How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Home › Buckingham Intelligence › Providers › Gemini (GUSD)
Provider profile · 2026 edition

Gemini (GUSD) review 2026: scores, reserves and alternatives.

Gemini dollar is issued by Gemini under NYDFS regulation.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 26 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
3.1 / 5Buckingham Intelligence score
0Awards 2026
1Index
5 of 11Rank, Stablecoin Issuers Index

Short answer.

Gemini (GUSD) scores 3.1 out of 5 (63 out of 100) in the Buckingham Intelligence Stablecoin Issuers Index 2026 and ranks 5 of 11. It is strongest for firms already on Gemini wanting fee-free conversion and named reserve banks, and its best criterion is reserves at 4 out of 5. Not published or not stated on the pages read: redemption.

Awards and scores.

Scores from the Stablecoin Issuers Index 2026.

Stablecoin Issuers Index

3.1 / 563 out of 100 · rank 5 of 11

No award in the Stablecoin Issuers Index 2026.

SegmentScore out of 100Rank
For payment and e-money firms654 of 11
For exchanges and brokers586 of 11
For corporate treasuries674 of 11

The score out of 5 is the overall score out of 100 divided by 20. Leader goes to the top three overall, Best for to the first in each segment, and Top rated for to a score of 5 out of 5 on a criterion. Awards cannot be bought.

Strengths and watch-outs.

Where it scores best, and where to check closely, as shown in each ranking.

Strongest for

Firms already on Gemini wanting fee-free conversion and named reserve banks.

  • Reserves (4/5). Monthly reserve attestations with reserve banks named.
  • Independent assurance (4/5). Monthly attestations by BPM LLP plus a random-day examination each month.
  • Published fees (4/5). Zero conversion fees for GUSD and US dollars published on the fee schedule.
Watch out for
  • Currencies and networks (1/5). One network and one currency.

Published facts.

What Gemini (GUSD) publishes on its own pages, read on 26 October 2026.

Gemini dollar is issued by Gemini under NYDFS regulation. It names its reserve banks, publishes monthly attestations by BPM LLP with an extra check on a random day each month, and lists zero trading fees for GUSD and US dollar conversion. It runs on Ethereum only and does not publish redemption times or limits.

FactWhat the provider publishes
ReservesReserves held as deposits in FDIC-insured banks and money market funds "invested only in U.S. Treasury obligations"; cash portion "may be held at State Street Bank and Trust Company, Goldman Sachs, or Fidelity" and may be eligible for FDIC pass-through insurance.
Independent assurance"Attestations of GUSD's reserves are published monthly by an independent registered accounting firm, BPM LLP. In addition to these monthly attestations, BPM LLP conducts attestation examinations on one randomly-selected business day each month."
Regulatory standing"GUSD has been fully regulated by the New York State Department of Financial Services (NYDFS) since 2018." No licence number on the page.
Redemption"Gemini customers can always redeem 1 GUSD for $1 on Gemini at any time." Redemption time and minimum not published.
Published feesAPI fee schedule: GUSD/USD and USDC/GUSD pairs at 0.00% maker and taker fees in the lowest tier. GUSD page: convert USD to GUSD "fee-free" in the app.
Currencies and networks"GUSD is an Ethereum-based ERC-20 token." One currency: US dollar.
Date read26 October 2026

Not published or not stated by Gemini (GUSD)

  • Redemption. Redemption time and minimum not published.

A fact that is not published is scored as not offered or, for a fee, as if it were high. It is never estimated.

Facts read on 26 October 2026 from: gemini.com/dollar, gemini.com/fees/api-fee-schedule.

Criterion scores.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

  • Reserves: 4/5. Monthly reserve attestations with reserve banks named.
  • Independent assurance: 4/5. Monthly attestations by BPM LLP plus a random-day examination each month.
  • Regulatory standing: 3/5. NYDFS regulation stated; one regulator, no licence number.
  • Redemption: 3/5. Redemption on Gemini at any time stated; no timing or minimum.
  • Published fees: 4/5. Zero conversion fees for GUSD and US dollars published on the fee schedule.
  • Currencies and networks: 1/5. One network and one currency.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Stablecoin Issuers Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

Gemini (GUSD) alternatives.

The other providers in the same ranking, ordered by score.

ProviderScore out of 5RankStrongest for
Circle (USDC and EURC)4.31 of 11Payment firms and exchanges needing the widest licensing and network coverage
Paxos (USDG, USDP and PYUSD)3.62 of 11Payment firms wanting free redemption and a Big Four attestation
Tether (USDT)3.53 of 11Exchanges and large traders needing the most widely held dollar stablecoin
Agora (AUSD)3.34 of 11Fintechs and platforms wanting fee-free minting and a share of reserve income
StraitsX (XSGD, XUSD and XIDR)2.86 of 11Payment firms in Southeast Asia needing a Singapore dollar stablecoin
Quantoz (EURQ and USDQ)2.77 of 11European firms wanting free direct redemption without an existing account
Societe Generale-Forge (EURCV and USDCV)2.58 of 11European banks and institutions wanting a bank-group issuer with daily reserve disclosure
AllUnity (EURAU, CHFAU, SEKAU and USDAU)2.49 of 11European corporates wanting a no-code mint account and several currencies
Ripple (RLUSD)2.410 of 11Banks and brokers wanting a New York trust issuer
Monerium (EURe and GBPe)1.911 of 11Fintechs and wallets needing euro tokens linked to a named IBAN

Full Stablecoin Issuers Index ranking

Gemini (GUSD) compared.

Side by side on every criterion, fact and award.

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.