How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Provider profile · 2026 edition

Razorpay review 2026: scores, fees and alternatives.

An Indian payment gateway and RBI-authorised payment aggregator.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 26 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
3.6 / 5Buckingham Intelligence score
4Awards 2026
1Index
4 of 10Rank, Payment Processing and Acquiring Index

Short answer.

Razorpay scores 3.6 out of 5 (73 out of 100) in the Buckingham Intelligence Payment Processing and Acquiring Index 2026 and ranks 4 of 10. It is strongest for businesses selling to customers in India through UPI, cards and netbanking, with 5 out of 5 for payment methods, payout speed and integration. Not published or not stated on the pages read: regulatory standing.

Awards and scores.

Scores from the Payment Processing and Acquiring Index 2026.

Payment Processing and Acquiring Index

3.6 / 573 out of 100 · rank 4 of 10
Best for small and mid-sized merchants 2026Top rated for payment methods 2026Top rated for payout speed 2026Top rated for integration 2026
SegmentScore out of 100Rank
For small and mid-sized merchants841 of 10
For enterprise and cross-border merchants696 of 10
For platforms and regulated firms676 of 10

The score out of 5 is the overall score out of 100 divided by 20. Leader goes to the top three overall, Best for to the first in each segment, and Top rated for to a score of 5 out of 5 on a criterion. Awards cannot be bought.

Strengths and watch-outs.

Where it scores best, and where to check closely, as shown in each ranking.

Strongest for

Businesses selling to customers in India through UPI, cards and netbanking.

  • Payment methods (5/5). 100+ payment methods and 100+ currencies published.
  • Payout speed (5/5). T+1 or instant settlement published, with instant as a priced option.
  • Integration (5/5). APIs with a test playground, plugins, no-code tools and self-serve sign-up.
Watch out for
  • Merchant reach (1/5). India only; scored on access for that country.
  • Regulatory standing (2/5). RBI authorisation stated without a number; PCI DSS not stated on the pages read.

Published facts.

What Razorpay publishes on its own pages, read on 26 October 2026.

An Indian payment gateway and RBI-authorised payment aggregator. It publishes one standard rate, 100+ payment methods, next-day or instant settlement and no-code tools. It serves India only, and the RBI authorisation is stated without a reference number.

FactWhat the provider publishes
PricingStandard plan "2%" per transaction plus GST; "Platform fee 2.15% + GST" for some methods; first 90 days at "0% fee (down from 2%)" (promotional); "Maintenance: ₹0"; "Integration Support: ₹0".
Payment methods"100+ Payment Methods"; "accept payments in over 100 currencies"; cards, netbanking, UPI and wallets.
Merchant reach"A comprehensive payments suite in India"; accepts cards, bank transfers and Apple Pay "from 180+ countries". Serves India only.
Payout speedFunds settled to the bank account "according to your settlement cycle (typically T+1 or Instant)"; Instant Settlements priced as an optional extra.
IntegrationAPIs with a playground, website and app plugins, no-code Payment Links and Payment Pages, online sign-up.
Regulatory standing"Razorpay Payments Private Limited is an RBI Authorised Payment Aggregator." No reference number or PCI DSS level on the pages read.
Date read26 October 2026

Not published or not stated by Razorpay

  • Regulatory standing. RBI authorisation stated without a number; PCI DSS not stated on the pages read.

A fact that is not published is scored as not offered or, for a fee, as if it were high. It is never estimated.

Facts read on 26 October 2026 from: razorpay.com, razorpay.com/pricing.

Criterion scores.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

  • Published pricing: 4/5. Standard rate and platform fee published; no separate international card rate on the pages read.
  • Payment methods: 5/5. 100+ payment methods and 100+ currencies published.
  • Merchant reach: 1/5. India only; scored on access for that country.
  • Payout speed: 5/5. T+1 or instant settlement published, with instant as a priced option.
  • Integration: 5/5. APIs with a test playground, plugins, no-code tools and self-serve sign-up.
  • Regulatory standing: 2/5. RBI authorisation stated without a number; PCI DSS not stated on the pages read.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Payment Processing and Acquiring Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

Razorpay alternatives.

The other providers in the same ranking, ordered by score.

ProviderScore out of 5RankStrongest for
Stripe4.21 of 10Online businesses wanting full published pricing and self-serve sign-up in many countries
Adyen3.92 of 10Large merchants wanting local acquiring and many payment methods from one licensed bank
Mollie3.63 of 10UK and European small businesses wanting simple published rates and daily payouts
Airwallex3.55 of 10Businesses wanting card acceptance with settlement into a multi-currency account
Nuvei3.46 of 10Merchants in gaming, travel and high-volume sectors needing many local methods
PayPal Braintree3.07 of 10Online merchants wanting card and PayPal acceptance with published UK rates
Checkout.com2.88 of 10Large online merchants needing local acquiring across many regions
SumUp2.69 of 10Small UK retailers and sole traders taking card payments in person
Worldpay1.610 of 10UK merchants wanting an established acquirer with next-day settlement

Full Payment Processing and Acquiring Index ranking

Razorpay compared.

Side by side on every criterion, fact and award.

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.