How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Provider profile · 2026 edition

Worldpay review 2026: scores, fees and alternatives.

One of the largest merchant acquirers in the UK, serving shops and online merchants.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 26 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
1.6 / 5Buckingham Intelligence score
0Awards 2026
1Index
10 of 10Rank, Payment Processing and Acquiring Index

Short answer.

Worldpay scores 1.6 out of 5 (33 out of 100) in the Buckingham Intelligence Payment Processing and Acquiring Index 2026 and ranks 10 of 10. It is strongest for UK merchants wanting an established acquirer with next-day settlement, and its best criterion is payout speed at 4 out of 5. Not published or not stated on the pages read: merchant reach, published pricing and integration.

Awards and scores.

Scores from the Payment Processing and Acquiring Index 2026.

Payment Processing and Acquiring Index

1.6 / 533 out of 100 · rank 10 of 10

No award in the Payment Processing and Acquiring Index 2026.

SegmentScore out of 100Rank
For small and mid-sized merchants488 of 10
For enterprise and cross-border merchants2510 of 10
For platforms and regulated firms2510 of 10

The score out of 5 is the overall score out of 100 divided by 20. Leader goes to the top three overall, Best for to the first in each segment, and Top rated for to a score of 5 out of 5 on a criterion. Awards cannot be bought.

Strengths and watch-outs.

Where it scores best, and where to check closely, as shown in each ranking.

Strongest for

UK merchants wanting an established acquirer with next-day settlement.

  • Payout speed (4/5). 24-hour settlement stated in the indicative quote.
Watch out for
  • Payment methods (1/5). Three card brands named; no counts.
  • Merchant reach (0/5). Not published on the pages read.
  • Integration (2/5). APIs referred to; no other options published on the pages read.
  • Regulatory standing (0/5). Not published on the pages read.

Published facts.

What Worldpay publishes on its own pages, read on 26 October 2026.

One of the largest merchant acquirers in the UK, serving shops and online merchants. It publishes fixed charges and a stated 24-hour settlement time in its indicative quote, but card percentages appear only after a business enters its details. The pages read do not publish its licences, PCI DSS level, payment method count or reach.

FactWhat the provider publishes
PricingIndicative quote tool: authorisation fee 4.5p; chargeback fee £20.00; point-of-sale terminal £20.00 per terminal per month; PCI DSS service fee £5.00; minimum monthly service charge £15.00. Card percentages shown only after entering turnover and industry; "Pricing shown above is indicative only".
Payment methodsPayment brands in the quote: Visa, Mastercard and American Express. No method or currency count on the pages read.
Merchant reachNot published on the pages read.
Payout speedQuote summary: "Settlement time 24 hours".
IntegrationHomepage refers to building on "Worldpay APIs". No SDK, test environment or self-serve sign-up on the pages read.
Regulatory standingNot published on the pages read.
Date read26 October 2026

Not published or not stated by Worldpay

  • Merchant reach. Not published on the pages read.
  • Published pricing. Card percentages not published.
  • Integration. No other options published on the pages read.

A fact that is not published is scored as not offered or, for a fee, as if it were high. It is never estimated.

Facts read on 26 October 2026 from: worldpay.com/en-gb, worldpay.com/en-gb/pricing.

Criterion scores.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

  • Published pricing: 3/5. Fixed fees published in an indicative quote tool; card percentages not published.
  • Payment methods: 1/5. Three card brands named; no counts.
  • Merchant reach: 0/5. Not published on the pages read.
  • Payout speed: 4/5. 24-hour settlement stated in the indicative quote.
  • Integration: 2/5. APIs referred to; no other options published on the pages read.
  • Regulatory standing: 0/5. Not published on the pages read.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Payment Processing and Acquiring Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

Worldpay alternatives.

The other providers in the same ranking, ordered by score.

ProviderScore out of 5RankStrongest for
Stripe4.21 of 10Online businesses wanting full published pricing and self-serve sign-up in many countries
Adyen3.92 of 10Large merchants wanting local acquiring and many payment methods from one licensed bank
Mollie3.63 of 10UK and European small businesses wanting simple published rates and daily payouts
Razorpay3.64 of 10Businesses selling to customers in India through UPI, cards and netbanking
Airwallex3.55 of 10Businesses wanting card acceptance with settlement into a multi-currency account
Nuvei3.46 of 10Merchants in gaming, travel and high-volume sectors needing many local methods
PayPal Braintree3.07 of 10Online merchants wanting card and PayPal acceptance with published UK rates
Checkout.com2.88 of 10Large online merchants needing local acquiring across many regions
SumUp2.69 of 10Small UK retailers and sole traders taking card payments in person

Full Payment Processing and Acquiring Index ranking

Worldpay compared.

Side by side on every criterion, fact and award.

Head-to-head comparisons cover pairs within the top five of each ranking. Worldpay is compared with its alternatives in the table above.

All comparisons

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.