How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Home › Buckingham Intelligence › Comparisons › Circle Mint vs Paxos
Comparison · 2026 edition

Circle Mint vs Paxos: stablecoin settlement compared 2026.

Circle Mint and Paxos side by side in the Stablecoin Settlement Index 2026: scores, evidence, published facts and awards.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 21 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
4.0 / 5Circle Mint
3.3 / 5Paxos
Circle MintHigher overall
6Criteria compared

Short answer.

In the Stablecoin Settlement Index, Circle Mint scores higher overall: 4.0 out of 5 (79 out of 100) against 3.3 (66), ranking 1 and 5 of 14. Circle Mint also scores higher in every segment.

Scores side by side.

Overall and segment scores out of 100, and the score out of 5.

ScoreCircle MintPaxos
Score out of 54.03.3
Score out of 1007966
Overall rank1 of 145 of 14
For receiving from buyers (out of 100)76, rank 166, rank 5
For paying suppliers (out of 100)74, rank 266, rank 4
For treasury and holding (out of 100)88, rank 167, rank 5
TypeUS money transmitter, EU e-money institutionUS national trust bank (OCC)

Criterion by criterion.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

CriterionCircle MintPaxos
Licences5/5
Licences in its own name in the US (46 states, New York, OCC trust charter), France (EMI and MiCA), Singapore, UK, Bermuda and ADGM, all with numbers.
5/5
OCC national trust bank charter, EU EMI with reference number and Singapore MPI licences in its own name.
Published fees1/5
No fee schedule; only a 1:1 mint and redeem statement and gas covered in most cases.
4/5
Zero mint and redeem fees published; bank transfer fees not stated.
Coins and rails4/5
USDC on 38 networks and US, EU and Asian bank rails, but no USDT and no named UK rail.
2/5
Two Paxos coins, only US dollar wire and CUBIX described, networks not stated.
Settlement4/5
Same business day minting for domestic wires; redemptions typically next business day.
3/5
Deposits credited on receipt; domestic wire withdrawals 1 to 3 business days.
Access5/5
185+ countries with a published list, web console and API.
2/5
Institutions only; no country list.
Protection5/5
Named trust bank custody, segregation, bankruptcy remote structure, an SEC-registered reserve fund reported via BlackRock and monthly Big Four assurance.
3/5
Reserve composition and monthly attestations published; custody and segregation of customer balances not described.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Stablecoin Settlement Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

Published facts.

What each provider publishes on its own pages, read on 21 October 2026.

FactCircle MintPaxos
Legal statusUS: 'Circle Internet Financial, LLC (NMLS ID# 1201441)'; New York 'Virtual Currency License, BL000042' and 'New York Money Transmitter License, MT104963'; First National Digital Currency Bank, N.A., operating as Circle National Trust, OCC 'Federal - Charter Number 25361'.'Paxos Trust Company, National Association', national trust bank charter, OCC 'Charter No. 25379'. Paxos Securities Settlement Company, LLC: SEC registered clearing agency, 'SEC Release No. 34-105562'.
LicencesState licences listed for 46 states (45 money transmitter licences and a Georgia seller of payment instruments licence), Washington DC and Puerto Rico (California DFAL 'Application Pending'). France: Circle Internet Financial Europe SAS, ACPR 'Electronic Money Institution License No. 17788' and AMF 'Crypto-Asset Services Provider - Authorization No. E2026-005'. Singapore: 'Major Payment Institution License No. PS20200630'. UK: 'Financial Conduct Authority E-Money Issuer License, No. 900480'. Bermuda: DAB License No. 54786. ADGM: 'Financial Services Permission Number 250035'.Singapore: Paxos Digital Singapore Pte. Ltd. and Paxos Global Pte. Ltd., MAS 'Major Payment Institution' (no number listed). EU: Paxos Issuance Europe Oy, Finanssivalvonta, 'Authorization reference number 32368862'. Regulatory record page: 'Coverage across all 50 states.'
Stablecoins and networksUSDC, EURC and cirBTC. 'USDC is natively supported across 38 blockchain networks' (multi-chain page, June 2026). USDT not listed.Mint and redeem USDG and PYUSD. Networks not stated on the pages read.
Bank rails'FedWire and SWIFT'; real-time rails 'RTP, SPEI, SEPA, and CHATS, in supported regions'; book transfers with a Circle settlement partner.USD wire (domestic via FedWire and international) and CUBIX USD transfers. ACH, SWIFT and SEPA not mentioned.
FeesNo fee schedule published. Business page: 'distributors can avoid extra fees'. Developer docs: 'Circle covers gas fees for outbound stablecoin transfers in most cases.''Zero fees to mint or redeem Paxos-issued stablecoins USDG and PYUSD.' Wire fees not stated.
SettlementMint: domestic wires received before the daily cutoff 'settle on the same business day'; international wires 1 to 3 business days. Redemption: payouts 'typically settle on the next business day.'Wire deposits credited 'as soon as it is received by our bank'; domestic wire withdrawals 'may take 1-3 business days to settle'; international wire withdrawals '1-5 days'; CUBIX 'processed 24/7'.
Access'Circle stablecoins are available to mint and redeem' in '185+ countries', with a linked list of eligible regions. 'Circle Mint is not available to individuals.' Web console and APIs.For 'institutions'; eligible countries not stated. Onboarding flow, dashboard and developer documentation linked.
ProtectionUS assets held at Circle National Trust, 'institutional-grade protection and asset segregation', 'structured to be bankruptcy remote'; 'not FDIC-insured'. Reserves: majority in the Circle Reserve Fund (USDXX), 'an SEC-registered 2a-7 government money market fund', with portfolio reporting published via BlackRock; remainder in cash, mostly at large banks; monthly assurance by 'a Big Four accounting firm'; holdings disclosed weekly.'USDG and PYUSD reserves are held 100% in US dollar deposits, US treasuries and cash equivalents'; reserve reports and attestations published monthly. Custody arrangement for customer balances not described.
Date read21 October 202621 October 2026

Not published or not stated by Circle Mint: stablecoins and networks, fees and coins and rails.

Not published or not stated by Paxos: licences, stablecoins and networks, fees, access, protection, published fees and coins and rails.

Facts read on 21 October 2026 from: circle.com/en/legal/licenses, circle.com/en/legal/us-licenses, circle.com/businesses, developers.circle.com/circle-mint/concepts/…, circle.com/transparency, circle.com/multi-chain-usdc; and paxos.com/terms-and-conditions/licenses, paxos.com/regulatory-record, paxos.com/mint-and-redeem, docs.paxos.com/guides/developer/….

Awards 2026.

Awards follow from the published scores and cannot be bought.

Circle Mint
Leader 2026Best for receiving from buyers 2026Best for treasury and holding 2026Top rated for licences 2026Top rated for access 2026Top rated for protection 2026
Paxos
Top rated for licences 2026

Who each suits.

From each provider's strongest criteria and published terms.

Circle Mint suits

Minting and redeeming USDC at scale.

  • Licences (5/5). Licences in its own name in the US (46 states, New York, OCC trust charter), France (EMI and MiCA), Singapore, UK, Bermuda and ADGM, all with numbers.
  • Access (5/5). 185+ countries with a published list, web console and API.
  • Protection (5/5). Named trust bank custody, segregation, bankruptcy remote structure, an SEC-registered reserve fund reported via BlackRock and monthly Big Four assurance.

Circle Mint full profile

Paxos suits

Fee-free minting of USDG and PYUSD.

  • Licences (5/5). OCC national trust bank charter, EU EMI with reference number and Singapore MPI licences in its own name.

Paxos full profile

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.