How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Home › Buckingham Intelligence › Providers › Circle (USDC and EURC)
Provider profile · 2026 edition

Circle (USDC and EURC) review 2026: scores, reserves and alternatives.

Circle issues USDC and EURC through regulated affiliates.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 26 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
4.3 / 5Buckingham Intelligence score
7Awards 2026
1Index
1 of 11Rank, Stablecoin Issuers Index

Short answer.

Circle (USDC and EURC) scores 4.3 out of 5 (86 out of 100) in the Buckingham Intelligence Stablecoin Issuers Index 2026 and ranks 1 of 11. It is strongest for payment firms and exchanges needing the widest licensing and network coverage, with 5 out of 5 for reserves, regulatory standing and currencies and networks. Not published or not stated on the pages read: independent assurance.

Awards and scores.

Scores from the Stablecoin Issuers Index 2026.

Stablecoin Issuers Index

4.3 / 586 out of 100 · rank 1 of 11
Leader 2026Best for payment and e-money firms 2026Best for exchanges and brokers 2026Best for corporate treasuries 2026Top rated for reserves 2026Top rated for regulatory standing 2026Top rated for currencies and networks 2026
SegmentScore out of 100Rank
For payment and e-money firms831 of 11
For exchanges and brokers871 of 11
For corporate treasuries871 of 11

The score out of 5 is the overall score out of 100 divided by 20. Leader goes to the top three overall, Best for to the first in each segment, and Top rated for to a score of 5 out of 5 on a criterion. Awards cannot be bought.

Strengths and watch-outs.

Where it scores best, and where to check closely, as shown in each ranking.

Strongest for

Payment firms and exchanges needing the widest licensing and network coverage.

  • Reserves (5/5). Reserve holdings and mint and burn flows published weekly, with the BlackRock-managed reserve fund named.
  • Regulatory standing (5/5). Licences in the US, EU, UK, Singapore, Bermuda and Abu Dhabi with numbers published.
  • Currencies and networks (5/5). 38 networks and two currencies published.
Watch out for
  • Published fees (2/5). Minting stated as free; redemption and on-chain sending fees sit in a fee schedule that could not be read.

Published facts.

What Circle (USDC and EURC) publishes on its own pages, read on 26 October 2026.

Circle issues USDC and EURC through regulated affiliates. It publishes reserve holdings weekly, monthly assurance from a Big Four firm, and licence numbers across the US, EU, UK, Singapore, Bermuda and Abu Dhabi. Businesses mint and redeem through Circle Mint. Its fee schedule could not be read, so redemption fees are not confirmed.

FactWhat the provider publishes
ReservesTransparency page: "USDC reserve holdings are fully disclosed on a weekly basis, along with associated mint/burn flows." Reserves split into bank deposits, deposits at systemically important institutions, overnight reverse Treasury repo and Treasuries under three months; Treasuries may be held in "the Circle Reserve Fund, a 2a-7 money market fund managed by BlackRock".
Independent assurance"A Big Four accounting firm provides monthly third-party assurance that the value of USDC reserves are greater than the amount of USDC in circulation", prepared under AICPA attestation standards. USDC page: "Deloitte & Touche LLP is Circle's independent auditor and has audited Circle's financials since fiscal year 2022."
Regulatory standingLicences page: OCC national trust bank charter number 25361 (Circle National Trust); NYDFS limited purpose trust company; ACPR electronic money institution No. 17788 and AMF MiCA crypto-asset service provider authorisation No. E2026-005 (Circle Internet Financial Europe SAS); MAS Major Payment Institution No. PS20200630; FCA e-money No. 900480; Bermuda DAB licence No. 54786; ADGM FSRA permission 250035. Circle Internet Financial, LLC NMLS 1201441.
RedemptionUSDC terms: Circle Mint account holders can "issue USDC for USD" and "redeem USDC for USD from Circle"; "Circle Mint is currently available only to institutions". MiCA redemption policy: EEA holders other than retail open a Circle Mint account; retail payout "should not take more than 5 business days".
Published feesUSDC terms: "Circle will not charge you any fees for tokenizing USD for USDC, or receiving USDC"; fees apply to sending USDC on chain from Circle Mint per the Circle Product Fee Schedule. Redemption is at $1 "less fees where applicable". The fee schedule page did not load when read.
Currencies and networks"USDC is natively supported on 38 blockchain networks as of September 16, 2026." Two currencies: USDC (US dollar) and EURC (euro).
Date read26 October 2026

Not published or not stated by Circle (USDC and EURC)

  • Independent assurance. Monthly assurance by a Big Four firm, not named on the page, plus audited financial statements by Deloitte.

A fact that is not published is scored as not offered or, for a fee, as if it were high. It is never estimated.

Facts read on 26 October 2026 from: circle.com/transparency, circle.com/usdc, circle.com/legal/usdc-terms, circle.com/legal/licenses, circle.com/legal/mica-redemption-policy, circle.com/pricing.

Criterion scores.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

  • Reserves: 5/5. Reserve holdings and mint and burn flows published weekly, with the BlackRock-managed reserve fund named.
  • Independent assurance: 4/5. Monthly assurance by a Big Four firm, not named on the page, plus audited financial statements by Deloitte.
  • Regulatory standing: 5/5. Licences in the US, EU, UK, Singapore, Bermuda and Abu Dhabi with numbers published.
  • Redemption: 4/5. Direct institutional minting and redemption through Circle Mint; a five business day limit is published for EEA retail redemptions only.
  • Published fees: 2/5. Minting stated as free; redemption and on-chain sending fees sit in a fee schedule that could not be read.
  • Currencies and networks: 5/5. 38 networks and two currencies published.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Stablecoin Issuers Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

Circle (USDC and EURC) alternatives.

The other providers in the same ranking, ordered by score.

ProviderScore out of 5RankStrongest for
Paxos (USDG, USDP and PYUSD)3.62 of 11Payment firms wanting free redemption and a Big Four attestation
Tether (USDT)3.53 of 11Exchanges and large traders needing the most widely held dollar stablecoin
Agora (AUSD)3.34 of 11Fintechs and platforms wanting fee-free minting and a share of reserve income
Gemini (GUSD)3.15 of 11Firms already on Gemini wanting fee-free conversion and named reserve banks
StraitsX (XSGD, XUSD and XIDR)2.86 of 11Payment firms in Southeast Asia needing a Singapore dollar stablecoin
Quantoz (EURQ and USDQ)2.77 of 11European firms wanting free direct redemption without an existing account
Societe Generale-Forge (EURCV and USDCV)2.58 of 11European banks and institutions wanting a bank-group issuer with daily reserve disclosure
AllUnity (EURAU, CHFAU, SEKAU and USDAU)2.49 of 11European corporates wanting a no-code mint account and several currencies
Ripple (RLUSD)2.410 of 11Banks and brokers wanting a New York trust issuer
Monerium (EURe and GBPe)1.911 of 11Fintechs and wallets needing euro tokens linked to a named IBAN

Full Stablecoin Issuers Index ranking

Circle (USDC and EURC) compared.

Side by side on every criterion, fact and award.

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.