How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Home › Buckingham Intelligence › Comparisons › Salt Edge vs Trustly
Comparison · 2026 edition

Salt Edge vs Trustly: open banking compared 2026.

Salt Edge and Trustly side by side in the Open Banking and Account-to-Account Payments Index 2026: scores, evidence, published facts and awards.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 26 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
3.3 / 5Salt Edge
3.3 / 5Trustly
TrustlyHigher overall
6Criteria compared

Short answer.

In the Open Banking and Account-to-Account Payments Index, both score 3.3 out of 5 (66 out of 100); Trustly ranks higher on the tie-break, at 4 of 12. Salt Edge scores higher for lenders and fintech apps; Trustly scores higher for payment and e-money firms and merchants and platforms.

Scores side by side.

Overall and segment scores out of 100, and the score out of 5.

ScoreSalt EdgeTrustly
Score out of 53.33.3
Score out of 1006666
Overall rank5 of 124 of 12
For payment and e-money firms (out of 100)69, rank 573, rank 4
For lenders and fintech apps (out of 100)67, rank 464, rank 5
For merchants and platforms (out of 100)61, rank 662, rank 5
TypeOpen banking and open finance platformPay by bank network

Criterion by criterion.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

CriterionSalt EdgeTrustly
Bank coverage5/5
5,000+ institutions across 50+ countries published.
5/5
12,000+ banks across 30+ countries published.
Product range4/5
Account data, payments, payouts and refunds published; VRP not named.
4/5
Payments, payouts and account data published; VRP not named.
Published pricing0/5
Not published on the pages read.
0/5
Not published on the pages read.
Regulatory standing3/5
One FCA licence with number; EU licence not detailed.
5/5
Swedish and UK licences published, with an FCA number and Swedish corporate identity number.
Integration4/5
Self-serve API keys, documentation and dashboard; SDKs not confirmed on the pages read.
4/5
API, SDKs and documentation; sandbox and self-serve sign-up not confirmed on the pages read.
Security certifications3/5
ISO 27001 published.
0/5
Not published on the pages read.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Open Banking and Account-to-Account Payments Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

Published facts.

What each provider publishes on its own pages, read on 26 October 2026.

FactSalt EdgeTrustly
Bank coverage"Connect to over 5,000 financial institutions across 50+ countries through one unified platform.""connects you to 12,000+ banks worldwide with just one API"; "110M+ users across 30+ countries".
Product rangeData Aggregation, Data Enrichment, Financial Insights, Pay by bank ("Pay with any bank from Europe & UK"), Bulk Payments and "Instant payouts and refunds". VRP not named on the pages read.Trustly Pay, Trustly Payouts ("Secure payouts in seconds"), Trustly Connect, Trustly ID and Trustly Insights; Subscription and Bill Pay solution. VRP not named on the pages read.
PricingPricing page could not be opened (page not found). Not published on the pages read.Not published on the pages read.
Regulatory standingSalt Edge Limited, "registered in England and Wales (#11178811) and authorized by the FCA (#822499)"; homepage states "PSD2-licensed".Trustly Group AB (corporate identity number 556754-8655) "is an authorized Swedish payment institution under the supervision of the Swedish Financial Supervisory Authority"; Trustly UK Limited, FCA Firm Reference Number 1005703.
Integration"Get API keys" self-serve; Account Information and Payment Initiation docs, dashboard and TPP developer portal.One API with documentation; "SDK Reference Android, iOS, React Native, Web"; merchant portal.
Security certifications"We are ISO 27001-certified".Not published on the pages read.
Date read26 October 202626 October 2026

Not published or not stated by Salt Edge: product range, pricing and integration.

Not published or not stated by Trustly: product range, pricing and integration.

Facts read on 26 October 2026 from: saltedge.com; and trustly.com, trustly.com/legal-hub.

Awards 2026.

Awards follow from the published scores and cannot be bought.

Salt Edge
Top rated for bank coverage 2026
Trustly
Top rated for bank coverage 2026Top rated for regulatory standing 2026

Who each suits.

From each provider's strongest criteria and published terms.

Salt Edge suits

Lenders and payment firms needing data from many countries.

  • Bank coverage (5/5). 5,000+ institutions across 50+ countries published.

Salt Edge full profile

Trustly suits

Merchants in gaming, travel and subscriptions wanting pay by bank across Europe and the US.

  • Bank coverage (5/5). 12,000+ banks across 30+ countries published.
  • Regulatory standing (5/5). Swedish and UK licences published, with an FCA number and Swedish corporate identity number.

Trustly full profile

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.