How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Provider profile · 2026 edition

Shield review 2026: scores, fees and alternatives.

Shield Security, Inc is a FinCEN-registered money services business, not a bank; money transmission is provided by Bridge Building Inc and other licensed providers, and cards by First Internet Bank of Indiana.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 21 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
2.5 / 5Buckingham Intelligence score
0Awards 2026
1Index
15 of 26Rank, Global Trade Banking Index

Short answer.

Shield scores 2.5 out of 5 (49 out of 100) in the Buckingham Intelligence Global Trade Banking Index 2026 and ranks 15 of 26. It is strongest for wholesalers in Latin America paid in USDT, and its best criterion is access and onboarding at 4 out of 5. Not published or not stated on the pages read: FX margin, paying suppliers, stablecoins, getting paid and FX cost.

Awards and scores.

Scores from the Global Trade Banking Index 2026.

Global Trade Banking Index

2.5 / 549 out of 100 · rank 15 of 26

No award in the Global Trade Banking Index 2026.

SegmentScore out of 100Rank
For importers4517 of 26
For exporters4914 of 26
For wholesalers and distributors5312 of 26

The score out of 5 is the overall score out of 100 divided by 20. Leader goes to the top three overall, Best for to the first in each segment, and Top rated for to a score of 5 out of 5 on a criterion. Awards cannot be bought.

Strengths and watch-outs.

Where it scores best, and where to check closely, as shown in each ranking.

Strongest for

Wholesalers in Latin America paid in USDT.

  • Access and onboarding (4/5). Serves 120+ countries with 24-hour onboarding and a phone line; a published prohibited and enhanced-due-diligence list.
Watch out for
  • Paying suppliers (2/5). USD and USDT payments to counterparties, settlement in minutes to hours, no published fee schedule.
  • FX cost (1/5). No percentage is published; pricing is contractual per client, which the method scores as unplanned cost.
  • Protection and standing (2/5). Not itself licensed in any state; relies on a partner's licences and a FinCEN registration, with $1 million of insurance that is not deposit insurance.

Published facts.

What Shield publishes on its own pages, read on 21 October 2026.

Shield Security, Inc is a FinCEN-registered money services business, not a bank; money transmission is provided by Bridge Building Inc and other licensed providers, and cards by First Internet Bank of Indiana. It opens US account details for businesses in 120+ countries within 24 hours, collects in BRL, COP, MXN, CAD, EUR and GBP, converts USDT to USD and issues credit cards with five- to seven-figure limits. Its transaction pricing is set per client and not published.

FactWhat the provider publishes
Account feeFree to open; transaction pricing by volume under a per-client contract
FX marginNot published; marketed as 0% spread with the rate shown before each conversion
ReceivingUS routing and account numbers; local collection in BRL, COP, MXN, CAD, EUR, GBP; USDT and USDC
Paying suppliersUSD and USDT to saved counterparties; fees not published
StablecoinsUSDT in, USD out; USDC listed; networks not published
FinancePay-in-full credit cards with five- to seven-figure limits, 1% cashback
OnboardingAccount numbers in 24 hours; no US address; Pakistan prohibited; Nigeria, China and Türkiye under enhanced due diligence
ProtectionFDIC-insured partner banks named only as partners; $1 million crime and cyber insurance (Lloyd's and AmTrust)
Date read21 October 2026

Who can open an account, by country of registration

CountryPublished position
United KingdomNot published
United StatesYes
MexicoYes
BrazilYes
ColombiaYes
Hong KongNot prohibited
ChinaEnhanced due diligence
TürkiyeEnhanced due diligence
UAENot prohibited
NigeriaEnhanced due diligence
PakistanProhibited

Not published or not stated by Shield

  • FX margin. Not published.
  • Paying suppliers. Fees not published.
  • Stablecoins. Networks not published.
  • Getting paid. USD details in the company name plus local collection in six currencies and USDT, with the collection mechanics and fees not published.
  • Paying suppliers. USD and USDT payments to counterparties, settlement in minutes to hours, no published fee schedule.
  • FX cost. No percentage is published.

A fact that is not published is scored as not offered or, for a fee, as if it were high. It is never estimated.

Facts read on 21 October 2026 from: shieldfinancial.com/en/compliance, shieldfinancial.com/en/bank-accounts, shieldfinancial.com/en/restricted-business, shieldfinancial.com/en/cards, shieldfinancial.com/en/terms.

Criterion scores.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

  • Getting paid: 3/5. USD details in the company name plus local collection in six currencies and USDT, with the collection mechanics and fees not published.
  • Paying suppliers: 2/5. USD and USDT payments to counterparties, settlement in minutes to hours, no published fee schedule.
  • FX cost: 1/5. No percentage is published; pricing is contractual per client, which the method scores as unplanned cost.
  • Financing: 3/5. Business credit cards with limits set on company revenue and no personal guarantee.
  • Access and onboarding: 4/5. Serves 120+ countries with 24-hour onboarding and a phone line; a published prohibited and enhanced-due-diligence list.
  • Protection and standing: 2/5. Not itself licensed in any state; relies on a partner's licences and a FinCEN registration, with $1 million of insurance that is not deposit insurance.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Global Trade Banking Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

Shield alternatives.

The other providers in the same ranking, ordered by score.

ProviderScore out of 5RankStrongest for
Wise Business3.81 of 26Transparent FX and receiving in 22 currencies
WorldFirst3.52 of 26Importers paying Asian suppliers, no account fees
Airwallex3.53 of 26Free local supplier payments to 120+ countries
Statrys3.14 of 26Hong Kong, Singapore and BVI companies trading with Asia
XTransfer3.15 of 26Trade with China and emerging-market collection
Aspire3.06 of 26Singapore, Hong Kong and US-nexus companies trading in Asia
Currenxie3.07 of 26Asian and Mexican traders collecting in nine currencies
Payoneer3.08 of 26Marketplace sellers and exporters in 190+ countries
Mercury2.89 of 26US-registered companies with founders abroad
Ebury2.810 of 26Mid-size traders needing supplier finance with their FX
Verto2.711 of 26African exporters collecting in NGN, KES and ZAR
3S Money2.712 of 26Non-resident companies from 190+ countries wanting UK and EU IBANs
Slash2.513 of 26Non-US wholesalers spending in dollars and receiving USDT
Revolut Business2.514 of 26UK, EEA and US companies wanting cards and FX allowances
OFX2.416 of 26FX-heavy traders wanting a dealer on the phone
Tazapay2.417 of 26Exporters collecting from buyers in 85+ markets
Wio Bank2.418 of 26UAE trade licence holders wanting a bank with lending
HSBC UK2.319 of 26UK traders needing letters of credit and trade finance
iBanFirst2.020 of 26EEA and UK companies exchanging €200,000 or more a year
Conduit1.921 of 26Companies in 100+ countries settling trade in stablecoins
Bitso Business1.822 of 26Latin American traders settling on Pix, SPEI and ACH
Flutterwave1.723 of 26African exporters receiving USD, GBP, EUR and AED
Equals Money1.724 of 26UK businesses wanting cards and 40 currencies in one account
Moneycorp1.725 of 26UK and Irish traders wanting dealer-led FX
Nium1.626 of 26Platforms and fintechs embedding payouts, not yet small traders

Full Global Trade Banking Index ranking

Shield compared.

Side by side on every criterion, fact and award.

Head-to-head comparisons cover pairs within the top five of each ranking. Shield is compared with its alternatives in the table above.

All comparisons

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.