How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Home › Buckingham Intelligence › Providers › Checkout.com
Provider profile · 2026 edition

Checkout.com review 2026: scores, fees and alternatives.

A global acquirer and processor for large online merchants, with local acquiring in over 50 countries.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 26 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
2.8 / 5Buckingham Intelligence score
1Awards 2026
1Index
8 of 10Rank, Payment Processing and Acquiring Index

Short answer.

Checkout.com scores 2.8 out of 5 (55 out of 100) in the Buckingham Intelligence Payment Processing and Acquiring Index 2026 and ranks 8 of 10. It is strongest for large online merchants needing local acquiring across many regions, with 5 out of 5 for merchant reach. Not published or not stated on the pages read: pricing, payout speed and regulatory standing.

Awards and scores.

Scores from the Payment Processing and Acquiring Index 2026.

Payment Processing and Acquiring Index

2.8 / 555 out of 100 · rank 8 of 10
Top rated for merchant reach 2026
SegmentScore out of 100Rank
For small and mid-sized merchants3510 of 10
For enterprise and cross-border merchants647 of 10
For platforms and regulated firms657 of 10

The score out of 5 is the overall score out of 100 divided by 20. Leader goes to the top three overall, Best for to the first in each segment, and Top rated for to a score of 5 out of 5 on a criterion. Awards cannot be bought.

Strengths and watch-outs.

Where it scores best, and where to check closely, as shown in each ranking.

Strongest for

Large online merchants needing local acquiring across many regions.

  • Merchant reach (5/5). Local acquiring in over 50 countries published.
Watch out for
  • Published pricing (0/5). Pricing structures described; no rates published.
  • Payout speed (0/5). Not published on the pages read.

Published facts.

What Checkout.com publishes on its own pages, read on 26 October 2026.

A global acquirer and processor for large online merchants, with local acquiring in over 50 countries. It publishes a full licence list with numbers in nine regions, a unified API with a test account and wide currency support. It does not publish prices, payout times or a payment method count.

FactWhat the provider publishes
Pricing"Your business deserves tailored pricing based on your needs"; structures described as "Fully flat-rate" or "Simple interchange++ fees". No rates published.
Payment methods"Process worldwide in 150+ currencies"; supports "all the major card schemes" plus direct debit, vouchers, digital wallets and bank transfers. No method count.
Merchant reach"local acquiring capabilities in over 50 countries across Europe, North America, the Middle East and Asia-Pacific"; pricing page: "domestic coverage in 45+ countries".
Payout speedNot published on the pages read.
Integration"Unified Payments API", API reference, test account, integrations with "all major shopping carts". No self-serve sign-up; "Get in touch" to start.
Regulatory standingCheckout Ltd, FCA EMI number 900816; Checkout SAS, ACPR EMI number 17208, passported across the EEA; MAS PS20200469; AUSTRAC IND100621360-001; HK MSO 20-06-02975; NZ FSP1000838; METI Kanto (ku) No. 162; CBUAE 08.01.02.008.2023.02; Checkout US, Inc. NMLS 1791692.
Date read26 October 2026

Not published or not stated by Checkout.com

  • Pricing. No rates published.
  • Payout speed. Not published on the pages read.
  • Regulatory standing. PCI DSS not stated on the pages read.

A fact that is not published is scored as not offered or, for a fee, as if it were high. It is never estimated.

Facts read on 26 October 2026 from: checkout.com, checkout.com/pricing, checkout.com/legal/certificates.

Criterion scores.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

  • Published pricing: 0/5. Pricing structures described; no rates published.
  • Payment methods: 3/5. 150+ currencies published; no payment method count.
  • Merchant reach: 5/5. Local acquiring in over 50 countries published.
  • Payout speed: 0/5. Not published on the pages read.
  • Integration: 4/5. API, test account and shopping cart integrations; no self-serve sign-up.
  • Regulatory standing: 4/5. Licences with numbers in nine regions; PCI DSS not stated on the pages read.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Payment Processing and Acquiring Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

Checkout.com alternatives.

The other providers in the same ranking, ordered by score.

ProviderScore out of 5RankStrongest for
Stripe4.21 of 10Online businesses wanting full published pricing and self-serve sign-up in many countries
Adyen3.92 of 10Large merchants wanting local acquiring and many payment methods from one licensed bank
Mollie3.63 of 10UK and European small businesses wanting simple published rates and daily payouts
Razorpay3.64 of 10Businesses selling to customers in India through UPI, cards and netbanking
Airwallex3.55 of 10Businesses wanting card acceptance with settlement into a multi-currency account
Nuvei3.46 of 10Merchants in gaming, travel and high-volume sectors needing many local methods
PayPal Braintree3.07 of 10Online merchants wanting card and PayPal acceptance with published UK rates
SumUp2.69 of 10Small UK retailers and sole traders taking card payments in person
Worldpay1.610 of 10UK merchants wanting an established acquirer with next-day settlement

Full Payment Processing and Acquiring Index ranking

Checkout.com compared.

Side by side on every criterion, fact and award.

Head-to-head comparisons cover pairs within the top five of each ranking. Checkout.com is compared with its alternatives in the table above.

All comparisons

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.