How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Home › Buckingham Intelligence › Comparisons › Airwallex vs Stripe
Comparison · 2026 edition

Airwallex vs Stripe: payment processing compared 2026.

Airwallex and Stripe side by side in the Payment Processing and Acquiring Index 2026: scores, evidence, published facts and awards.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 26 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
3.5 / 5Airwallex
4.2 / 5Stripe
StripeHigher overall
6Criteria compared

Short answer.

In the Payment Processing and Acquiring Index, Stripe scores higher overall: 4.2 out of 5 (84 out of 100) against 3.5 (71), ranking 1 and 5 of 10. Stripe also scores higher in every segment.

Scores side by side.

Overall and segment scores out of 100, and the score out of 5.

ScoreAirwallexStripe
Score out of 53.54.2
Score out of 1007184
Overall rank5 of 101 of 10
For small and mid-sized merchants (out of 100)66, rank 682, rank 2
For enterprise and cross-border merchants (out of 100)74, rank 485, rank 1
For platforms and regulated firms (out of 100)74, rank 484, rank 1
TypePayments and business account platformOnline payments platform and acquirer

Criterion by criterion.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

CriterionAirwallexStripe
Published pricing5/5
Exact rates for UK, EEA, international, Amex and UnionPay cards and local methods published.
5/5
Exact rates for domestic, premium, EEA and international cards plus conversion and dispute fees published.
Payment methods4/5
160+ local payment methods and settlement in 20+ currencies published.
4/5
125+ payment methods published; no currency count on the pages read.
Merchant reach4/5
Regional sites in 18 markets including Europe, with acquiring licences named.
5/5
51 countries and regions published.
Payout speed0/5
Not published for card sales on the pages read.
3/5
Daily payout schedule published, with T+3 settlement in some countries and a 7 to 14 day first payout.
Integration4/5
APIs, SDKs, plugins, payment links and a self-serve trial; no test environment confirmed on the pages read.
4/5
API, SDKs, no-code links and self-serve sign-up; no test environment confirmed on the pages read.
Regulatory standing4/5
Licences with numbers in more than five regions; PCI DSS stated without its level.
4/5
UK licence number, US state licence list and PCI DSS Level 1 published; other regions' numbers not on the pages read.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Payment Processing and Acquiring Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

Published facts.

What each provider publishes on its own pages, read on 26 October 2026.

FactAirwallexStripe
Pricing"1.30% + £0.20 for UK cards", "2.40% + £0.20 for EEA cards", international cards "3.15% + £0.20", Amex 2.40% + £0.20, UnionPay 3.15% + £0.20; local payment methods "£0.20 plus payment method fees"; subscription management 0.50% per successful transaction.UK standard: "1.5% + 20p for standard UK cards", "2.8% + 20p for premium UK cards", "2.5% + 20p for European Economic Area cards", "3.15% + 20p for international cards", "+ 2% if currency conversion is required". Bank debits 1%, minimum 20p, £4.00 cap. Dispute received fee £20.00. "No setup fees, monthly fees, or hidden fees."
Payment methodsVisa, Mastercard, American Express, Apple Pay and Google Pay; "WeChat Pay, GrabPay and 160+ other methods"; "Like-for-like settlement in 20+ currencies"."Increase customer acquisition with 100+ payment methods"; product menu: "Access to 125+" payment methods. No currency count on the pages read.
Merchant reachRegional sites for 18 markets including Europe, the UK, the US, Australia, Singapore, Hong Kong, Japan and Malaysia; registered as a merchant acquirer in Malaysia and authorised for acquiring in Brazil (licence page).Global page lists 51 countries and regions where Stripe is supported, including India and Indonesia in preview and five countries on an extended network.
Payout speedNot published for card sales on the pages read.Docs: first payout "typically" within 7 to 14 days; with T+3 standard settlement (three business days after payment), a daily automatic schedule pays funds "captured 3 business days earlier"; schedule chosen in the Dashboard.
Integration"Custom website checkout via components, APIs, and SDKs", eCommerce plugin integrations, no-code payment links, free one-month trial.API reference, libraries and SDKs, prebuilt checkout and Payment Links; "Create an account and start accepting payments", "no contracts or banking details required".
Regulatory standingFCA EMI licence number 900876; Bank of Lithuania EMI licence no. 88; MAS Major Payment Institution PS20200541; ASIC AFSL 487221; HKMA SVF0009; US money transmitter licences. "Airwallex meets the highest international security standards including PCI DSS, SOC1, and SOC2" (level not stated)."Stripe Payments UK, Limited, an electronic money institution authorised by the Financial Conduct Authority (firm reference number: 900461)". US money transmitter licences listed by state and regulator. "certified us to PCI Service Provider Level 1".
Date read26 October 202626 October 2026

Not published or not stated by Airwallex: payout speed and regulatory standing.

Not published or not stated by Stripe: regulatory standing.

Facts read on 26 October 2026 from: airwallex.com/uk/pricing, airwallex.com/uk/business-account, help.airwallex.com/hc/en-gb/articles/…; and stripe.com/gb/pricing, stripe.com/global, docs.stripe.com/payouts, docs.stripe.com/security, stripe.com/gb/spc/licenses.

Awards 2026.

Awards follow from the published scores and cannot be bought.

Airwallex
Top rated for published pricing 2026
Stripe
Leader 2026Best for enterprise and cross-border merchants 2026Best for platforms and regulated firms 2026Top rated for published pricing 2026Top rated for merchant reach 2026

Who each suits.

From each provider's strongest criteria and published terms.

Airwallex suits

Businesses wanting card acceptance with settlement into a multi-currency account.

  • Published pricing (5/5). Exact rates for UK, EEA, international, Amex and UnionPay cards and local methods published.

Airwallex full profile

Stripe suits

Online businesses wanting full published pricing and self-serve sign-up in many countries.

  • Published pricing (5/5). Exact rates for domestic, premium, EEA and international cards plus conversion and dispute fees published.
  • Merchant reach (5/5). 51 countries and regions published.

Stripe full profile

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.