How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Provider profile · 2026 edition

OFX review 2026: scores, fees and alternatives.

An Australian-founded global business account and FX provider.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 21 and 26 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
2.7 / 5Buckingham Intelligence score
0Awards 2026
2Indices
7 of 11Rank, Cross-border Payments and Remittance Index

Short answer.

OFX is ranked in 2 Buckingham Intelligence indices. Its highest score is 2.7 out of 5 (54 out of 100) in the Cross-border Payments and Remittance Index, where it ranks 7 of 11. It is strongest for small businesses wanting a published fee schedule and Xero connection, and its best criterion is published pricing at 4 out of 5. Not published or not stated on the pages read: payment speed, collection accounts, published pricing and integration.

Also ranked in: Global Trade Banking Index (2.4 out of 5, rank 16 of 26).

Awards and scores.

Scores from the Cross-border Payments and Remittance Index and Global Trade Banking Index 2026.

Cross-border Payments and Remittance Index

2.7 / 554 out of 100 · rank 7 of 11

No award in the Cross-border Payments and Remittance Index 2026.

SegmentScore out of 100Rank
For SMEs and exporters557 of 11
For payment and e-money firms529 of 11
For marketplaces and platforms557 of 11

Global Trade Banking Index

2.4 / 548 out of 100 · rank 16 of 26

No award in the Global Trade Banking Index 2026.

SegmentScore out of 100Rank
For importers4914 of 26
For exporters4716 of 26
For wholesalers and distributors4718 of 26

The score out of 5 is the overall score out of 100 divided by 20. Leader goes to the top three overall, Best for to the first in each segment, and Top rated for to a score of 5 out of 5 on a criterion. Awards cannot be bought.

Strengths and watch-outs.

Where it scores best, and where to check closely, as shown in each ranking.

Cross-border Payments and Remittance Index

Strongest for

Small businesses wanting a published fee schedule and Xero connection.

  • Published pricing (4/5). Exact payment fees and automatic conversion margin in a fee schedule; margin on payment conversions not stated.
Watch out for
  • Payment speed (2/5). "Instant" payments stated without delivery times.
  • Collection accounts (2/5). Holding in 30+ currencies without a count of local account details.
  • Regulatory standing (2/5). One regulator and licence number published on the pages read.

Global Trade Banking Index

Strongest for

FX-heavy traders wanting a dealer on the phone.

  • Paying suppliers (4/5). A flat £5 SWIFT fee to 180+ countries and free local payments.
  • Protection and standing (4/5). FCA e-money institution within a listed group with published audited accounts.
Watch out for
  • FX cost (1/5). No margin is published; rates are quoted per client by volume.
  • Financing (1/5). Hedging tools and a card; no lending.
  • Access and onboarding (2/5). Accepted countries of registration are not published and every account begins with a phone call.

Published facts.

What OFX publishes on its own pages, read on 21 and 26 October 2026.

Cross-border Payments and Remittance Index

An Australian-founded global business account and FX provider. It publishes a fee schedule with exact payment fees and an automatic conversion margin, batch payments and a Xero connection. The fee schedule read is for US clients, the margin on payment conversions is not stated, and only its UK licence number is shown on the pages read.

FactWhat the provider publishes
Payment reach"Instantly pay suppliers in 30+ currencies and 180+ countries."
PricingUS fee schedule (USForex Inc., effective 1 October 2026): Swift wire $20.00 per payment; FedWire $5.00; receiving by wire or Swift $5.00; ACH 20 a month included then $0.50; automatic conversion margin 1.50%. Currency conversion margin on payments: "included in the exchange rate quoted to you".
Payment speed"Instantly pay suppliers" stated; no delivery times or shares published.
Collection accounts"One account to hold funds in 30+ currencies. Receive and make payments like a local." No count of local account details published.
IntegrationBatch payments with bulk approval, multi-layer approval workflows, "auto-connects to Xero", free online sign-up.
Regulatory standing"We are authorised by the Financial Conduct Authority as an Electronic Money Institution (Firm Ref. No. 902028)."
Date read26 October 2026

Not published or not stated by OFX

  • Payment speed. No delivery times or shares published.
  • Collection accounts. No count of local account details published.
  • Published pricing. Margin on payment conversions not stated.
  • Integration. No API published on the pages read.

A fact that is not published is scored as not offered or, for a fee, as if it were high. It is never estimated.

Facts read on 26 October 2026 from: ofx.com/en-gb/business, ofx.com/en-us/legal/fee-schedule/01-04-2026.

Global Trade Banking Index

UKForex Limited, trading as OFX, is an FCA-authorised e-money institution (902028) in a group listed on the Australian stock exchange. It receives, holds and pays in 30+ currencies, charges £5 for SWIFT payments and nothing for local ones, and offers 24-hour phone support with dealers for forwards and limit orders. It does not publish its FX margin or its accepted countries.

