How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Provider profile · 2026 edition

HSBC UK review 2026: scores, fees and alternatives.

HSBC UK Bank plc is a bank, with eligible deposits protected by the FSCS up to £120,000.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 21 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
2.3 / 5Buckingham Intelligence score
2Awards 2026
1Index
19 of 26Rank, Global Trade Banking Index

Short answer.

HSBC UK scores 2.3 out of 5 (46 out of 100) in the Buckingham Intelligence Global Trade Banking Index 2026 and ranks 19 of 26. It is strongest for UK traders needing letters of credit and trade finance, with 5 out of 5 for financing and protection and standing. Not published or not stated on the pages read: FX margin and FX cost.

Awards and scores.

Scores from the Global Trade Banking Index 2026.

Global Trade Banking Index

2.3 / 546 out of 100 · rank 19 of 26
Top rated for financing 2026Top rated for protection and standing 2026
SegmentScore out of 100Rank
For importers4519 of 26
For exporters4220 of 26
For wholesalers and distributors5214 of 26

The score out of 5 is the overall score out of 100 divided by 20. Leader goes to the top three overall, Best for to the first in each segment, and Top rated for to a score of 5 out of 5 on a criterion. Awards cannot be bought.

Strengths and watch-outs.

Where it scores best, and where to check closely, as shown in each ranking.

Strongest for

UK traders needing letters of credit and trade finance.

  • Financing (5/5). The full documentary trade toolkit: letters of credit, collections, guarantees, buyer loans and receivables finance.
  • Protection and standing (5/5). A bank with FSCS protection, the strongest standing in the index.
Watch out for
  • Getting paid (2/5). A GBP account; foreign currency accounts carry an annual fee and incoming foreign payments cost £6.
  • Paying suppliers (2/5). £17 per international payment online, the highest published transfer fee in this edition.
  • FX cost (0/5). No margin published; conversion at the bank's quoted rate.
  • Access and onboarding (2/5). UK tax residents only, with fast opening for small businesses and a relationship manager above that.

Published facts.

What HSBC UK publishes on its own pages, read on 21 October 2026.

HSBC UK Bank plc is a bank, with eligible deposits protected by the FSCS up to £120,000. It is the only provider in this edition offering import and export letters of credit, collections, guarantees, buyer loans and receivables finance. It requires UK tax residency, charges £17 for an international payment online and £96 to £180 a year for a foreign currency account, and does not publish its FX margin.

FactWhat the provider publishes
Account feeSmall business account free; Business Banking Account £10 a month; foreign currency account £96 to £180 a year with a 5,000 minimum balance
FX marginNot published; converted at HSBC's quoted daily rate
ReceivingGBP sort code; Global Wallet receive like a local £5 a transaction; incoming foreign payments of £100 or more £6
Paying suppliersInternational payment online £17; SEPA 24p; by branch or phone up to £30
StablecoinsNot published
FinanceImport and export letters of credit, collections, guarantees, buyer loans, TradePay, receivables finance, overdrafts
Onboarding65% of small business accounts opened within 24 hours; UK tax residency required
ProtectionFSCS up to £120,000
Date read21 October 2026

Who can open an account, by country of registration

CountryPublished position
United KingdomYes
United StatesNo
MexicoNo
BrazilNo
ColombiaNo
Hong KongNo
ChinaNo
TürkiyeNo
UAENo
NigeriaNo
PakistanNo

Not published or not stated by HSBC UK

  • FX margin. Not published.
  • FX cost. No margin published.

A fact that is not published is scored as not offered or, for a fee, as if it were high. It is never estimated.

Facts read on 21 October 2026 from: business.hsbc.uk/-/media/media/uk/PDFs/…, business.hsbc.uk/en-gb/products/…, business.hsbc.uk/en-gb/products-and-solutions/…, business.hsbc.uk/en-gb/products/….

Criterion scores.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

  • Getting paid: 2/5. A GBP account; foreign currency accounts carry an annual fee and incoming foreign payments cost £6.
  • Paying suppliers: 2/5. £17 per international payment online, the highest published transfer fee in this edition.
  • FX cost: 0/5. No margin published; conversion at the bank's quoted rate.
  • Financing: 5/5. The full documentary trade toolkit: letters of credit, collections, guarantees, buyer loans and receivables finance.
  • Access and onboarding: 2/5. UK tax residents only, with fast opening for small businesses and a relationship manager above that.
  • Protection and standing: 5/5. A bank with FSCS protection, the strongest standing in the index.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Global Trade Banking Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

HSBC UK alternatives.

The other providers in the same ranking, ordered by score.

ProviderScore out of 5RankStrongest for
Wise Business3.81 of 26Transparent FX and receiving in 22 currencies
WorldFirst3.52 of 26Importers paying Asian suppliers, no account fees
Airwallex3.53 of 26Free local supplier payments to 120+ countries
Statrys3.14 of 26Hong Kong, Singapore and BVI companies trading with Asia
XTransfer3.15 of 26Trade with China and emerging-market collection
Aspire3.06 of 26Singapore, Hong Kong and US-nexus companies trading in Asia
Currenxie3.07 of 26Asian and Mexican traders collecting in nine currencies
Payoneer3.08 of 26Marketplace sellers and exporters in 190+ countries
Mercury2.89 of 26US-registered companies with founders abroad
Ebury2.810 of 26Mid-size traders needing supplier finance with their FX
Verto2.711 of 26African exporters collecting in NGN, KES and ZAR
3S Money2.712 of 26Non-resident companies from 190+ countries wanting UK and EU IBANs
Slash2.513 of 26Non-US wholesalers spending in dollars and receiving USDT
Revolut Business2.514 of 26UK, EEA and US companies wanting cards and FX allowances
Shield2.515 of 26Wholesalers in Latin America paid in USDT
OFX2.416 of 26FX-heavy traders wanting a dealer on the phone
Tazapay2.417 of 26Exporters collecting from buyers in 85+ markets
Wio Bank2.418 of 26UAE trade licence holders wanting a bank with lending
iBanFirst2.020 of 26EEA and UK companies exchanging €200,000 or more a year
Conduit1.921 of 26Companies in 100+ countries settling trade in stablecoins
Bitso Business1.822 of 26Latin American traders settling on Pix, SPEI and ACH
Flutterwave1.723 of 26African exporters receiving USD, GBP, EUR and AED
Equals Money1.724 of 26UK businesses wanting cards and 40 currencies in one account
Moneycorp1.725 of 26UK and Irish traders wanting dealer-led FX
Nium1.626 of 26Platforms and fintechs embedding payouts, not yet small traders

Full Global Trade Banking Index ranking

HSBC UK compared.

Side by side on every criterion, fact and award.

Head-to-head comparisons cover pairs within the top five of each ranking. HSBC UK is compared with its alternatives in the table above.

All comparisons

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.