How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Home › Buckingham Intelligence › Providers › Currenxie
Provider profile · 2026 edition

Currenxie review 2026: scores, fees and alternatives.

A Hong Kong-founded business account for collecting, converting and paying in many currencies.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 21 and 26 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
3.1 / 5Buckingham Intelligence score
2Awards 2026
2Indices
6 of 11Rank, Cross-border Payments and Remittance Index

Short answer.

Currenxie is ranked in 2 Buckingham Intelligence indices. Its highest score is 3.1 out of 5 (62 out of 100) in the Cross-border Payments and Remittance Index, where it ranks 6 of 11. It is strongest for asia-facing businesses wanting a fully priced account, with 5 out of 5 for published pricing and regulatory standing. Not published or not stated on the pages read: payment speed.

Also ranked in: Global Trade Banking Index (3.0 out of 5, rank 7 of 26).

Awards and scores.

Scores from the Cross-border Payments and Remittance Index and Global Trade Banking Index 2026.

Cross-border Payments and Remittance Index

3.1 / 562 out of 100 · rank 6 of 11
Top rated for published pricing 2026Top rated for regulatory standing 2026
SegmentScore out of 100Rank
For SMEs and exporters675 of 11
For payment and e-money firms606 of 11
For marketplaces and platforms596 of 11

Global Trade Banking Index

3.0 / 560 out of 100 · rank 7 of 26

No award in the Global Trade Banking Index 2026.

SegmentScore out of 100Rank
For importers597 of 26
For exporters675 of 26
For wholesalers and distributors559 of 26

The score out of 5 is the overall score out of 100 divided by 20. Leader goes to the top three overall, Best for to the first in each segment, and Top rated for to a score of 5 out of 5 on a criterion. Awards cannot be bought.

Strengths and watch-outs.

Where it scores best, and where to check closely, as shown in each ranking.

Cross-border Payments and Remittance Index

Strongest for

Asia-facing businesses wanting a fully priced account.

  • Published pricing (5/5). Exact fees for every payment type and FX margins by currency tier published.
  • Regulatory standing (5/5). Licences in five regions published with regulator and licence or register numbers.
Watch out for
  • Payment reach (2/5). Swift to 120+ countries and 15 held currencies published.
  • Payment speed (1/5). Only collected funds stated as instantly available; no delivery times for payments.

Global Trade Banking Index

Strongest for

Asian and Mexican traders collecting in nine currencies.

  • Getting paid (4/5). Nine local collection currencies including CNH and MXN.
  • FX cost (4/5). A published 0.35% on majors with a 0.10% USD to HKD rate.
  • Protection and standing (4/5). Four licences across Hong Kong, the UK, Ireland and Mexico.
Watch out for
  • Financing (0/5). None.

Published facts.

What Currenxie publishes on its own pages, read on 21 and 26 October 2026.

Cross-border Payments and Remittance Index

A Hong Kong-founded business account for collecting, converting and paying in many currencies. It publishes the most complete price list in this edition, with exact fees per payment type and FX margins by currency tier, and licences with numbers in five regions. Its reach is narrower and it does not publish delivery times.

FactWhat the provider publishes
Payment reachSwift payments "to and from over 120 countries worldwide"; Global Account holds USD, EUR, HKD, GBP, JPY, CAD, AUD, NZD, RMB (CNH), SGD, CHF, NOK, SEK, ZAR and MXN.
PricingGlobal Account: "Free". Each additional virtual account: USD 8.00. Collect local payments: "USD 0.75 per transfer"; send local payments: "USD 3.00 per transfer"; Swift: "USD 8.00 per transfer". FX: Tier 1 major currencies 0.35%, Tier 2 0.40%, Tier 3 0.50%, Tier 4 0.60%, USD/HKD 0.10%.
Payment speedCollected funds "are instantly available in your Global Account". No delivery times for outgoing payments published.
Collection accountsVirtual accounts to "collect payments like a local" in the USA, UK, EU, Hong Kong, Australia, Japan, Canada and Mexico.
Integration"Platform API" for mass payments, collections and card issuing; multi-user team access; online application.
Regulatory standingHelp centre: Currenxie Limited, HK Customs and Excise MSO licence 14-05-01424; Currenxie UK Limited, FCA EMI registration number 901010; Currenxie SA Pty Limited, FSP Number 48691; Currenxie Australia Pty Ltd, registered with AUSTRAC; Canadian MSB registration M20910536. News page: EMI authorisation from the Central Bank of Ireland.
Date read26 October 2026

Not published or not stated by Currenxie

  • Payment speed. No delivery times for outgoing payments published.

A fact that is not published is scored as not offered or, for a fee, as if it were high. It is never estimated.

Facts read on 26 October 2026 from: currenxie.com, currenxie.com/pricing, help.currenxie.com/hc/en-gb/articles/…, currenxie.com/company/articles-and-guides/….

Global Trade Banking Index

Currenxie is licensed in Hong Kong, the UK (EMI 901010), Ireland and Mexico. Accounts are free, local collection details cover USD, GBP, EUR, HKD, CNH, AUD, CAD, JPY and MXN, and FX is published at the mid-market rate plus 0.35% on major currencies, 0.10% on USD to HKD and up to 0.60% on MXN. It accepts most countries except a published list of 81 and cannot onboard US-registered companies.

