How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Provider profile · 2026 edition

Nuvei review 2026: scores, fees and alternatives.

A global acquirer and processor with local acquiring in 53 markets.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 26 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
3.4 / 5Buckingham Intelligence score
3Awards 2026
1Index
6 of 10Rank, Payment Processing and Acquiring Index

Short answer.

Nuvei scores 3.4 out of 5 (67 out of 100) in the Buckingham Intelligence Payment Processing and Acquiring Index 2026 and ranks 6 of 10. It is strongest for merchants in gaming, travel and high-volume sectors needing many local methods, with 5 out of 5 for payment methods, merchant reach and regulatory standing. Not published or not stated on the pages read: pricing and payout speed.

Awards and scores.

Scores from the Payment Processing and Acquiring Index 2026.

Payment Processing and Acquiring Index

3.4 / 567 out of 100 · rank 6 of 10
Top rated for payment methods 2026Top rated for merchant reach 2026Top rated for regulatory standing 2026
SegmentScore out of 100Rank
For small and mid-sized merchants479 of 10
For enterprise and cross-border merchants783 of 10
For platforms and regulated firms763 of 10

The score out of 5 is the overall score out of 100 divided by 20. Leader goes to the top three overall, Best for to the first in each segment, and Top rated for to a score of 5 out of 5 on a criterion. Awards cannot be bought.

Strengths and watch-outs.

Where it scores best, and where to check closely, as shown in each ranking.

Strongest for

Merchants in gaming, travel and high-volume sectors needing many local methods.

  • Payment methods (5/5). 720+ payment methods and 150+ currencies published.
  • Merchant reach (5/5). Local acquiring in 53 markets published.
  • Regulatory standing (5/5). Licences with numbers in six regions and PCI DSS Level 1 published.
Watch out for
  • Published pricing (0/5). Not published on the pages read.
  • Payout speed (2/5). Faster funding stated without payout times.

Published facts.

What Nuvei publishes on its own pages, read on 26 October 2026.

A global acquirer and processor with local acquiring in 53 markets. It publishes the largest method count in this edition, the most complete licence list with numbers and PCI DSS Level 1 since 2007. It does not publish prices or payout times.

FactWhat the provider publishes
PricingNot published on the pages read.
Payment methods"720+ Payment methods accepted worldwide"; "150+ Currencies supporting global pricing and settlement".
Merchant reach"License extends Nuvei's global acquiring footprint to 53 markets"; "200+ Markets connected through a global payments network".
Payout speed"Rapid merchant funding accelerates settlement and payment." No payout times published.
IntegrationDeveloper tools, API reference docs and a documentation centre; "single API" for crypto conversion. No self-serve sign-up on the pages read.
Regulatory standingNuvei Financial Services Limited, FCA firm registration number 994233; Nuvei Global Services B.V., DNB licence F0005; Nuvei Limited, Central Bank of Cyprus licence 115.1.3.9/2018; Nuvei UAB, Bank of Lithuania licence 54; Nuvei Singapore PS20200576; Nuvei US, LLC, NMLS ID 1760584, licences in 39 US jurisdictions. "Payment Card Industry Data Security Standard Level 1 certified since 2007."
Date read26 October 2026

Not published or not stated by Nuvei

  • Pricing. Not published on the pages read.
  • Payout speed. No payout times published.

A fact that is not published is scored as not offered or, for a fee, as if it were high. It is never estimated.

Facts read on 26 October 2026 from: nuvei.com, nuvei.com/legal/licences-and-certifications.

Criterion scores.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

  • Published pricing: 0/5. Not published on the pages read.
  • Payment methods: 5/5. 720+ payment methods and 150+ currencies published.
  • Merchant reach: 5/5. Local acquiring in 53 markets published.
  • Payout speed: 2/5. Faster funding stated without payout times.
  • Integration: 3/5. API reference and documentation; no SDK, test environment or self-serve sign-up confirmed.
  • Regulatory standing: 5/5. Licences with numbers in six regions and PCI DSS Level 1 published.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Payment Processing and Acquiring Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

Nuvei alternatives.

The other providers in the same ranking, ordered by score.

ProviderScore out of 5RankStrongest for
Stripe4.21 of 10Online businesses wanting full published pricing and self-serve sign-up in many countries
Adyen3.92 of 10Large merchants wanting local acquiring and many payment methods from one licensed bank
Mollie3.63 of 10UK and European small businesses wanting simple published rates and daily payouts
Razorpay3.64 of 10Businesses selling to customers in India through UPI, cards and netbanking
Airwallex3.55 of 10Businesses wanting card acceptance with settlement into a multi-currency account
PayPal Braintree3.07 of 10Online merchants wanting card and PayPal acceptance with published UK rates
Checkout.com2.88 of 10Large online merchants needing local acquiring across many regions
SumUp2.69 of 10Small UK retailers and sole traders taking card payments in person
Worldpay1.610 of 10UK merchants wanting an established acquirer with next-day settlement

Full Payment Processing and Acquiring Index ranking

Nuvei compared.

Side by side on every criterion, fact and award.

Head-to-head comparisons cover pairs within the top five of each ranking. Nuvei is compared with its alternatives in the table above.

All comparisons

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.