How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Provider profile · 2026 edition

Mollie review 2026: scores, fees and alternatives.

A Dutch payment provider for small and mid-sized businesses in Europe and the UK. It publishes exact card rates by card type, payout fees and daily payouts at no extra charge, with UK and Dutch licence numbers.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 26 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
3.6 / 5Buckingham Intelligence score
2Awards 2026
1Index
3 of 10Rank, Payment Processing and Acquiring Index

Short answer.

Mollie scores 3.6 out of 5 (73 out of 100) in the Buckingham Intelligence Payment Processing and Acquiring Index 2026 and ranks 3 of 10. It is strongest for UK and European small businesses wanting simple published rates and daily payouts, with 5 out of 5 for published pricing. Not published or not stated on the pages read: merchant reach, payout speed and regulatory standing.

Awards and scores.

Scores from the Payment Processing and Acquiring Index 2026.

Payment Processing and Acquiring Index

3.6 / 573 out of 100 · rank 3 of 10
Leader 2026Top rated for published pricing 2026
SegmentScore out of 100Rank
For small and mid-sized merchants813 of 10
For enterprise and cross-border merchants695 of 10
For platforms and regulated firms705 of 10

The score out of 5 is the overall score out of 100 divided by 20. Leader goes to the top three overall, Best for to the first in each segment, and Top rated for to a score of 5 out of 5 on a criterion. Awards cannot be bought.

Strengths and watch-outs.

Where it scores best, and where to check closely, as shown in each ranking.

Strongest for

UK and European small businesses wanting simple published rates and daily payouts.

  • Published pricing (5/5). Exact rates by card type and origin, direct debit and payout fees published.
Watch out for
  • Payment methods (3/5). 35+ payment methods and 30+ currencies published.
  • Merchant reach (3/5). Europe and the UK named; no country count.
  • Regulatory standing (3/5). Two licences with numbers; PCI DSS not stated on the pages read.

Published facts.

What Mollie publishes on its own pages, read on 26 October 2026.

A Dutch payment provider for small and mid-sized businesses in Europe and the UK. It publishes exact card rates by card type, payout fees and daily payouts at no extra charge, with UK and Dutch licence numbers. Its reach is limited to Europe and the UK, and PCI DSS is not stated on the pages read.

FactWhat the provider publishes
PricingVisa and Mastercard: UK domestic consumer cards "1.20% + £0.20"; UK commercial and European cards "2.90% + £0.20"; all other cards "3.25% + £0.20". American Express UK 2.50% + £0.20, other 2.60% + £0.20. Bacs Direct Debit 0.90% + £0.20. Additional payouts £0.25; payouts in another currency 1% of payout amount.
Payment methods"35+ payment methods, 30+ currencies, online and in-person"; payouts in the primary currency plus "up to 11 additional currencies".
Merchant reachServes businesses "across Europe and the UK"; DNB e-money licence and UK payment institution licence. No country count published.
Payout speed"With Mollie, you decide when we send your payout. We don't charge extra fees for daily payouts"; schedule options include every business day.
IntegrationAPI documentation and guides, shop plugins, an MCP server for AI agents, online sign-up.
Regulatory standing"Mollie UK Ltd is licensed and registered with the Financial Conduct Authority as a payment institution in the UK (FRN: 977968) and Mollie B.V. is licensed and registered as an electronic money institution with the Dutch Central Bank (relationship number: F0038)."
Date read26 October 2026

Not published or not stated by Mollie

  • Merchant reach. No country count published.
  • Payout speed. Arrival time not stated.
  • Regulatory standing. PCI DSS not stated on the pages read.

A fact that is not published is scored as not offered or, for a fee, as if it were high. It is never estimated.

Facts read on 26 October 2026 from: mollie.com/gb, mollie.com/gb/pricing, mollie.com/gb/payments.

Criterion scores.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

  • Published pricing: 5/5. Exact rates by card type and origin, direct debit and payout fees published.
  • Payment methods: 3/5. 35+ payment methods and 30+ currencies published.
  • Merchant reach: 3/5. Europe and the UK named; no country count.
  • Payout speed: 4/5. Daily payouts at no extra fee and a choice of schedule; arrival time not stated.
  • Integration: 4/5. API, plugins and self-serve sign-up; no test environment confirmed on the pages read.
  • Regulatory standing: 3/5. Two licences with numbers; PCI DSS not stated on the pages read.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Payment Processing and Acquiring Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

Mollie alternatives.

The other providers in the same ranking, ordered by score.

ProviderScore out of 5RankStrongest for
Stripe4.21 of 10Online businesses wanting full published pricing and self-serve sign-up in many countries
Adyen3.92 of 10Large merchants wanting local acquiring and many payment methods from one licensed bank
Razorpay3.64 of 10Businesses selling to customers in India through UPI, cards and netbanking
Airwallex3.55 of 10Businesses wanting card acceptance with settlement into a multi-currency account
Nuvei3.46 of 10Merchants in gaming, travel and high-volume sectors needing many local methods
PayPal Braintree3.07 of 10Online merchants wanting card and PayPal acceptance with published UK rates
Checkout.com2.88 of 10Large online merchants needing local acquiring across many regions
SumUp2.69 of 10Small UK retailers and sole traders taking card payments in person
Worldpay1.610 of 10UK merchants wanting an established acquirer with next-day settlement

Full Payment Processing and Acquiring Index ranking

Mollie compared.

Side by side on every criterion, fact and award.

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.