How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Home › Buckingham Intelligence › Providers › WorldFirst
Provider profile · 2026 edition

WorldFirst review 2026: scores, fees and alternatives.

A multi-currency business account, part of Ant International, built for paying suppliers and collecting from marketplaces.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 21 and 26 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
4.7 / 5Buckingham Intelligence score
11Awards 2026
2Indices
1 of 11Rank, Cross-border Payments and Remittance Index

Short answer.

WorldFirst is ranked in 2 Buckingham Intelligence indices. Its highest score is 4.7 out of 5 (93 out of 100) in the Cross-border Payments and Remittance Index, where it ranks 1 of 11. It is strongest for exporters and online sellers paying suppliers in Asia, especially China, with 5 out of 5 for payment reach, payment speed, collection accounts and regulatory standing. Its lowest criterion score is integration at 4 out of 5.

Also ranked in: Global Trade Banking Index (3.5 out of 5, rank 2 of 26).

Awards and scores.

Scores from the Cross-border Payments and Remittance Index and Global Trade Banking Index 2026.

Cross-border Payments and Remittance Index

4.7 / 593 out of 100 · rank 1 of 11
Leader 2026Best for SMEs and exporters 2026Best for payment and e-money firms 2026Best for marketplaces and platforms 2026Top rated for payment reach 2026Top rated for payment speed 2026Top rated for collection accounts 2026Top rated for regulatory standing 2026
SegmentScore out of 100Rank
For SMEs and exporters931 of 11
For payment and e-money firms941 of 11
For marketplaces and platforms931 of 11

Global Trade Banking Index

3.5 / 571 out of 100 · rank 2 of 26
Leader 2026Top rated for getting paid 2026Top rated for paying suppliers 2026
SegmentScore out of 100Rank
For importers722 of 26
For exporters762 of 26
For wholesalers and distributors643 of 26

The score out of 5 is the overall score out of 100 divided by 20. Leader goes to the top three overall, Best for to the first in each segment, and Top rated for to a score of 5 out of 5 on a criterion. Awards cannot be bought.

Strengths and watch-outs.

Where it scores best, and where to check closely, as shown in each ranking.

Cross-border Payments and Remittance Index

Strongest for

Exporters and online sellers paying suppliers in Asia, especially China.

  • Payment reach (5/5). 210+ countries and regions and 100+ currencies published.
  • Payment speed (5/5). Share of payments arriving the same day published.
  • Collection accounts (5/5). Free receiving accounts in 20+ currencies published.
  • Regulatory standing (5/5). Licences in five regions published with regulator and licence numbers.
Watch out for
  • Published pricing (4/5). Exact payment fees by currency and route published; standard FX rate published only as "up to 0.50%".
  • Integration (4/5). API, accounting integration and self-serve sign-up; no test environment or batch payments confirmed on the pages read.

Global Trade Banking Index

Strongest for

Importers paying Asian suppliers, no account fees.

  • Getting paid (5/5). Local account details in 11 currencies including CNH, MXN and JPY, extra accounts in 8 more, and receiving is free.
  • Paying suppliers (5/5). Published per-corridor fees as low as £0.27 (EUR SEPA) and £0.77 (USD to the US), to 210+ countries.
Watch out for
  • Financing (1/5). Forward contracts and a cashback debit card; no lending or trade finance.
  • Access and onboarding (2/5). The UK site is for UK businesses and publishes no list of accepted countries of registration, so access for the countries in this index is unconfirmed.

Published facts.

What WorldFirst publishes on its own pages, read on 21 and 26 October 2026.

Cross-border Payments and Remittance Index

A multi-currency business account, part of Ant International, built for paying suppliers and collecting from marketplaces. It publishes exact payment fees by currency and route, an FX rate ceiling, local accounts in 20+ currencies, a same-day delivery figure and licences with numbers in several regions. Its standard FX rate is an "up to" figure.

