia seller of payment instruments licence), Washington DC and Puerto Rico (California DFAL 'Application Pending'). France: Circle Internet Financial Europe SAS, ACPR 'Electronic Money Institution License No. 17788' and AMF 'Crypto-Asset Services Provider - Authorization No. E2026-005'. Singapore: 'Major Payment Institution License No. PS20200630'. UK: 'Financial Conduct Authority E-Money Issuer License, No. 900480'. Bermuda: DAB License No. 54786. ADGM: 'Financial Services Permission Number 250035'.
Stablecoins and networksUSDC, EURC and cirBTC. 'USDC is natively supported across 38 blockchain networks' (multi-chain page, June 2026). USDT not listed.
Bank rails'FedWire and SWIFT'; real-time rails 'RTP, SPEI, SEPA, and CHATS, in supported regions'; book transfers with a Circle settlement partner.
FeesNo fee schedule published. Business page: 'distributors can avoid extra fees'. Developer docs: 'Circle covers gas fees for outbound stablecoin transfers in most cases.'
SettlementMint: domestic wires received before the daily cutoff 'settle on the same business day'; international wires 1 to 3 business days. Redemption: payouts 'typically settle on the next business day.'
Access'Circle stablecoins are available to mint and redeem' in '185+ countries', with a linked list of eligible regions. 'Circle Mint is not available to individuals.' Web console and APIs.
ProtectionUS assets held at Circle National Trust, 'institutional-grade protection and asset segregation', 'structured to be bankruptcy remote'; 'not FDIC-insured'. Reserves: majority in the Circle Reserve Fund (USDXX), 'an SEC-registered 2a-7 government money market fund', with portfolio reporting published via BlackRock; remainder in cash, mostly at large banks; monthly assurance by 'a Big Four accounting firm'; holdings disclosed weekly.
Date read21 October 2026

Not published or not stated by Circle Mint

  • Stablecoins and networks. USDT not listed.
  • Fees. No fee schedule published.
  • Coins and rails. USDC on 38 networks and US, EU and Asian bank rails, but no USDT and no named UK rail.

A fact that is not published is scored as not offered or, for a fee, as if it were high. It is never estimated.

Facts read on 21 October 2026 from: circle.com/en/legal/licenses, circle.com/en/legal/us-licenses, circle.com/businesses, developers.circle.com/circle-mint/concepts/…, circle.com/transparency, circle.com/multi-chain-usdc.

Criterion scores.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

  • Licences: 5/5. Licences in its own name in the US (46 states, New York, OCC trust charter), France (EMI and MiCA), Singapore, UK, Bermuda and ADGM, all with numbers.
  • Published fees: 1/5. No fee schedule; only a 1:1 mint and redeem statement and gas covered in most cases.
  • Coins and rails: 4/5. USDC on 38 networks and US, EU and Asian bank rails, but no USDT and no named UK rail.
  • Settlement: 4/5. Same business day minting for domestic wires; redemptions typically next business day.
  • Access: 5/5. 185+ countries with a published list, web console and API.
  • Protection: 5/5. Named trust bank custody, segregation, bankruptcy remote structure, an SEC-registered reserve fund reported via BlackRock and monthly Big Four assurance.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Stablecoin Settlement Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

Circle Mint alternatives.

The other providers in the same ranking, ordered by score.

ProviderScore out of 5RankStrongest for
Bridge3.72 of 14Moving between stablecoins and local bank rails
Brale3.63 of 14US businesses wanting a full public price list
BVNK3.44 of 14Businesses needing US, EU and UK rails together
Paxos3.35 of 14Fee-free minting of USDG and PYUSD
Stripe3.16 of 14Taking stablecoin payments at checkout
Ramp3.07 of 14US firms paying suppliers in stablecoins at no fee
Bitso Business2.88 of 14Real-time payouts in Mexico and Brazil
Conduit2.59 of 14Emerging market firms needing USD accounts and payouts
Reap2.410 of 14Asian firms paying suppliers from USDC or USDT
MoonPay Enterprise2.011 of 14Platforms paying out stablecoins as local fiat
Revolut Business1.912 of 14Firms already banking with Revolut
Coinbase Business1.913 of 14US and Singapore firms invoicing in USDC
Triple-A1.114 of 14Merchants in Asia and Europe settling to IBAN

Full Stablecoin Settlement Index ranking

Circle Mint compared.

Side by side on every criterion, fact and award.

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.