How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Home › Buckingham Intelligence › Providers › Salt Edge
Provider profile · 2026 edition

Salt Edge review 2026: scores, pricing and alternatives.

An open banking platform for account data and bank payments, with compliance tools for banks.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 26 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
3.3 / 5Buckingham Intelligence score
1Awards 2026
1Index
5 of 12Rank, Open Banking and Account-to-Account Payments Index

Short answer.

Salt Edge scores 3.3 out of 5 (66 out of 100) in the Buckingham Intelligence Open Banking and Account-to-Account Payments Index 2026 and ranks 5 of 12. It is strongest for lenders and payment firms needing data from many countries, with 5 out of 5 for bank coverage. Not published or not stated on the pages read: product range, pricing and integration.

Awards and scores.

Scores from the Open Banking and Account-to-Account Payments Index 2026.

Open Banking and Account-to-Account Payments Index

3.3 / 566 out of 100 · rank 5 of 12
Top rated for bank coverage 2026
SegmentScore out of 100Rank
For payment and e-money firms695 of 12
For lenders and fintech apps674 of 12
For merchants and platforms616 of 12

The score out of 5 is the overall score out of 100 divided by 20. Leader goes to the top three overall, Best for to the first in each segment, and Top rated for to a score of 5 out of 5 on a criterion. Awards cannot be bought.

Strengths and watch-outs.

Where it scores best, and where to check closely, as shown in each ranking.

Strongest for

Lenders and payment firms needing data from many countries.

  • Bank coverage (5/5). 5,000+ institutions across 50+ countries published.
Watch out for
  • Published pricing (0/5). Not published on the pages read.

Published facts.

What Salt Edge publishes on its own pages, read on 26 October 2026.

An open banking platform for account data and bank payments, with compliance tools for banks. It publishes the widest country coverage in this edition, payouts and refunds, self-serve API keys and ISO 27001. It publishes a UK licence number but no EU licence details or prices on the pages read.

FactWhat the provider publishes
Bank coverage"Connect to over 5,000 financial institutions across 50+ countries through one unified platform."
Product rangeData Aggregation, Data Enrichment, Financial Insights, Pay by bank ("Pay with any bank from Europe & UK"), Bulk Payments and "Instant payouts and refunds". VRP not named on the pages read.
PricingPricing page could not be opened (page not found). Not published on the pages read.
Regulatory standingSalt Edge Limited, "registered in England and Wales (#11178811) and authorized by the FCA (#822499)"; homepage states "PSD2-licensed".
Integration"Get API keys" self-serve; Account Information and Payment Initiation docs, dashboard and TPP developer portal.
Security certifications"We are ISO 27001-certified".
Date read26 October 2026

Not published or not stated by Salt Edge

  • Product range. VRP not named on the pages read.
  • Pricing. Pricing page could not be opened (page not found); Not published on the pages read.
  • Integration. SDKs not confirmed on the pages read.

A fact that is not published is scored as not offered or, for a fee, as if it were high. It is never estimated.

Facts read on 26 October 2026 from: saltedge.com.

Criterion scores.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

  • Bank coverage: 5/5. 5,000+ institutions across 50+ countries published.
  • Product range: 4/5. Account data, payments, payouts and refunds published; VRP not named.
  • Published pricing: 0/5. Not published on the pages read.
  • Regulatory standing: 3/5. One FCA licence with number; EU licence not detailed.
  • Integration: 4/5. Self-serve API keys, documentation and dashboard; SDKs not confirmed on the pages read.
  • Security certifications: 3/5. ISO 27001 published.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Open Banking and Account-to-Account Payments Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

Salt Edge alternatives.

The other providers in the same ranking, ordered by score.

ProviderScore out of 5RankStrongest for
Plaid3.91 of 12Fintechs and lenders needing wide bank coverage with UK and EU licences
Tink3.82 of 12Banks, lenders and payment firms across Europe wanting licences in three regions
Yapily3.53 of 12Payment firms and software platforms needing UK and EU coverage including business accounts
Trustly3.34 of 12Merchants in gaming, travel and subscriptions wanting pay by bank across Europe and the US
GoCardless3.06 of 12UK businesses collecting recurring payments by direct debit and pay by bank
Volt2.87 of 12Merchants and payment firms taking and returning instant bank payments in Europe, the UK and Australia
Finverse2.78 of 12Businesses in Hong Kong and Southeast Asia collecting recurring bank payments
Basiq2.59 of 12Australian lenders and fintech apps using Consumer Data Right data
TrueLayer2.110 of 12UK and European merchants wanting pay by bank, recurring payments and instant payouts
Token.io1.911 of 12Banks, acquirers and gateways adding pay by bank to their own offer
Brankas1.812 of 12Banks and fintechs in Southeast Asia building payment and data products

Full Open Banking and Account-to-Account Payments Index ranking

Salt Edge compared.

Side by side on every criterion, fact and award.

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.