FactWhat the provider publishes
Payment reach"Pay suppliers in 100+ currencies, across 210+ countries and regions."
PricingAccount: "Free" to open, no subscription. Payments: USD to United States £0.77, to Mainland China £11.55, other destinations £7.69; EUR via SEPA £0.27; GBP to UK £0.31; all other currencies £4.62 to £23.00. FX: standard rate "Up to 0.50%"; new customer rate 0.30% for six months.
Payment speed"95% arrive on the same day"; priority transfers to China "arrive within 4 business hours"; payments to other World Accounts free and instant.
Collection accounts"Receiving accounts in 20+ currencies, including USD, GBP, EUR, PLN, TRY, JPY and CNH", free; payouts collected from "130+ platforms".
IntegrationAccounting software integration; enterprise "API toolkit" with API references; online sign-up for a free account.
Regulatory standingWorld First UK Ltd: FCA EMI, Firm Reference 900508. World First Netherlands B.V.: DNB EMI, relation number R161090. World First Pty Ltd: ASIC AFS Licence 331945. World First Asia Ltd: HK MSO Licence 14-02-01352. MAS Major Payment Institution licences in Singapore.
Date read26 October 2026

Not published or not stated by WorldFirst

Nothing in this profile is marked as not published or not stated on the pages read.

A fact that is not published is scored as not offered or, for a fee, as if it were high. It is never estimated.

Facts read on 26 October 2026 from: worldfirst.com/uk, worldfirst.com/uk/pricing, worldfirst.com/uk/compliance/….

Global Trade Banking Index

World First UK Limited is an FCA-authorised e-money institution (900508) owned by Ant International. There is no set-up, subscription or receiving fee, FX is up to 0.50% on major currencies, and supplier payments are priced per corridor, for example USD to mainland China at £11.55. The UK site does not publish which countries of registration it accepts.

FactWhat the provider publishes
Account feeNone: no set-up, subscription or maintenance fee
FX marginUp to 0.50% on majors; 0.30% for the first six months; custom above £100,000 a month
ReceivingLocal details in GBP, USD, EUR, CNH, HKD, JPY, MXN and others; receiving free
Paying suppliersUSD to the US £0.77; USD to mainland China £11.55; EUR by SEPA £0.27; 100+ currencies to 210+ countries
StablecoinsNot published; crypto is a restricted activity
FinanceForward contracts and a debit card; no credit
OnboardingOnline; time to approval not published
ProtectionSafeguarded e-money; no FSCS
Date read21 October 2026

Who can open an account, by country of registration

CountryPublished position
United KingdomYes
United StatesNot published
MexicoNot published
BrazilNot published
ColombiaNot published
Hong KongNot published
ChinaNot published
TürkiyeNot published
UAENot published
NigeriaNot published
PakistanNot published

Not published or not stated by WorldFirst

  • Stablecoins. Not published.
  • Onboarding. Time to approval not published.

A fact that is not published is scored as not offered or, for a fee, as if it were high. It is never estimated.

Facts read on 21 October 2026 from: worldfirst.com/uk/pricing, worldfirst.com/uk/legal, worldfirst.com/uk/receive-payments, worldfirst.com/uk/legal/terms-and-conditions.

Criterion scores.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

Cross-border Payments and Remittance Index

  • Payment reach: 5/5. 210+ countries and regions and 100+ currencies published.
  • Published pricing: 4/5. Exact payment fees by currency and route published; standard FX rate published only as "up to 0.50%".
  • Payment speed: 5/5. Share of payments arriving the same day published.
  • Collection accounts: 5/5. Free receiving accounts in 20+ currencies published.
  • Integration: 4/5. API, accounting integration and self-serve sign-up; no test environment or batch payments confirmed on the pages read.
  • Regulatory standing: 5/5. Licences in five regions published with regulator and licence numbers.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Cross-border Payments and Remittance Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

