How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Provider profile · 2026 edition

Volt review 2026: scores, pricing and alternatives.

A UK-founded network for real-time account-to-account payments, refunds and payouts.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 26 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
2.8 / 5Buckingham Intelligence score
2Awards 2026
1Index
7 of 12Rank, Open Banking and Account-to-Account Payments Index

Short answer.

Volt scores 2.8 out of 5 (56 out of 100) in the Buckingham Intelligence Open Banking and Account-to-Account Payments Index 2026 and ranks 7 of 12. It is strongest for merchants and payment firms taking and returning instant bank payments in Europe, the UK and Australia, with 5 out of 5 for bank coverage and regulatory standing. Not published or not stated on the pages read: product range and pricing.

Awards and scores.

Scores from the Open Banking and Account-to-Account Payments Index 2026.

Open Banking and Account-to-Account Payments Index

2.8 / 556 out of 100 · rank 7 of 12
Top rated for bank coverage 2026Top rated for regulatory standing 2026
SegmentScore out of 100Rank
For payment and e-money firms637 of 12
For lenders and fintech apps557 of 12
For merchants and platforms509 of 12

The score out of 5 is the overall score out of 100 divided by 20. Leader goes to the top three overall, Best for to the first in each segment, and Top rated for to a score of 5 out of 5 on a criterion. Awards cannot be bought.

Strengths and watch-outs.

Where it scores best, and where to check closely, as shown in each ranking.

Strongest for

Merchants and payment firms taking and returning instant bank payments in Europe, the UK and Australia.

  • Bank coverage (5/5). 2,500 banks across 31 territories published.
  • Regulatory standing (5/5). Licences with numbers from UK, Polish and Australian regulators.
Watch out for
  • Published pricing (0/5). Not published on the pages read.
  • Integration (2/5). Single integration stated; no API documentation, SDK or sandbox on the pages read.
  • Security certifications (0/5). Not published on the pages read.

Published facts.

What Volt publishes on its own pages, read on 26 October 2026.

A UK-founded network for real-time account-to-account payments, refunds and payouts. It publishes 2,500 banks in 31 territories and licences with numbers from UK, Polish and Australian regulators. It does not publish account data products, VRP, prices or security certifications on the pages read.

FactWhat the provider publishes
Bank coverage"Banks connected 2500", "Territories plugged in 31", "Bank accounts covered 618 M".
Product rangeInstant Payments, Refunds ("real-time refunds, direct to their bank account"), Payouts ("real-time, on-demand payouts"), Volt Accounts, Virtual IBANs and Verify. Account data and VRP not named on the pages read.
PricingNot published on the pages read.
Regulatory standingVolt Technologies Limited, FCA EMI, Firm Reference Number 982594; Volt Technologies Holdings Limited, FCA payment institution, FRN 925340; Polish entity, KNF National Payment Institution ID 635816; Volt Connect Pty Ltd, ASIC licence number 700107.
Integration"One integration to a world of real-time payments"; codeless connection through the Primer dashboard (customer quote). No API documentation on the pages read.
Security certificationsNot published on the pages read.
Date read26 October 2026

Not published or not stated by Volt

  • Product range. Account data and VRP not named on the pages read.
  • Pricing. Not published on the pages read.

A fact that is not published is scored as not offered or, for a fee, as if it were high. It is never estimated.

Facts read on 26 October 2026 from: volt.io, volt.io/legal/regulatory.

Criterion scores.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

  • Bank coverage: 5/5. 2,500 banks across 31 territories published.
  • Product range: 3/5. Payments, refunds and payouts published; account data and VRP not named.
  • Published pricing: 0/5. Not published on the pages read.
  • Regulatory standing: 5/5. Licences with numbers from UK, Polish and Australian regulators.
  • Integration: 2/5. Single integration stated; no API documentation, SDK or sandbox on the pages read.
  • Security certifications: 0/5. Not published on the pages read.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Open Banking and Account-to-Account Payments Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

Volt alternatives.

The other providers in the same ranking, ordered by score.

ProviderScore out of 5RankStrongest for
Plaid3.91 of 12Fintechs and lenders needing wide bank coverage with UK and EU licences
Tink3.82 of 12Banks, lenders and payment firms across Europe wanting licences in three regions
Yapily3.53 of 12Payment firms and software platforms needing UK and EU coverage including business accounts
Trustly3.34 of 12Merchants in gaming, travel and subscriptions wanting pay by bank across Europe and the US
Salt Edge3.35 of 12Lenders and payment firms needing data from many countries
GoCardless3.06 of 12UK businesses collecting recurring payments by direct debit and pay by bank
Finverse2.78 of 12Businesses in Hong Kong and Southeast Asia collecting recurring bank payments
Basiq2.59 of 12Australian lenders and fintech apps using Consumer Data Right data
TrueLayer2.110 of 12UK and European merchants wanting pay by bank, recurring payments and instant payouts
Token.io1.911 of 12Banks, acquirers and gateways adding pay by bank to their own offer
Brankas1.812 of 12Banks and fintechs in Southeast Asia building payment and data products

Full Open Banking and Account-to-Account Payments Index ranking

Volt compared.

Side by side on every criterion, fact and award.

Head-to-head comparisons cover pairs within the top five of each ranking. Volt is compared with its alternatives in the table above.

All comparisons

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.