WhatsApp and Telegram +44 7563 115980
[email protected]

A US-founded open banking platform for account data and bank payments.
Plaid scores 3.9 out of 5 (78 out of 100) in the Buckingham Intelligence Open Banking and Account-to-Account Payments Index 2026 and ranks 1 of 12. It is strongest for fintechs and lenders needing wide bank coverage with UK and EU licences, with 5 out of 5 for bank coverage, product range and regulatory standing. Not published or not stated on the pages read: pricing, security certifications and integration.
Scores from the Open Banking and Account-to-Account Payments Index 2026.
| Segment | Score out of 100 | Rank |
|---|---|---|
| For payment and e-money firms | 85 | 1 of 12 |
| For lenders and fintech apps | 79 | 1 of 12 |
| For merchants and platforms | 70 | 1 of 12 |
The score out of 5 is the overall score out of 100 divided by 20. Leader goes to the top three overall, Best for to the first in each segment, and Top rated for to a score of 5 out of 5 on a criterion. Awards cannot be bought.
Where it scores best, and where to check closely, as shown in each ranking.
Fintechs and lenders needing wide bank coverage with UK and EU licences.
What Plaid publishes on its own pages, read on 26 October 2026.
A US-founded open banking platform for account data and bank payments. Its UK and EU pages publish the widest bank coverage in this edition, all four product types, UK and Dutch licences with numbers and several security certifications. Prices are not published, and the SOC 2 report type is not stated.
| Fact | What the provider publishes |
|---|---|
| Bank coverage | "Access 12,000+ financial institutions and both personal and business accounts across 20 countries." |
| Product range | Products listed: Pay by Bank, Variable Recurring Payments, Payouts ("Seamless payouts within your app"), Transactions, Balance, Income and Identity Verification. |
| Pricing | US and Canada pricing page lists Pay as You Go, Growth and Custom plans with products "Included" or "Contact for pricing"; no prices published. |
| Regulatory standing | Plaid Financial Limited "authorised and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) under firm reference number 804718"; Plaid B.V. "authorised and supervised by De Nederlandsche Bank (DNB) under registration number R179714". |
| Integration | "Start testing in sandbox for free"; Plaid Link bank connection screen; pay-as-you-go plan by request; unlimited live API calls. |
| Security certifications | "Plaid is certified as ISO 27001 compliant", "ISO 27701 compliant" and "SSAE18 SOC 2 compliant" (report type not stated). |
| Date read | 26 October 2026 |
A fact that is not published is scored as not offered or, for a fee, as if it were high. It is never estimated.
Facts read on 26 October 2026 from: plaid.com/en-gb, plaid.com/pricing, plaid.com/en-gb/safety.
Each score with the evidence behind it.
Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Open Banking and Account-to-Account Payments Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored
The other providers in the same ranking, ordered by score.
| Provider | Score out of 5 | Rank | Strongest for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tink | 3.8 | 2 of 12 | Banks, lenders and payment firms across Europe wanting licences in three regions |
| Yapily | 3.5 | 3 of 12 | Payment firms and software platforms needing UK and EU coverage including business accounts |
| Trustly | 3.3 | 4 of 12 | Merchants in gaming, travel and subscriptions wanting pay by bank across Europe and the US |
| Salt Edge | 3.3 | 5 of 12 | Lenders and payment firms needing data from many countries |
| GoCardless | 3.0 | 6 of 12 | UK businesses collecting recurring payments by direct debit and pay by bank |
| Volt | 2.8 | 7 of 12 | Merchants and payment firms taking and returning instant bank payments in Europe, the UK and Australia |
| Finverse | 2.7 | 8 of 12 | Businesses in Hong Kong and Southeast Asia collecting recurring bank payments |
| Basiq | 2.5 | 9 of 12 | Australian lenders and fintech apps using Consumer Data Right data |
| TrueLayer | 2.1 | 10 of 12 | UK and European merchants wanting pay by bank, recurring payments and instant payouts |
| Token.io | 1.9 | 11 of 12 | Banks, acquirers and gateways adding pay by bank to their own offer |
| Brankas | 1.8 | 12 of 12 | Banks and fintechs in Southeast Asia building payment and data products |
Full Open Banking and Account-to-Account Payments Index ranking
Side by side on every criterion, fact and award.
Tell us what you need and where you operate.