How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Provider profile · 2026 edition

Trustly review 2026: scores, pricing and alternatives.

A Swedish pay by bank provider with its own open banking connections in Europe, the UK and North America.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 26 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
3.3 / 5Buckingham Intelligence score
2Awards 2026
1Index
4 of 12Rank, Open Banking and Account-to-Account Payments Index

Short answer.

Trustly scores 3.3 out of 5 (66 out of 100) in the Buckingham Intelligence Open Banking and Account-to-Account Payments Index 2026 and ranks 4 of 12. It is strongest for merchants in gaming, travel and subscriptions wanting pay by bank across Europe and the US, with 5 out of 5 for bank coverage and regulatory standing. Not published or not stated on the pages read: product range, pricing and integration.

Awards and scores.

Scores from the Open Banking and Account-to-Account Payments Index 2026.

Open Banking and Account-to-Account Payments Index

3.3 / 566 out of 100 · rank 4 of 12
Top rated for bank coverage 2026Top rated for regulatory standing 2026
SegmentScore out of 100Rank
For payment and e-money firms734 of 12
For lenders and fintech apps645 of 12
For merchants and platforms625 of 12

The score out of 5 is the overall score out of 100 divided by 20. Leader goes to the top three overall, Best for to the first in each segment, and Top rated for to a score of 5 out of 5 on a criterion. Awards cannot be bought.

Strengths and watch-outs.

Where it scores best, and where to check closely, as shown in each ranking.

Strongest for

Merchants in gaming, travel and subscriptions wanting pay by bank across Europe and the US.

  • Bank coverage (5/5). 12,000+ banks across 30+ countries published.
  • Regulatory standing (5/5). Swedish and UK licences published, with an FCA number and Swedish corporate identity number.
Watch out for
  • Published pricing (0/5). Not published on the pages read.
  • Security certifications (0/5). Not published on the pages read.

Published facts.

What Trustly publishes on its own pages, read on 26 October 2026.

A Swedish pay by bank provider with its own open banking connections in Europe, the UK and North America. It publishes 12,000+ banks in 30+ countries, payments, payouts and data products, SDKs for apps and web, and Swedish and UK licences. It does not publish prices or security certifications on the pages read.

FactWhat the provider publishes
Bank coverage"connects you to 12,000+ banks worldwide with just one API"; "110M+ users across 30+ countries".
Product rangeTrustly Pay, Trustly Payouts ("Secure payouts in seconds"), Trustly Connect, Trustly ID and Trustly Insights; Subscription and Bill Pay solution. VRP not named on the pages read.
PricingNot published on the pages read.
Regulatory standingTrustly Group AB (corporate identity number 556754-8655) "is an authorized Swedish payment institution under the supervision of the Swedish Financial Supervisory Authority"; Trustly UK Limited, FCA Firm Reference Number 1005703.
IntegrationOne API with documentation; "SDK Reference Android, iOS, React Native, Web"; merchant portal.
Security certificationsNot published on the pages read.
Date read26 October 2026

Not published or not stated by Trustly

  • Product range. VRP not named on the pages read.
  • Pricing. Not published on the pages read.
  • Integration. Sandbox and self-serve sign-up not confirmed on the pages read.

A fact that is not published is scored as not offered or, for a fee, as if it were high. It is never estimated.

Facts read on 26 October 2026 from: trustly.com, trustly.com/legal-hub.

Criterion scores.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

  • Bank coverage: 5/5. 12,000+ banks across 30+ countries published.
  • Product range: 4/5. Payments, payouts and account data published; VRP not named.
  • Published pricing: 0/5. Not published on the pages read.
  • Regulatory standing: 5/5. Swedish and UK licences published, with an FCA number and Swedish corporate identity number.
  • Integration: 4/5. API, SDKs and documentation; sandbox and self-serve sign-up not confirmed on the pages read.
  • Security certifications: 0/5. Not published on the pages read.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Open Banking and Account-to-Account Payments Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

Trustly alternatives.

The other providers in the same ranking, ordered by score.

ProviderScore out of 5RankStrongest for
Plaid3.91 of 12Fintechs and lenders needing wide bank coverage with UK and EU licences
Tink3.82 of 12Banks, lenders and payment firms across Europe wanting licences in three regions
Yapily3.53 of 12Payment firms and software platforms needing UK and EU coverage including business accounts
Salt Edge3.35 of 12Lenders and payment firms needing data from many countries
GoCardless3.06 of 12UK businesses collecting recurring payments by direct debit and pay by bank
Volt2.87 of 12Merchants and payment firms taking and returning instant bank payments in Europe, the UK and Australia
Finverse2.78 of 12Businesses in Hong Kong and Southeast Asia collecting recurring bank payments
Basiq2.59 of 12Australian lenders and fintech apps using Consumer Data Right data
TrueLayer2.110 of 12UK and European merchants wanting pay by bank, recurring payments and instant payouts
Token.io1.911 of 12Banks, acquirers and gateways adding pay by bank to their own offer
Brankas1.812 of 12Banks and fintechs in Southeast Asia building payment and data products

Full Open Banking and Account-to-Account Payments Index ranking

Trustly compared.

Side by side on every criterion, fact and award.

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.