How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Home › Buckingham Intelligence › Comparisons › Mollie vs Stripe
Comparison · 2026 edition

Mollie vs Stripe: payment processing compared 2026.

Mollie and Stripe side by side in the Payment Processing and Acquiring Index 2026: scores, evidence, published facts and awards.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 26 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
3.6 / 5Mollie
4.2 / 5Stripe
StripeHigher overall
6Criteria compared

Short answer.

In the Payment Processing and Acquiring Index, Stripe scores higher overall: 4.2 out of 5 (84 out of 100) against 3.6 (73), ranking 1 and 3 of 10. Stripe also scores higher in every segment.

Scores side by side.

Overall and segment scores out of 100, and the score out of 5.

ScoreMollieStripe
Score out of 53.64.2
Score out of 1007384
Overall rank3 of 101 of 10
For small and mid-sized merchants (out of 100)81, rank 382, rank 2
For enterprise and cross-border merchants (out of 100)69, rank 585, rank 1
For platforms and regulated firms (out of 100)70, rank 584, rank 1
TypeOnline and in-person payment providerOnline payments platform and acquirer

Criterion by criterion.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

CriterionMollieStripe
Published pricing5/5
Exact rates by card type and origin, direct debit and payout fees published.
5/5
Exact rates for domestic, premium, EEA and international cards plus conversion and dispute fees published.
Payment methods3/5
35+ payment methods and 30+ currencies published.
4/5
125+ payment methods published; no currency count on the pages read.
Merchant reach3/5
Europe and the UK named; no country count.
5/5
51 countries and regions published.
Payout speed4/5
Daily payouts at no extra fee and a choice of schedule; arrival time not stated.
3/5
Daily payout schedule published, with T+3 settlement in some countries and a 7 to 14 day first payout.
Integration4/5
API, plugins and self-serve sign-up; no test environment confirmed on the pages read.
4/5
API, SDKs, no-code links and self-serve sign-up; no test environment confirmed on the pages read.
Regulatory standing3/5
Two licences with numbers; PCI DSS not stated on the pages read.
4/5
UK licence number, US state licence list and PCI DSS Level 1 published; other regions' numbers not on the pages read.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Payment Processing and Acquiring Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

Published facts.

What each provider publishes on its own pages, read on 26 October 2026.

FactMollieStripe
PricingVisa and Mastercard: UK domestic consumer cards "1.20% + £0.20"; UK commercial and European cards "2.90% + £0.20"; all other cards "3.25% + £0.20". American Express UK 2.50% + £0.20, other 2.60% + £0.20. Bacs Direct Debit 0.90% + £0.20. Additional payouts £0.25; payouts in another currency 1% of payout amount.UK standard: "1.5% + 20p for standard UK cards", "2.8% + 20p for premium UK cards", "2.5% + 20p for European Economic Area cards", "3.15% + 20p for international cards", "+ 2% if currency conversion is required". Bank debits 1%, minimum 20p, £4.00 cap. Dispute received fee £20.00. "No setup fees, monthly fees, or hidden fees."
Payment methods"35+ payment methods, 30+ currencies, online and in-person"; payouts in the primary currency plus "up to 11 additional currencies"."Increase customer acquisition with 100+ payment methods"; product menu: "Access to 125+" payment methods. No currency count on the pages read.
Merchant reachServes businesses "across Europe and the UK"; DNB e-money licence and UK payment institution licence. No country count published.Global page lists 51 countries and regions where Stripe is supported, including India and Indonesia in preview and five countries on an extended network.
Payout speed"With Mollie, you decide when we send your payout. We don't charge extra fees for daily payouts"; schedule options include every business day.Docs: first payout "typically" within 7 to 14 days; with T+3 standard settlement (three business days after payment), a daily automatic schedule pays funds "captured 3 business days earlier"; schedule chosen in the Dashboard.
IntegrationAPI documentation and guides, shop plugins, an MCP server for AI agents, online sign-up.API reference, libraries and SDKs, prebuilt checkout and Payment Links; "Create an account and start accepting payments", "no contracts or banking details required".
Regulatory standing"Mollie UK Ltd is licensed and registered with the Financial Conduct Authority as a payment institution in the UK (FRN: 977968) and Mollie B.V. is licensed and registered as an electronic money institution with the Dutch Central Bank (relationship number: F0038).""Stripe Payments UK, Limited, an electronic money institution authorised by the Financial Conduct Authority (firm reference number: 900461)". US money transmitter licences listed by state and regulator. "certified us to PCI Service Provider Level 1".
Date read26 October 202626 October 2026

Not published or not stated by Mollie: merchant reach, payout speed and regulatory standing.

Not published or not stated by Stripe: regulatory standing.

Facts read on 26 October 2026 from: mollie.com/gb, mollie.com/gb/pricing, mollie.com/gb/payments; and stripe.com/gb/pricing, stripe.com/global, docs.stripe.com/payouts, docs.stripe.com/security, stripe.com/gb/spc/licenses.

Awards 2026.

Awards follow from the published scores and cannot be bought.

Mollie
Leader 2026Top rated for published pricing 2026
Stripe
Leader 2026Best for enterprise and cross-border merchants 2026Best for platforms and regulated firms 2026Top rated for published pricing 2026Top rated for merchant reach 2026

Who each suits.

From each provider's strongest criteria and published terms.

Mollie suits

UK and European small businesses wanting simple published rates and daily payouts.

  • Published pricing (5/5). Exact rates by card type and origin, direct debit and payout fees published.

Mollie full profile

Stripe suits

Online businesses wanting full published pricing and self-serve sign-up in many countries.

  • Published pricing (5/5). Exact rates for domestic, premium, EEA and international cards plus conversion and dispute fees published.
  • Merchant reach (5/5). 51 countries and regions published.

Stripe full profile

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.