How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Home › Buckingham Intelligence › Providers › Ripple (RLUSD)
Provider profile · 2026 edition

Ripple (RLUSD) review 2026: scores, reserves and alternatives.

RLUSD is issued by Standard Custody & Trust Company, a New York limited purpose trust company.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 26 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
2.4 / 5Buckingham Intelligence score
0Awards 2026
1Index
10 of 11Rank, Stablecoin Issuers Index

Short answer.

Ripple (RLUSD) scores 2.4 out of 5 (47 out of 100) in the Buckingham Intelligence Stablecoin Issuers Index 2026 and ranks 10 of 11. It is strongest for banks and brokers wanting a New York trust issuer, and its best criterion is regulatory standing at 4 out of 5. Not published or not stated on the pages read: independent assurance, redemption and published fees.

Awards and scores.

Scores from the Stablecoin Issuers Index 2026.

Stablecoin Issuers Index

2.4 / 547 out of 100 · rank 10 of 11

No award in the Stablecoin Issuers Index 2026.

SegmentScore out of 100Rank
For payment and e-money firms4610 of 11
For exchanges and brokers4311 of 11
For corporate treasuries518 of 11

The score out of 5 is the overall score out of 100 divided by 20. Leader goes to the top three overall, Best for to the first in each segment, and Top rated for to a score of 5 out of 5 on a criterion. Awards cannot be bought.

Strengths and watch-outs.

Where it scores best, and where to check closely, as shown in each ranking.

Strongest for

Banks and brokers wanting a New York trust issuer.

  • Regulatory standing (4/5). NYDFS trust charter and Dubai approval stated; no licence numbers.
Watch out for
  • Redemption (2/5). Redemption service levels referred to but not stated.
  • Published fees (0/5). Not published on the pages read.
  • Currencies and networks (1/5). Two networks and one currency.

Published facts.

What Ripple (RLUSD) publishes on its own pages, read on 26 October 2026.

RLUSD is issued by Standard Custody & Trust Company, a New York limited purpose trust company. Ripple publishes monthly attestations by a US CPA firm and live circulation and reserve totals, and names cash, Treasuries and government money market funds as backing. It does not publish fees, redemption terms or the accounting firm's name.

FactWhat the provider publishes
Reserves"Backed 1:1 by cash, U.S. Treasuries, and government money market funds", "reserves held in segregated accounts". Transparency page as of 22 October 2026: circulating RLUSD $2,382.8M, reserve funds $2,528.0M.
Independent assurance"Attestations are performed by an independent Certified Public Accountant (CPA) licensed in the United States" each month, under AICPA standards; "Reports will be available monthly no more than 30 days after the month end." Firm not named.
Regulatory standing"Standard Custody & Trust Company, LLC is chartered as a limited purpose trust company by the New York State Department of Financial Services." RLUSD has "approval from the New York Department of Financial Services (NYDFS) and the Dubai Financial Services Authority".
RedemptionNYDFS supervision includes "redemptions with strict SLAs"; no redemption time, minimum or eligibility published on the pages read.
Published feesNot published on the pages read.
Currencies and networks"Integrate RLUSD on the XRPL or Ethereum." One currency: US dollar.
Date read26 October 2026

Not published or not stated by Ripple (RLUSD)

  • Independent assurance. Firm not named.
  • Redemption. No redemption time, minimum or eligibility published on the pages read.
  • Published fees. Not published on the pages read.

A fact that is not published is scored as not offered or, for a fee, as if it were high. It is never estimated.

Facts read on 26 October 2026 from: ripple.com/solutions/stablecoin, ripple.com/solutions/stablecoin/transparency.

Criterion scores.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

  • Reserves: 3/5. Reserve types and live totals published; monthly detail sits in the attestation reports.
  • Independent assurance: 3/5. Monthly attestations by a US CPA firm that is not named.
  • Regulatory standing: 4/5. NYDFS trust charter and Dubai approval stated; no licence numbers.
  • Redemption: 2/5. Redemption service levels referred to but not stated.
  • Published fees: 0/5. Not published on the pages read.
  • Currencies and networks: 1/5. Two networks and one currency.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Stablecoin Issuers Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

Ripple (RLUSD) alternatives.

The other providers in the same ranking, ordered by score.

ProviderScore out of 5RankStrongest for
Circle (USDC and EURC)4.31 of 11Payment firms and exchanges needing the widest licensing and network coverage
Paxos (USDG, USDP and PYUSD)3.62 of 11Payment firms wanting free redemption and a Big Four attestation
Tether (USDT)3.53 of 11Exchanges and large traders needing the most widely held dollar stablecoin
Agora (AUSD)3.34 of 11Fintechs and platforms wanting fee-free minting and a share of reserve income
Gemini (GUSD)3.15 of 11Firms already on Gemini wanting fee-free conversion and named reserve banks
StraitsX (XSGD, XUSD and XIDR)2.86 of 11Payment firms in Southeast Asia needing a Singapore dollar stablecoin
Quantoz (EURQ and USDQ)2.77 of 11European firms wanting free direct redemption without an existing account
Societe Generale-Forge (EURCV and USDCV)2.58 of 11European banks and institutions wanting a bank-group issuer with daily reserve disclosure
AllUnity (EURAU, CHFAU, SEKAU and USDAU)2.49 of 11European corporates wanting a no-code mint account and several currencies
Monerium (EURe and GBPe)1.911 of 11Fintechs and wallets needing euro tokens linked to a named IBAN

Full Stablecoin Issuers Index ranking

Ripple (RLUSD) compared.

Side by side on every criterion, fact and award.

Head-to-head comparisons cover pairs within the top five of each ranking. Ripple (RLUSD) is compared with its alternatives in the table above.

All comparisons

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.