How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Provider profile · 2026 edition

SumUp review 2026: scores, fees and alternatives.

A payment provider for small businesses taking card payments in person and online.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 26 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
2.6 / 5Buckingham Intelligence score
2Awards 2026
1Index
9 of 10Rank, Payment Processing and Acquiring Index

Short answer.

SumUp scores 2.6 out of 5 (52 out of 100) in the Buckingham Intelligence Payment Processing and Acquiring Index 2026 and ranks 9 of 10. It is strongest for small UK retailers and sole traders taking card payments in person, with 5 out of 5 for published pricing and payout speed. Not published or not stated on the pages read: integration and regulatory standing.

Awards and scores.

Scores from the Payment Processing and Acquiring Index 2026.

Payment Processing and Acquiring Index

2.6 / 552 out of 100 · rank 9 of 10
Top rated for published pricing 2026Top rated for payout speed 2026
SegmentScore out of 100Rank
For small and mid-sized merchants704 of 10
For enterprise and cross-border merchants429 of 10
For platforms and regulated firms459 of 10

The score out of 5 is the overall score out of 100 divided by 20. Leader goes to the top three overall, Best for to the first in each segment, and Top rated for to a score of 5 out of 5 on a criterion. Awards cannot be bought.

Strengths and watch-outs.

Where it scores best, and where to check closely, as shown in each ranking.

Strongest for

Small UK retailers and sole traders taking card payments in person.

  • Published pricing (5/5). Exact in-person, online and plan rates published.
  • Payout speed (5/5). Next-morning payout every day published.
Watch out for
  • Payment methods (1/5). Card, phone and link payments named; no counts.
  • Merchant reach (1/5). UK only on the pages read; scored on access for that country.
  • Integration (2/5). No-code links and app; no API published on the pages read.
  • Regulatory standing (2/5). One licence number published; PCI DSS not stated on the pages read.

Published facts.

What SumUp publishes on its own pages, read on 26 October 2026.

A payment provider for small businesses taking card payments in person and online. It publishes simple flat rates, a monthly plan and the fastest stated payout in this edition. It does not publish a payment method count, its other markets, API terms or PCI DSS on the pages read.

FactWhat the provider publishes
PricingPay-as-you-go: "0.00% for in-person payments made with a SumUp card", 1.69% for all other in-person payments, including American Express, "2.5% for online payments", £0/month. Payments Plus: 0.99% transaction fee at £19/month or £189/year.
Payment methodsCard readers, Tap to Pay on a phone and Payment Links. No payment method or currency count on the pages read.
Merchant reachUK pages read; other markets not counted on the pages read.
Payout speedMoney is available in the free SumUp Business Account "by 7am the next day", including weekends and public holidays.
IntegrationApp with point-of-sale features, Payment Links and invoicing, online purchase of card readers. No API documentation on the pages read.
Regulatory standing"SumUp Payments Limited is authorised by the Financial Conduct Authority in the UK under the Electronic Money Regulations 2011 (register number 900700)".
Date read26 October 2026

Not published or not stated by SumUp

  • Integration. No API published on the pages read.
  • Regulatory standing. PCI DSS not stated on the pages read.

A fact that is not published is scored as not offered or, for a fee, as if it were high. It is never estimated.

Facts read on 26 October 2026 from: sumup.com/en-gb, sumup.com/en-gb/pricing.

Criterion scores.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

  • Published pricing: 5/5. Exact in-person, online and plan rates published.
  • Payment methods: 1/5. Card, phone and link payments named; no counts.
  • Merchant reach: 1/5. UK only on the pages read; scored on access for that country.
  • Payout speed: 5/5. Next-morning payout every day published.
  • Integration: 2/5. No-code links and app; no API published on the pages read.
  • Regulatory standing: 2/5. One licence number published; PCI DSS not stated on the pages read.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Payment Processing and Acquiring Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

SumUp alternatives.

The other providers in the same ranking, ordered by score.

ProviderScore out of 5RankStrongest for
Stripe4.21 of 10Online businesses wanting full published pricing and self-serve sign-up in many countries
Adyen3.92 of 10Large merchants wanting local acquiring and many payment methods from one licensed bank
Mollie3.63 of 10UK and European small businesses wanting simple published rates and daily payouts
Razorpay3.64 of 10Businesses selling to customers in India through UPI, cards and netbanking
Airwallex3.55 of 10Businesses wanting card acceptance with settlement into a multi-currency account
Nuvei3.46 of 10Merchants in gaming, travel and high-volume sectors needing many local methods
PayPal Braintree3.07 of 10Online merchants wanting card and PayPal acceptance with published UK rates
Checkout.com2.88 of 10Large online merchants needing local acquiring across many regions
Worldpay1.610 of 10UK merchants wanting an established acquirer with next-day settlement

Full Payment Processing and Acquiring Index ranking

SumUp compared.

Side by side on every criterion, fact and award.

Head-to-head comparisons cover pairs within the top five of each ranking. SumUp is compared with its alternatives in the table above.

All comparisons

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.