How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Home › Buckingham Intelligence › Providers › iBanFirst
Provider profile · 2026 edition

iBanFirst review 2026: scores, fees and alternatives.

iBanFirst is a Belgian payment institution with an FCA e-money authorisation (1001629) for the UK. It holds 25 currencies on named IBANs, including MXN, CNY, HKD, TRY and AED, with local IBANs in eight European countries.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 21 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
2.0 / 5Buckingham Intelligence score
0Awards 2026
1Index
20 of 26Rank, Global Trade Banking Index

Short answer.

iBanFirst scores 2.0 out of 5 (40 out of 100) in the Buckingham Intelligence Global Trade Banking Index 2026 and ranks 20 of 26. It is strongest for EEA and UK companies exchanging €200,000 or more a year, and its best criterion is getting paid at 4 out of 5. Not published or not stated on the pages read: FX margin, paying suppliers and FX cost.

Awards and scores.

Scores from the Global Trade Banking Index 2026.

Global Trade Banking Index

2.0 / 540 out of 100 · rank 20 of 26

No award in the Global Trade Banking Index 2026.

SegmentScore out of 100Rank
For importers3520 of 26
For exporters4718 of 26
For wholesalers and distributors3721 of 26

The score out of 5 is the overall score out of 100 divided by 20. Leader goes to the top three overall, Best for to the first in each segment, and Top rated for to a score of 5 out of 5 on a criterion. Awards cannot be bought.

Strengths and watch-outs.

Where it scores best, and where to check closely, as shown in each ranking.

Strongest for

EEA and UK companies exchanging €200,000 or more a year.

  • Getting paid (4/5). Named IBANs in 25 currencies and local IBANs across eight European countries; US collection only for South African clients.
  • Protection and standing (4/5). Licensed in Belgium and the UK.
Watch out for
  • Paying suppliers (2/5). Payment fees are not published.
  • FX cost (1/5). No margin published.
  • Financing (0/5). None.
  • Access and onboarding (2/5). EEA and UK companies only, with a €200,000 annual FX minimum to avoid fees.

Published facts.

What iBanFirst publishes on its own pages, read on 21 October 2026.

iBanFirst is a Belgian payment institution with an FCA e-money authorisation (1001629) for the UK. It holds 25 currencies on named IBANs, including MXN, CNY, HKD, TRY and AED, with local IBANs in eight European countries. Opening and maintenance are free for businesses exchanging €200,000 or more a year; the FX spread is set at account opening and not published.

FactWhat the provider publishes
Account feeFree; 0.2% on inflows if FX is under €200,000 a year
FX marginNot published; set when the account opens
ReceivingNamed IBANs in 25 currencies; local IBANs in UK, BE, FR, DE, LU, IT, ES, NL
Paying suppliersFees not published; BRL, COP, NGN and PKR send-only
StablecoinsNot published
FinanceNone published
OnboardingNot published
ProtectionSafeguarded; no deposit scheme
Date read21 October 2026

Who can open an account, by country of registration

CountryPublished position
United KingdomYes
United StatesNo
MexicoNo
BrazilNo
ColombiaNo
Hong KongNo
ChinaNo
TürkiyeNo
UAENo
NigeriaNo
PakistanNo

Not published or not stated by iBanFirst

  • FX margin. Not published.
  • Paying suppliers. Fees not published.
  • Paying suppliers. Payment fees are not published.
  • FX cost. No margin published.

A fact that is not published is scored as not offered or, for a fee, as if it were high. It is never estimated.

Facts read on 21 October 2026 from: ibanfirst.com/fees, info.ibanfirst.com/hubfs/Fees/…, ibanfirst.com/legal, ibanfirst.com/faq, ibanfirst.com/platform/…, ibanfirst.com/solutions/….

Criterion scores.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

  • Getting paid: 4/5. Named IBANs in 25 currencies and local IBANs across eight European countries; US collection only for South African clients.
  • Paying suppliers: 2/5. Payment fees are not published.
  • FX cost: 1/5. No margin published.
  • Financing: 0/5. None.
  • Access and onboarding: 2/5. EEA and UK companies only, with a €200,000 annual FX minimum to avoid fees.
  • Protection and standing: 4/5. Licensed in Belgium and the UK.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Global Trade Banking Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

iBanFirst alternatives.

The other providers in the same ranking, ordered by score.

ProviderScore out of 5RankStrongest for
Wise Business3.81 of 26Transparent FX and receiving in 22 currencies
WorldFirst3.52 of 26Importers paying Asian suppliers, no account fees
Airwallex3.53 of 26Free local supplier payments to 120+ countries
Statrys3.14 of 26Hong Kong, Singapore and BVI companies trading with Asia
XTransfer3.15 of 26Trade with China and emerging-market collection
Aspire3.06 of 26Singapore, Hong Kong and US-nexus companies trading in Asia
Currenxie3.07 of 26Asian and Mexican traders collecting in nine currencies
Payoneer3.08 of 26Marketplace sellers and exporters in 190+ countries
Mercury2.89 of 26US-registered companies with founders abroad
Ebury2.810 of 26Mid-size traders needing supplier finance with their FX
Verto2.711 of 26African exporters collecting in NGN, KES and ZAR
3S Money2.712 of 26Non-resident companies from 190+ countries wanting UK and EU IBANs
Slash2.513 of 26Non-US wholesalers spending in dollars and receiving USDT
Revolut Business2.514 of 26UK, EEA and US companies wanting cards and FX allowances
Shield2.515 of 26Wholesalers in Latin America paid in USDT
OFX2.416 of 26FX-heavy traders wanting a dealer on the phone
Tazapay2.417 of 26Exporters collecting from buyers in 85+ markets
Wio Bank2.418 of 26UAE trade licence holders wanting a bank with lending
HSBC UK2.319 of 26UK traders needing letters of credit and trade finance
Conduit1.921 of 26Companies in 100+ countries settling trade in stablecoins
Bitso Business1.822 of 26Latin American traders settling on Pix, SPEI and ACH
Flutterwave1.723 of 26African exporters receiving USD, GBP, EUR and AED
Equals Money1.724 of 26UK businesses wanting cards and 40 currencies in one account
Moneycorp1.725 of 26UK and Irish traders wanting dealer-led FX
Nium1.626 of 26Platforms and fintechs embedding payouts, not yet small traders

Full Global Trade Banking Index ranking

iBanFirst compared.

Side by side on every criterion, fact and award.

Head-to-head comparisons cover pairs within the top five of each ranking. iBanFirst is compared with its alternatives in the table above.

All comparisons

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.