How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Home › Buckingham Intelligence › Comparisons › BVNK vs Paxos
Comparison · 2026 edition

BVNK vs Paxos: stablecoin settlement compared 2026.

BVNK and Paxos side by side in the Stablecoin Settlement Index 2026: scores, evidence, published facts and awards.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 21 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
3.4 / 5BVNK
3.3 / 5Paxos
BVNKHigher overall
6Criteria compared

Short answer.

In the Stablecoin Settlement Index, BVNK scores higher overall: 3.4 out of 5 (67 out of 100) against 3.3 (66), ranking 4 and 5 of 14. BVNK scores higher for receiving from buyers and treasury and holding; Paxos scores higher for paying suppliers.

Scores side by side.

Overall and segment scores out of 100, and the score out of 5.

ScoreBVNKPaxos
Score out of 53.43.3
Score out of 1006766
Overall rank4 of 145 of 14
For receiving from buyers (out of 100)70, rank 466, rank 5
For paying suppliers (out of 100)63, rank 766, rank 4
For treasury and holding (out of 100)69, rank 367, rank 5
TypeUK and Malta e-money institution, US money transmitterUS national trust bank (OCC)

Criterion by criterion.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

CriterionBVNKPaxos
Licences5/5
FCA and MFSA e-money licences, MiCA authorisation and US licences in 39 states, all with numbers.
5/5
OCC national trust bank charter, EU EMI with reference number and Singapore MPI licences in its own name.
Published fees1/5
Fee structure described, but every figure is agreed per client.
4/5
Zero mint and redeem fees published; bank transfer fees not stated.
Coins and rails4/5
USDC and USDT with US, EU and UK rails; networks not named.
2/5
Two Paxos coins, only US dollar wire and CUBIX described, networks not stated.
Settlement5/5
Same-day and instant rails published for the US, EU and UK.
3/5
Deposits credited on receipt; domestic wire withdrawals 1 to 3 business days.
Access2/5
No country list; onboarding documents and API docs published.
2/5
Institutions only; no country list.
Protection3/5
Segregated and safeguarded e-money stated; no named crypto custodian or insurance.
3/5
Reserve composition and monthly attestations published; custody and segregation of customer balances not described.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Stablecoin Settlement Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

Published facts.

What each provider publishes on its own pages, read on 21 October 2026.

FactBVNKPaxos
Legal statusSystem Pay Services Ltd: 'authorised and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority as an Electronic Money Institution', reference '901057'. System Pay Services (Malta) Ltd: MFSA Electronic Money Institution and 'a Crypto-Asset Service Provider in accordance with the Markets in Crypto-Assets Act', reference 'C66961'. System Pay Services (US), Inc.: FinCEN registered MSB, 'NMLS ID 2531294', 'not licensed as a bank in the US'.'Paxos Trust Company, National Association', national trust bank charter, OCC 'Charter No. 25379'. Paxos Securities Settlement Company, LLC: SEC registered clearing agency, 'SEC Release No. 34-105562'.
LicencesUS money transmitter or equivalent licences listed for 39 states, Washington DC and Puerto Rico, each with a number. Partner banks named: Lead Bank and Cross River Bank.Singapore: Paxos Digital Singapore Pte. Ltd. and Paxos Global Pte. Ltd., MAS 'Major Payment Institution' (no number listed). EU: Paxos Issuance Europe Oy, Finanssivalvonta, 'Authorization reference number 32368862'. Regulatory record page: 'Coverage across all 50 states.'
Stablecoins and networks'From BTC to USDT, USDC and PYUSD'; 'We support all major chains and tokens'. Networks not named on the pages read.Mint and redeem USDG and PYUSD. Networks not stated on the pages read.
Bank railsUS: ACH, same-day ACH, FedNow, Fedwire, RTP, SWIFT. Europe: SEPA, SEPA Instant, SWIFT. UK: Faster Payments, SWIFT. Brazil, Mexico, Argentina and Canada listed as upcoming.USD wire (domestic via FedWire and international) and CUBIX USD transfers. ACH, SWIFT and SEPA not mentioned.
FeesMiCA pricing policy: custody and internal transfers free; conversions at a 'Conversion All-in Exchange Rate' including a 'Commercial Fee' 'as agreed with you'; external transfers a percentage and/or fixed fee. No figures published.'Zero fees to mint or redeem Paxos-issued stablecoins USDG and PYUSD.' Wire fees not stated.
SettlementSame-day ACH 'T+0 if submitted by COT'; FedNow and RTP 'Instant'; Fedwire 'Within one business day'; SEPA Instant 'Seconds'; Faster Payments 'Minutes to hours'; SWIFT 1 to 5 business days.Wire deposits credited 'as soon as it is received by our bank'; domestic wire withdrawals 'may take 1-3 business days to settle'; international wire withdrawals '1-5 days'; CUBIX 'processed 24/7'.
AccessEligible countries not listed; documents for onboarding published (certificate of incorporation, articles, three months of bank statements and others). API documentation published.For 'institutions'; eligible countries not stated. Onboarding flow, dashboard and developer documentation linked.
Protection'Your e-money is held in segregated accounts - separate from BVNK's own funds'; '100% of customer e-money funds are safeguarded'; for digital assets 'we keep separate records for every fund type'. No named custodian or insurance.'USDG and PYUSD reserves are held 100% in US dollar deposits, US treasuries and cash equivalents'; reserve reports and attestations published monthly. Custody arrangement for customer balances not described.
Date read21 October 202621 October 2026

Not published or not stated by BVNK: stablecoins and networks, fees, access, protection and coins and rails.

Not published or not stated by Paxos: licences, stablecoins and networks, fees, access, protection, published fees and coins and rails.

Facts read on 21 October 2026 from: help.bvnk.com/hc/en-us/articles/11094354781074, bvnk.com/compliance, bvnk.com/trading, bvnk.com/digital-assets, bvnk.com/eu/pricing-policy, docs.bvnk.com/bvnk/references/payment-methods, docs.bvnk.com/bvnk/get-started/…, bvnk.com/mt-mt/compliance; and paxos.com/terms-and-conditions/licenses, paxos.com/regulatory-record, paxos.com/mint-and-redeem, docs.paxos.com/guides/developer/….

Awards 2026.

Awards follow from the published scores and cannot be bought.

BVNK
Top rated for licences 2026Top rated for settlement 2026
Paxos
Top rated for licences 2026

Who each suits.

From each provider's strongest criteria and published terms.

BVNK suits

Businesses needing US, EU and UK rails together.

  • Licences (5/5). FCA and MFSA e-money licences, MiCA authorisation and US licences in 39 states, all with numbers.
  • Settlement (5/5). Same-day and instant rails published for the US, EU and UK.

BVNK full profile

Paxos suits

Fee-free minting of USDG and PYUSD.

  • Licences (5/5). OCC national trust bank charter, EU EMI with reference number and Singapore MPI licences in its own name.

Paxos full profile

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.