FactWhat the provider publishes
Account feeFree; USD 8 for each extra virtual account
FX marginMid-market plus 0.35% on majors, 0.10% USD to HKD, up to 0.60% on MXN
ReceivingLocal collection in USD, GBP, EUR, HKD, CNH, AUD, CAD, JPY, MXN
Paying suppliersPublished per rail
StablecoinsNot published
FinanceNone
OnboardingMost countries except 81 listed; no US-registered companies
ProtectionLicensed non-bank; safeguarding by entity
Date read21 October 2026

Who can open an account, by country of registration

CountryPublished position
United KingdomYes
United StatesNo
MexicoYes
BrazilYes
ColombiaYes
Hong KongYes
ChinaYes
TürkiyeYes
UAEYes
NigeriaProhibited
PakistanProhibited

Not published or not stated by Currenxie

  • Stablecoins. Not published.

A fact that is not published is scored as not offered or, for a fee, as if it were high. It is never estimated.

Facts read on 21 October 2026 from: currenxie.com/pricing, currenxie.com/network, currenxie.com/products/global-account, currenxie.com/company/about-us, currenxie.com/legal/…, currenxie.com/uk/legal/….

Criterion scores.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

Cross-border Payments and Remittance Index

  • Payment reach: 2/5. Swift to 120+ countries and 15 held currencies published.
  • Published pricing: 5/5. Exact fees for every payment type and FX margins by currency tier published.
  • Payment speed: 1/5. Only collected funds stated as instantly available; no delivery times for payments.
  • Collection accounts: 3/5. Local collection accounts in eight named markets.
  • Integration: 3/5. Platform API and multi-user access; no test environment, batch file or accounting connections on the pages read.
  • Regulatory standing: 5/5. Licences in five regions published with regulator and licence or register numbers.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Cross-border Payments and Remittance Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

Global Trade Banking Index

  • Getting paid: 4/5. Nine local collection currencies including CNH and MXN.
  • Paying suppliers: 3/5. Fees published per rail.
  • FX cost: 4/5. A published 0.35% on majors with a 0.10% USD to HKD rate.
  • Financing: 0/5. None.
  • Access and onboarding: 3/5. A published prohibited list of 81 countries including Nigeria and Pakistan; US companies not accepted.
  • Protection and standing: 4/5. Four licences across Hong Kong, the UK, Ireland and Mexico.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Global Trade Banking Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

Currenxie alternatives.

The other providers in the same ranking, ordered by score.

In the Cross-border Payments and Remittance Index

ProviderScore out of 5RankStrongest for
WorldFirst4.71 of 11Exporters and online sellers paying suppliers in Asia, especially China
Airwallex4.72 of 11Businesses and platforms wanting exact FX margins, wide reach and many licences
Wise Business4.23 of 11Small businesses wanting fast payments and a full public API
Payoneer3.54 of 11Online sellers and service firms collecting from marketplaces and clients abroad
Nium3.25 of 11Payment firms and platforms building payouts through an API
OFX2.77 of 11Small businesses wanting a published fee schedule and Xero connection
Ebury2.58 of 11Mid-sized importers and exporters wanting payments with currency hedging
Convera2.49 of 11Larger businesses, universities and credit unions paying in exotic currencies
Thunes1.910 of 11Banks, remittance firms and wallets paying out to mobile wallets and accounts
Corpay Cross-Border1.611 of 11Mid-sized and large firms paying in many countries with hedging support

Full Cross-border Payments and Remittance Index ranking

In the Global Trade Banking Index

ProviderScore out of 5RankStrongest for
Wise Business3.81 of 26Transparent FX and receiving in 22 currencies
WorldFirst3.52 of 26Importers paying Asian suppliers, no account fees
Airwallex3.53 of 26Free local supplier payments to 120+ countries
Statrys3.14 of 26Hong Kong, Singapore and BVI companies trading with Asia
XTransfer3.15 of 26Trade with China and emerging-market collection
Aspire3.06 of 26Singapore, Hong Kong and US-nexus companies trading in Asia
Payoneer3.08 of 26Marketplace sellers and exporters in 190+ countries
Mercury2.89 of 26US-registered companies with founders abroad
Ebury2.810 of 26Mid-size traders needing supplier finance with their FX
Verto2.711 of 26African exporters collecting in NGN, KES and ZAR
3S Money2.712 of 26Non-resident companies from 190+ countries wanting UK and EU IBANs
Slash2.513 of 26Non-US wholesalers spending in dollars and receiving USDT
Revolut Business2.514 of 26UK, EEA and US companies wanting cards and FX allowances
Shield2.515 of 26Wholesalers in Latin America paid in USDT
OFX2.416 of 26FX-heavy traders wanting a dealer on the phone
Tazapay2.417 of 26Exporters collecting from buyers in 85+ markets
Wio Bank2.418 of 26UAE trade licence holders wanting a bank with lending
HSBC UK2.319 of 26UK traders needing letters of credit and trade finance
iBanFirst2.020 of 26EEA and UK companies exchanging €200,000 or more a year
Conduit1.921 of 26Companies in 100+ countries settling trade in stablecoins
Bitso Business1.822 of 26Latin American traders settling on Pix, SPEI and ACH
Flutterwave1.723 of 26African exporters receiving USD, GBP, EUR and AED
Equals Money1.724 of 26UK businesses wanting cards and 40 currencies in one account
Moneycorp1.725 of 26UK and Irish traders wanting dealer-led FX
Nium1.626 of 26Platforms and fintechs embedding payouts, not yet small traders

Full Global Trade Banking Index ranking

Currenxie compared.

Side by side on every criterion, fact and award.

Head-to-head comparisons cover pairs within the top five of each ranking. Currenxie is compared with its alternatives in the table above.

All comparisons

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.