How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Home › Buckingham Intelligence › Providers › TrueLayer
Provider profile · 2026 edition

TrueLayer review 2026: scores, pricing and alternatives.

A UK pay by bank network that states it handles almost half of all UK pay by bank payments.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 26 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
2.1 / 5Buckingham Intelligence score
1Awards 2026
1Index
10 of 12Rank, Open Banking and Account-to-Account Payments Index

Short answer.

TrueLayer scores 2.1 out of 5 (43 out of 100) in the Buckingham Intelligence Open Banking and Account-to-Account Payments Index 2026 and ranks 10 of 12. It is strongest for UK and European merchants wanting pay by bank, recurring payments and instant payouts, with 5 out of 5 for product range. Not published or not stated on the pages read: pricing, integration, bank coverage and security certifications.

Awards and scores.

Scores from the Open Banking and Account-to-Account Payments Index 2026.

Open Banking and Account-to-Account Payments Index

2.1 / 543 out of 100 · rank 10 of 12
Top rated for product range 2026
SegmentScore out of 100Rank
For payment and e-money firms4811 of 12
For lenders and fintech apps3810 of 12
For merchants and platforms4210 of 12

The score out of 5 is the overall score out of 100 divided by 20. Leader goes to the top three overall, Best for to the first in each segment, and Top rated for to a score of 5 out of 5 on a criterion. Awards cannot be bought.

Strengths and watch-outs.

Where it scores best, and where to check closely, as shown in each ranking.

Strongest for

UK and European merchants wanting pay by bank, recurring payments and instant payouts.

  • Product range (5/5). Account data, pay by bank, VRP and payouts all published.
Watch out for
  • Bank coverage (1/5). Network size stated; no bank or country count published on the pages read.
  • Published pricing (0/5). Not read; scored as not published.
  • Security certifications (0/5). Not read; scored as not published.

Published facts.

What TrueLayer publishes on its own pages, read on 26 October 2026.

A UK pay by bank network that states it handles almost half of all UK pay by bank payments. It publishes all four product types and its FCA licence number. Its pricing and security pages could not be opened at the date of reading, and it does not publish bank or country counts on the pages read.

FactWhat the provider publishes
Bank coverage"+30M Consumers in the TrueLayer Network"; "Handling almost half of all UK Pay by Bank payments". No bank or country count on the pages read.
Product rangePay by Bank; Bank on File for "subscriptions, bills and one-click payments"; sweeping payments described as "part of variable recurring payments"; Verified Payouts and refunds sent "in seconds"; "real-time Data API add-on".
PricingPricing page could not be opened at the date of reading (page not found).
Regulatory standing"TrueLayer is authorised and regulated by the UK Financial Conduct Authority under the Payment Services Regulations 2017 and Electronic Money Regulations 2011 (Firm Reference Number: 901096)."
Integration"Create an account now to explore our APIs"; single API. SDKs and sandbox not confirmed on the pages read.
Security certificationsSecurity page could not be opened at the date of reading.
Date read26 October 2026

Not published or not stated by TrueLayer

  • Pricing. Pricing page could not be opened at the date of reading (page not found).
  • Integration. SDKs and sandbox not confirmed on the pages read.
  • Bank coverage. No bank or country count published on the pages read.
  • Security certifications. Scored as not published.

A fact that is not published is scored as not offered or, for a fee, as if it were high. It is never estimated.

Facts read on 26 October 2026 from: truelayer.com.

Criterion scores.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

  • Bank coverage: 1/5. Network size stated; no bank or country count published on the pages read.
  • Product range: 5/5. Account data, pay by bank, VRP and payouts all published.
  • Published pricing: 0/5. Not read; scored as not published.
  • Regulatory standing: 3/5. One FCA licence with number published.
  • Integration: 3/5. API with self-serve account; other tools not confirmed on the pages read.
  • Security certifications: 0/5. Not read; scored as not published.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Open Banking and Account-to-Account Payments Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

TrueLayer alternatives.

The other providers in the same ranking, ordered by score.

ProviderScore out of 5RankStrongest for
Plaid3.91 of 12Fintechs and lenders needing wide bank coverage with UK and EU licences
Tink3.82 of 12Banks, lenders and payment firms across Europe wanting licences in three regions
Yapily3.53 of 12Payment firms and software platforms needing UK and EU coverage including business accounts
Trustly3.34 of 12Merchants in gaming, travel and subscriptions wanting pay by bank across Europe and the US
Salt Edge3.35 of 12Lenders and payment firms needing data from many countries
GoCardless3.06 of 12UK businesses collecting recurring payments by direct debit and pay by bank
Volt2.87 of 12Merchants and payment firms taking and returning instant bank payments in Europe, the UK and Australia
Finverse2.78 of 12Businesses in Hong Kong and Southeast Asia collecting recurring bank payments
Basiq2.59 of 12Australian lenders and fintech apps using Consumer Data Right data
Token.io1.911 of 12Banks, acquirers and gateways adding pay by bank to their own offer
Brankas1.812 of 12Banks and fintechs in Southeast Asia building payment and data products

Full Open Banking and Account-to-Account Payments Index ranking

TrueLayer compared.

Side by side on every criterion, fact and award.

Head-to-head comparisons cover pairs within the top five of each ranking. TrueLayer is compared with its alternatives in the table above.

All comparisons

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.