WhatsApp and Telegram +44 7563 115980
[email protected]

Adyen and Stripe side by side in the Payment Processing and Acquiring Index 2026: scores, evidence, published facts and awards.
In the Payment Processing and Acquiring Index, Stripe scores higher overall: 4.2 out of 5 (84 out of 100) against 3.9 (77), ranking 1 and 2 of 10. Stripe also scores higher in every segment.
Overall and segment scores out of 100, and the score out of 5.
| Score | Adyen | Stripe |
|---|---|---|
| Score out of 5 | 3.9 | 4.2 |
| Score out of 100 | 77 | 84 |
| Overall rank | 2 of 10 | 1 of 10 |
| For small and mid-sized merchants (out of 100) | 69, rank 5 | 82, rank 2 |
| For enterprise and cross-border merchants (out of 100) | 83, rank 2 | 85, rank 1 |
| For platforms and regulated firms (out of 100) | 79, rank 2 | 84, rank 1 |
| Type | Global acquirer and bank | Online payments platform and acquirer |
Each score with the evidence behind it.
| Criterion | Adyen | Stripe |
|---|---|---|
| Published pricing | 4/5 Processing fee and card margin over interchange plus plus published; card cost depends on interchange. | 5/5 Exact rates for domestic, premium, EEA and international cards plus conversion and dispute fees published. |
| Payment methods | 5/5 150+ currencies and 200+ local payment methods published. | 4/5 125+ payment methods published; no currency count on the pages read. |
| Merchant reach | 5/5 Licences in ten regions plus EEA passporting published. | 5/5 51 countries and regions published. |
| Payout speed | 2/5 Choice of payout timing and currency stated without times. | 3/5 Daily payout schedule published, with T+3 settlement in some countries and a 7 to 14 day first payout. |
| Integration | 3/5 Single API published; no self-serve sign-up or test environment on the pages read. | 4/5 API, SDKs, no-code links and self-serve sign-up; no test environment confirmed on the pages read. |
| Regulatory standing | 4/5 Banking licences in the EEA, UK and US and payment licences elsewhere; few licence numbers and PCI DSS not stated on the pages read. | 4/5 UK licence number, US state licence list and PCI DSS Level 1 published; other regions' numbers not on the pages read. |
Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Payment Processing and Acquiring Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored
What each provider publishes on its own pages, read on 26 October 2026.
| Fact | Adyen | Stripe |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing | "For each transaction, we charge a fixed processing fee + a fee determined by the payment method." Processing fee $0.13; cards "Interchange+ + 0.60%". "No setup fee"; "no setup or monthly fees". | UK standard: "1.5% + 20p for standard UK cards", "2.8% + 20p for premium UK cards", "2.5% + 20p for European Economic Area cards", "3.15% + 20p for international cards", "+ 2% if currency conversion is required". Bank debits 1%, minimum 20p, £4.00 cap. Dispute received fee £20.00. "No setup fees, monthly fees, or hidden fees." |
| Payment methods | Homepage: "150+" currencies and "200+" local payment methods. | "Increase customer acquisition with 100+ payment methods"; product menu: "Access to 125+" payment methods. No currency count on the pages read. |
| Merchant reach | Licence pages for Australia, Canada, EMEA, India, the United States, Malaysia, Singapore, New Zealand, Hong Kong and Japan; banking licence passported to "all EEA countries". | Global page lists 51 countries and regions where Stripe is supported, including India and Indonesia in preview and five countries on an extended network. |
| Payout speed | "Flexible payouts: Choose when and in which currency you want to settle." No payout times published. | Docs: first payout "typically" within 7 to 14 days; with T+3 standard settlement (three business days after payment), a daily automatic schedule pays funds "captured 3 business days earlier"; schedule chosen in the Dashboard. |
| Integration | "One API that supports multiple use cases and channels"; sales contact to start. No self-serve sign-up or test environment on the pages read. | API reference, libraries and SDKs, prebuilt checkout and Payment Links; "Create an account and start accepting payments", "no contracts or banking details required". |
| Regulatory standing | "Adyen N.V. is authorised as a credit Institution under the supervision of Dutch Central Bank"; UK branch with Part 4A permission supervised by the PRA and FCA; US federal branch "licensed by the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency and the Federal Reserve Board"; MAS Major Payments Institution; CBUAE licence number 08.01.02.035. | "Stripe Payments UK, Limited, an electronic money institution authorised by the Financial Conduct Authority (firm reference number: 900461)". US money transmitter licences listed by state and regulator. "certified us to PCI Service Provider Level 1". |
| Date read | 26 October 2026 | 26 October 2026 |
Not published or not stated by Adyen: payout speed and regulatory standing.
Not published or not stated by Stripe: regulatory standing.
Facts read on 26 October 2026 from: adyen.com, adyen.com/pricing, adyen.com/licenses, adyen.com/licenses/emea, adyen.com/licenses/united-states, adyen.com/licenses/singapore; and stripe.com/gb/pricing, stripe.com/global, docs.stripe.com/payouts, docs.stripe.com/security, stripe.com/gb/spc/licenses.
Awards follow from the published scores and cannot be bought.
From each provider's strongest criteria and published terms.
Large merchants wanting local acquiring and many payment methods from one licensed bank.
Online businesses wanting full published pricing and self-serve sign-up in many countries.
Tell us what you need and where you operate.