FactWhat the provider publishes
Account feeStandard £0; Full Suite £75 a month for five users
FX marginNot published; volume-based pricing
ReceivingLocal details in GBP, EUR, USD and CAD; domestic receipts free; SWIFT in £5, waived from May 2026
Paying suppliersSWIFT £5; CHAPS £5; Faster Payments included then £0.20; 180+ countries
StablecoinsNot published
FinanceForwards and limit orders; corporate card with 0.5% cashback; no credit
OnboardingOnline registration then a set-up call; a few business days
ProtectionSafeguarded e-money; no FSCS
Date read21 October 2026

Who can open an account, by country of registration

CountryPublished position
United KingdomYes
United StatesNot published
MexicoNot published
BrazilNot published
ColombiaNot published
Hong KongNot published
ChinaNot published
TürkiyeNot published
UAENot published
NigeriaNot published
PakistanNot published

Not published or not stated by OFX

  • FX margin. Not published.
  • FX cost. No margin is published.
  • Access and onboarding. Accepted countries of registration are not published and every account begins with a phone call.

A fact that is not published is scored as not offered or, for a fee, as if it were high. It is never estimated.

Facts read on 21 October 2026 from: ofx.com/en-gb/business/pricing, ofx.com/en-gb/legal, ofx.com/en-gb/business/multi-currency-account.

Criterion scores.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

Cross-border Payments and Remittance Index

  • Payment reach: 3/5. 180+ countries and 30+ currencies published.
  • Published pricing: 4/5. Exact payment fees and automatic conversion margin in a fee schedule; margin on payment conversions not stated.
  • Payment speed: 2/5. "Instant" payments stated without delivery times.
  • Collection accounts: 2/5. Holding in 30+ currencies without a count of local account details.
  • Integration: 3/5. Batch payments, Xero connection and self-serve sign-up; no API published on the pages read.
  • Regulatory standing: 2/5. One regulator and licence number published on the pages read.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Cross-border Payments and Remittance Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

Global Trade Banking Index

  • Getting paid: 3/5. Local details in four currencies and free domestic receipts.
  • Paying suppliers: 4/5. A flat £5 SWIFT fee to 180+ countries and free local payments.
  • FX cost: 1/5. No margin is published; rates are quoted per client by volume.
  • Financing: 1/5. Hedging tools and a card; no lending.
  • Access and onboarding: 2/5. Accepted countries of registration are not published and every account begins with a phone call.
  • Protection and standing: 4/5. FCA e-money institution within a listed group with published audited accounts.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Global Trade Banking Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

OFX alternatives.

The other providers in the same ranking, ordered by score.

In the Cross-border Payments and Remittance Index

ProviderScore out of 5RankStrongest for
WorldFirst4.71 of 11Exporters and online sellers paying suppliers in Asia, especially China
Airwallex4.72 of 11Businesses and platforms wanting exact FX margins, wide reach and many licences
Wise Business4.23 of 11Small businesses wanting fast payments and a full public API
Payoneer3.54 of 11Online sellers and service firms collecting from marketplaces and clients abroad
Nium3.25 of 11Payment firms and platforms building payouts through an API
Currenxie3.16 of 11Asia-facing businesses wanting a fully priced account
Ebury2.58 of 11Mid-sized importers and exporters wanting payments with currency hedging
Convera2.49 of 11Larger businesses, universities and credit unions paying in exotic currencies
Thunes1.910 of 11Banks, remittance firms and wallets paying out to mobile wallets and accounts
Corpay Cross-Border1.611 of 11Mid-sized and large firms paying in many countries with hedging support

Full Cross-border Payments and Remittance Index ranking

In the Global Trade Banking Index

ProviderScore out of 5RankStrongest for
Wise Business3.81 of 26Transparent FX and receiving in 22 currencies
WorldFirst3.52 of 26Importers paying Asian suppliers, no account fees
Airwallex3.53 of 26Free local supplier payments to 120+ countries
Statrys3.14 of 26Hong Kong, Singapore and BVI companies trading with Asia
XTransfer3.15 of 26Trade with China and emerging-market collection
Aspire3.06 of 26Singapore, Hong Kong and US-nexus companies trading in Asia
Currenxie3.07 of 26Asian and Mexican traders collecting in nine currencies
Payoneer3.08 of 26Marketplace sellers and exporters in 190+ countries
Mercury2.89 of 26US-registered companies with founders abroad
Ebury2.810 of 26Mid-size traders needing supplier finance with their FX
Verto2.711 of 26African exporters collecting in NGN, KES and ZAR
3S Money2.712 of 26Non-resident companies from 190+ countries wanting UK and EU IBANs
Slash2.513 of 26Non-US wholesalers spending in dollars and receiving USDT
Revolut Business2.514 of 26UK, EEA and US companies wanting cards and FX allowances
Shield2.515 of 26Wholesalers in Latin America paid in USDT
Tazapay2.417 of 26Exporters collecting from buyers in 85+ markets
Wio Bank2.418 of 26UAE trade licence holders wanting a bank with lending
HSBC UK2.319 of 26UK traders needing letters of credit and trade finance
iBanFirst2.020 of 26EEA and UK companies exchanging €200,000 or more a year
Conduit1.921 of 26Companies in 100+ countries settling trade in stablecoins
Bitso Business1.822 of 26Latin American traders settling on Pix, SPEI and ACH
Flutterwave1.723 of 26African exporters receiving USD, GBP, EUR and AED
Equals Money1.724 of 26UK businesses wanting cards and 40 currencies in one account
Moneycorp1.725 of 26UK and Irish traders wanting dealer-led FX
Nium1.626 of 26Platforms and fintechs embedding payouts, not yet small traders

Full Global Trade Banking Index ranking

OFX compared.

Side by side on every criterion, fact and award.

Head-to-head comparisons cover pairs within the top five of each ranking. OFX is compared with its alternatives in the table above.

All comparisons

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.