How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Home › Buckingham Intelligence › Comparisons › WorldFirst vs XTransfer
Comparison · 2026 edition

WorldFirst vs XTransfer: trade banking compared 2026.

WorldFirst and XTransfer side by side in the Global Trade Banking Index 2026: scores, evidence, published facts and awards.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 21 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
3.5 / 5WorldFirst
3.1 / 5XTransfer
WorldFirstHigher overall
6Criteria compared

Short answer.

In the Global Trade Banking Index, WorldFirst scores higher overall: 3.5 out of 5 (71 out of 100) against 3.1 (62), ranking 2 and 5 of 26. WorldFirst also scores higher in every segment.

Scores side by side.

Overall and segment scores out of 100, and the score out of 5.

ScoreWorldFirstXTransfer
Score out of 53.53.1
Score out of 1007162
Overall rank2 of 265 of 26
For importers (out of 100)72, rank 260, rank 6
For exporters (out of 100)76, rank 265, rank 7
For wholesalers and distributors (out of 100)64, rank 361, rank 5
TypeE-money institution (FCA)Authorised payment institution (FCA) and licensed group

Criterion by criterion.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

CriterionWorldFirstXTransfer
Getting paid5/5
Local account details in 11 currencies including CNH, MXN and JPY, extra accounts in 8 more, and receiving is free.
5/5
Local collection accounts in GBP, EUR, MXN, BRL, COP, AED and twelve African currencies, and free receipt from 200+ countries.
Paying suppliers5/5
Published per-corridor fees as low as £0.27 (EUR SEPA) and £0.77 (USD to the US), to 210+ countries.
5/5
Payments from US$2, CNY supplier payments capped at 0.4%, and a network built around China trade.
FX cost4/5
Up to 0.50% on major currencies, with a 0.30% rate for six months; the ceiling is published, the floor is not.
1/5
No margin figure is published; the site promises competitive rates without stating them.
Financing1/5
Forward contracts and a cashback debit card; no lending or trade finance.
0/5
No credit, cards or trade finance on the UK site.
Access and onboarding2/5
The UK site is for UK businesses and publishes no list of accepted countries of registration, so access for the countries in this index is unconfirmed.
4/5
Accounts in 200+ countries and regions with 24-hour digital onboarding; the accepted country list is not published as a table.
Protection and standing4/5
FCA e-money institution, part of Ant International with 70+ licences by its own count; safeguarding stated in its terms.
4/5
FCA authorised payment institution that names the banks holding client funds, an unusual degree of disclosure.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Global Trade Banking Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

Published facts.

What each provider publishes on its own pages, read on 21 October 2026.

FactWorldFirstXTransfer
Account feeNone: no set-up, subscription or maintenance feeFree to open and maintain
FX marginUp to 0.50% on majors; 0.30% for the first six months; custom above £100,000 a monthNot published
ReceivingLocal details in GBP, USD, EUR, CNH, HKD, JPY, MXN and others; receiving freeFree from bank accounts in 200+ countries; local accounts in GBP, EUR, Mexico, Brazil, Colombia, UAE and 12 African markets
Paying suppliersUSD to the US £0.77; USD to mainland China £11.55; EUR by SEPA £0.27; 100+ currencies to 210+ countriesFrom US$2 per transaction; CNY to Chinese suppliers at most 0.4%
StablecoinsNot published; crypto is a restricted activityNot published
FinanceForward contracts and a debit card; no creditNone published
OnboardingOnline; time to approval not publishedOnline, accounts ready within 24 hours
ProtectionSafeguarded e-money; no FSCSSafeguarded as an FCA payment institution; funds held at JPMorgan, DBS, HSBC, OCBC and Bank of China
Date read21 October 202621 October 2026

Not published or not stated by WorldFirst: stablecoins and onboarding.

Not published or not stated by XTransfer: FX margin, FX cost and access and onboarding.

Facts read on 21 October 2026 from: worldfirst.com/uk/pricing, worldfirst.com/uk/legal, worldfirst.com/uk/receive-payments, worldfirst.com/uk/legal/terms-and-conditions; and xtransfer.com/uk/services/pricing, xtransfer.com/uk/services/compliance, xtransfer.com/uk/services/local-accounts, xtransfer.com/uk/about-us/company.

Awards 2026.

Awards follow from the published scores and cannot be bought.

WorldFirst
Leader 2026Top rated for getting paid 2026Top rated for paying suppliers 2026
XTransfer
Top rated for getting paid 2026Top rated for paying suppliers 2026

Who each suits.

From each provider's strongest criteria and published terms.

WorldFirst suits

Importers paying Asian suppliers, no account fees.

  • Getting paid (5/5). Local account details in 11 currencies including CNH, MXN and JPY, extra accounts in 8 more, and receiving is free.
  • Paying suppliers (5/5). Published per-corridor fees as low as £0.27 (EUR SEPA) and £0.77 (USD to the US), to 210+ countries.

WorldFirst full profile

XTransfer suits

Trade with China and emerging-market collection.

  • Getting paid (5/5). Local collection accounts in GBP, EUR, MXN, BRL, COP, AED and twelve African currencies, and free receipt from 200+ countries.
  • Paying suppliers (5/5). Payments from US$2, CNY supplier payments capped at 0.4%, and a network built around China trade.

XTransfer full profile

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.