How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Home › Buckingham Intelligence › Providers › Flutterwave
Provider profile · 2026 edition

Flutterwave review 2026: scores, fees and alternatives.

Flutterwave serves merchants in Nigeria, Ghana, Kenya, South Africa and other African markets, the UK and the US, where it is a FinCEN-registered MSB with licences in 34 states.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 21 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
1.7 / 5Buckingham Intelligence score
0Awards 2026
1Index
23 of 26Rank, Global Trade Banking Index

Short answer.

Flutterwave scores 1.7 out of 5 (34 out of 100) in the Buckingham Intelligence Global Trade Banking Index 2026 and ranks 23 of 26. It is strongest for african exporters receiving USD, GBP, EUR and AED, and its best criterion is getting paid at 3 out of 5. Not published or not stated on the pages read: FX margin, onboarding, protection, getting paid, FX cost and access and onboarding.

Awards and scores.

Scores from the Global Trade Banking Index 2026.

Global Trade Banking Index

1.7 / 534 out of 100 · rank 23 of 26

No award in the Global Trade Banking Index 2026.

SegmentScore out of 100Rank
For importers3125 of 26
For exporters3823 of 26
For wholesalers and distributors3422 of 26

The score out of 5 is the overall score out of 100 divided by 20. Leader goes to the top three overall, Best for to the first in each segment, and Top rated for to a score of 5 out of 5 on a criterion. Awards cannot be bought.

Strengths and watch-outs.

Where it scores best, and where to check closely, as shown in each ranking.

Strongest for

African exporters receiving USD, GBP, EUR and AED.

  • Getting paid (3/5). Four funding currencies with local or SWIFT routing not stated.
  • Access and onboarding (3/5). Serves Africa, the UK and the US; no onboarding time published.
Watch out for
  • Paying suppliers (2/5). Published payout fees of GBP 35, EUR 35 and USD 40 and a 4.8% international rate in Nigeria, the highest in this edition.
  • FX cost (1/5). No margin published.
  • Financing (0/5). None.
  • Protection and standing (1/5). Licensed in several countries but no statement on how client funds are protected.

Published facts.

What Flutterwave publishes on its own pages, read on 21 October 2026.

Flutterwave serves merchants in Nigeria, Ghana, Kenya, South Africa and other African markets, the UK and the US, where it is a FinCEN-registered MSB with licences in 34 states. Accounts are free with USD, GBP, EUR and AED funding account numbers and USDC, USDT and RLUSD balances. Nigerian pricing is 2% local and 4.8% international; it publishes no FX margin and no protection statement.

FactWhat the provider publishes
Account feeFree
FX marginNot published
ReceivingUSD, GBP, EUR and AED funding accounts
Paying suppliersUK GBP 35; SEPA EUR 35; US USD 40; Nigeria 2% local, 4.8% international
StablecoinsUSDC, USDT and RLUSD balances
FinanceNone
OnboardingAfrican markets, UK and US; time not published
ProtectionNo protection statement published
Date read21 October 2026

Who can open an account, by country of registration

CountryPublished position
United KingdomYes
United StatesYes
MexicoNot published
BrazilNot published
ColombiaNot published
Hong KongNot published
ChinaNot published
TürkiyeNot published
UAENot published
NigeriaYes
PakistanNot published

Not published or not stated by Flutterwave

  • FX margin. Not published.
  • Onboarding. Time not published.
  • Protection. No protection statement published.
  • Getting paid. Four funding currencies with local or SWIFT routing not stated.
  • FX cost. No margin published.
  • Access and onboarding. No onboarding time published.

A fact that is not published is scored as not offered or, for a fee, as if it were high. It is never estimated.

Facts read on 21 October 2026 from: flutterwave.com/ng/pricing, flutterwave.com/us, flutterwave.com/gb, flutterwave.com/ng, flutterwave.com/us/terms, flutterwave.com/ng/capital.

Criterion scores.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

  • Getting paid: 3/5. Four funding currencies with local or SWIFT routing not stated.
  • Paying suppliers: 2/5. Published payout fees of GBP 35, EUR 35 and USD 40 and a 4.8% international rate in Nigeria, the highest in this edition.
  • FX cost: 1/5. No margin published.
  • Financing: 0/5. None.
  • Access and onboarding: 3/5. Serves Africa, the UK and the US; no onboarding time published.
  • Protection and standing: 1/5. Licensed in several countries but no statement on how client funds are protected.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Global Trade Banking Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

Flutterwave alternatives.

The other providers in the same ranking, ordered by score.

ProviderScore out of 5RankStrongest for
Wise Business3.81 of 26Transparent FX and receiving in 22 currencies
WorldFirst3.52 of 26Importers paying Asian suppliers, no account fees
Airwallex3.53 of 26Free local supplier payments to 120+ countries
Statrys3.14 of 26Hong Kong, Singapore and BVI companies trading with Asia
XTransfer3.15 of 26Trade with China and emerging-market collection
Aspire3.06 of 26Singapore, Hong Kong and US-nexus companies trading in Asia
Currenxie3.07 of 26Asian and Mexican traders collecting in nine currencies
Payoneer3.08 of 26Marketplace sellers and exporters in 190+ countries
Mercury2.89 of 26US-registered companies with founders abroad
Ebury2.810 of 26Mid-size traders needing supplier finance with their FX
Verto2.711 of 26African exporters collecting in NGN, KES and ZAR
3S Money2.712 of 26Non-resident companies from 190+ countries wanting UK and EU IBANs
Slash2.513 of 26Non-US wholesalers spending in dollars and receiving USDT
Revolut Business2.514 of 26UK, EEA and US companies wanting cards and FX allowances
Shield2.515 of 26Wholesalers in Latin America paid in USDT
OFX2.416 of 26FX-heavy traders wanting a dealer on the phone
Tazapay2.417 of 26Exporters collecting from buyers in 85+ markets
Wio Bank2.418 of 26UAE trade licence holders wanting a bank with lending
HSBC UK2.319 of 26UK traders needing letters of credit and trade finance
iBanFirst2.020 of 26EEA and UK companies exchanging €200,000 or more a year
Conduit1.921 of 26Companies in 100+ countries settling trade in stablecoins
Bitso Business1.822 of 26Latin American traders settling on Pix, SPEI and ACH
Equals Money1.724 of 26UK businesses wanting cards and 40 currencies in one account
Moneycorp1.725 of 26UK and Irish traders wanting dealer-led FX
Nium1.626 of 26Platforms and fintechs embedding payouts, not yet small traders

Full Global Trade Banking Index ranking

Flutterwave compared.

Side by side on every criterion, fact and award.

Head-to-head comparisons cover pairs within the top five of each ranking. Flutterwave is compared with its alternatives in the table above.

All comparisons

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.