Global Trade Banking Index

  • Getting paid: 5/5. Local account details in 11 currencies including CNH, MXN and JPY, extra accounts in 8 more, and receiving is free.
  • Paying suppliers: 5/5. Published per-corridor fees as low as £0.27 (EUR SEPA) and £0.77 (USD to the US), to 210+ countries.
  • FX cost: 4/5. Up to 0.50% on major currencies, with a 0.30% rate for six months; the ceiling is published, the floor is not.
  • Financing: 1/5. Forward contracts and a cashback debit card; no lending or trade finance.
  • Access and onboarding: 2/5. The UK site is for UK businesses and publishes no list of accepted countries of registration, so access for the countries in this index is unconfirmed.
  • Protection and standing: 4/5. FCA e-money institution, part of Ant International with 70+ licences by its own count; safeguarding stated in its terms.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Global Trade Banking Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

WorldFirst alternatives.

The other providers in the same ranking, ordered by score.

In the Cross-border Payments and Remittance Index

ProviderScore out of 5RankStrongest for
Airwallex4.72 of 11Businesses and platforms wanting exact FX margins, wide reach and many licences
Wise Business4.23 of 11Small businesses wanting fast payments and a full public API
Payoneer3.54 of 11Online sellers and service firms collecting from marketplaces and clients abroad
Nium3.25 of 11Payment firms and platforms building payouts through an API
Currenxie3.16 of 11Asia-facing businesses wanting a fully priced account
OFX2.77 of 11Small businesses wanting a published fee schedule and Xero connection
Ebury2.58 of 11Mid-sized importers and exporters wanting payments with currency hedging
Convera2.49 of 11Larger businesses, universities and credit unions paying in exotic currencies
Thunes1.910 of 11Banks, remittance firms and wallets paying out to mobile wallets and accounts
Corpay Cross-Border1.611 of 11Mid-sized and large firms paying in many countries with hedging support

Full Cross-border Payments and Remittance Index ranking

In the Global Trade Banking Index

ProviderScore out of 5RankStrongest for
Wise Business3.81 of 26Transparent FX and receiving in 22 currencies
Airwallex3.53 of 26Free local supplier payments to 120+ countries
Statrys3.14 of 26Hong Kong, Singapore and BVI companies trading with Asia
XTransfer3.15 of 26Trade with China and emerging-market collection
Aspire3.06 of 26Singapore, Hong Kong and US-nexus companies trading in Asia
Currenxie3.07 of 26Asian and Mexican traders collecting in nine currencies
Payoneer3.08 of 26Marketplace sellers and exporters in 190+ countries
Mercury2.89 of 26US-registered companies with founders abroad
Ebury2.810 of 26Mid-size traders needing supplier finance with their FX
Verto2.711 of 26African exporters collecting in NGN, KES and ZAR
3S Money2.712 of 26Non-resident companies from 190+ countries wanting UK and EU IBANs
Slash2.513 of 26Non-US wholesalers spending in dollars and receiving USDT
Revolut Business2.514 of 26UK, EEA and US companies wanting cards and FX allowances
Shield2.515 of 26Wholesalers in Latin America paid in USDT
OFX2.416 of 26FX-heavy traders wanting a dealer on the phone
Tazapay2.417 of 26Exporters collecting from buyers in 85+ markets
Wio Bank2.418 of 26UAE trade licence holders wanting a bank with lending
HSBC UK2.319 of 26UK traders needing letters of credit and trade finance
iBanFirst2.020 of 26EEA and UK companies exchanging €200,000 or more a year
Conduit1.921 of 26Companies in 100+ countries settling trade in stablecoins
Bitso Business1.822 of 26Latin American traders settling on Pix, SPEI and ACH
Flutterwave1.723 of 26African exporters receiving USD, GBP, EUR and AED
Equals Money1.724 of 26UK businesses wanting cards and 40 currencies in one account
Moneycorp1.725 of 26UK and Irish traders wanting dealer-led FX
Nium1.626 of 26Platforms and fintechs embedding payouts, not yet small traders

Full Global Trade Banking Index ranking

WorldFirst compared.

Side by side on every criterion, fact and award.

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.