WhatsApp and Telegram +44 7563 115980
[email protected]

Razorpay and Stripe side by side in the Payment Processing and Acquiring Index 2026: scores, evidence, published facts and awards.
In the Payment Processing and Acquiring Index, Stripe scores higher overall: 4.2 out of 5 (84 out of 100) against 3.6 (73), ranking 1 and 4 of 10. Razorpay scores higher for small and mid-sized merchants; Stripe scores higher for enterprise and cross-border merchants and platforms and regulated firms.
Overall and segment scores out of 100, and the score out of 5.
| Score | Razorpay | Stripe |
|---|---|---|
| Score out of 5 | 3.6 | 4.2 |
| Score out of 100 | 73 | 84 |
| Overall rank | 4 of 10 | 1 of 10 |
| For small and mid-sized merchants (out of 100) | 84, rank 1 | 82, rank 2 |
| For enterprise and cross-border merchants (out of 100) | 69, rank 6 | 85, rank 1 |
| For platforms and regulated firms (out of 100) | 67, rank 6 | 84, rank 1 |
| Type | Payment gateway and aggregator (India) | Online payments platform and acquirer |
Each score with the evidence behind it.
| Criterion | Razorpay | Stripe |
|---|---|---|
| Published pricing | 4/5 Standard rate and platform fee published; no separate international card rate on the pages read. | 5/5 Exact rates for domestic, premium, EEA and international cards plus conversion and dispute fees published. |
| Payment methods | 5/5 100+ payment methods and 100+ currencies published. | 4/5 125+ payment methods published; no currency count on the pages read. |
| Merchant reach | 1/5 India only; scored on access for that country. | 5/5 51 countries and regions published. |
| Payout speed | 5/5 T+1 or instant settlement published, with instant as a priced option. | 3/5 Daily payout schedule published, with T+3 settlement in some countries and a 7 to 14 day first payout. |
| Integration | 5/5 APIs with a test playground, plugins, no-code tools and self-serve sign-up. | 4/5 API, SDKs, no-code links and self-serve sign-up; no test environment confirmed on the pages read. |
| Regulatory standing | 2/5 RBI authorisation stated without a number; PCI DSS not stated on the pages read. | 4/5 UK licence number, US state licence list and PCI DSS Level 1 published; other regions' numbers not on the pages read. |
Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Payment Processing and Acquiring Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored
What each provider publishes on its own pages, read on 26 October 2026.
| Fact | Razorpay | Stripe |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing | Standard plan "2%" per transaction plus GST; "Platform fee 2.15% + GST" for some methods; first 90 days at "0% fee (down from 2%)" (promotional); "Maintenance: ₹0"; "Integration Support: ₹0". | UK standard: "1.5% + 20p for standard UK cards", "2.8% + 20p for premium UK cards", "2.5% + 20p for European Economic Area cards", "3.15% + 20p for international cards", "+ 2% if currency conversion is required". Bank debits 1%, minimum 20p, £4.00 cap. Dispute received fee £20.00. "No setup fees, monthly fees, or hidden fees." |
| Payment methods | "100+ Payment Methods"; "accept payments in over 100 currencies"; cards, netbanking, UPI and wallets. | "Increase customer acquisition with 100+ payment methods"; product menu: "Access to 125+" payment methods. No currency count on the pages read. |
| Merchant reach | "A comprehensive payments suite in India"; accepts cards, bank transfers and Apple Pay "from 180+ countries". Serves India only. | Global page lists 51 countries and regions where Stripe is supported, including India and Indonesia in preview and five countries on an extended network. |
| Payout speed | Funds settled to the bank account "according to your settlement cycle (typically T+1 or Instant)"; Instant Settlements priced as an optional extra. | Docs: first payout "typically" within 7 to 14 days; with T+3 standard settlement (three business days after payment), a daily automatic schedule pays funds "captured 3 business days earlier"; schedule chosen in the Dashboard. |
| Integration | APIs with a playground, website and app plugins, no-code Payment Links and Payment Pages, online sign-up. | API reference, libraries and SDKs, prebuilt checkout and Payment Links; "Create an account and start accepting payments", "no contracts or banking details required". |
| Regulatory standing | "Razorpay Payments Private Limited is an RBI Authorised Payment Aggregator." No reference number or PCI DSS level on the pages read. | "Stripe Payments UK, Limited, an electronic money institution authorised by the Financial Conduct Authority (firm reference number: 900461)". US money transmitter licences listed by state and regulator. "certified us to PCI Service Provider Level 1". |
| Date read | 26 October 2026 | 26 October 2026 |
Not published or not stated by Razorpay: regulatory standing.
Not published or not stated by Stripe: regulatory standing.
Facts read on 26 October 2026 from: razorpay.com, razorpay.com/pricing; and stripe.com/gb/pricing, stripe.com/global, docs.stripe.com/payouts, docs.stripe.com/security, stripe.com/gb/spc/licenses.
Awards follow from the published scores and cannot be bought.
From each provider's strongest criteria and published terms.
Businesses selling to customers in India through UPI, cards and netbanking.
Online businesses wanting full published pricing and self-serve sign-up in many countries.
Tell us what you need and where you operate.