WhatsApp and Telegram +44 7563 115980
[email protected]

Plaid and Trustly side by side in the Open Banking and Account-to-Account Payments Index 2026: scores, evidence, published facts and awards.
In the Open Banking and Account-to-Account Payments Index, Plaid scores higher overall: 3.9 out of 5 (78 out of 100) against 3.3 (66), ranking 1 and 4 of 12. Plaid also scores higher in every segment.
Overall and segment scores out of 100, and the score out of 5.
| Score | Plaid | Trustly |
|---|---|---|
| Score out of 5 | 3.9 | 3.3 |
| Score out of 100 | 78 | 66 |
| Overall rank | 1 of 12 | 4 of 12 |
| For payment and e-money firms (out of 100) | 85, rank 1 | 73, rank 4 |
| For lenders and fintech apps (out of 100) | 79, rank 1 | 64, rank 5 |
| For merchants and platforms (out of 100) | 70, rank 1 | 62, rank 5 |
| Type | Open banking data and payments platform | Pay by bank network |
Each score with the evidence behind it.
| Criterion | Plaid | Trustly |
|---|---|---|
| Bank coverage | 5/5 12,000+ institutions across 20 countries published. | 5/5 12,000+ banks across 30+ countries published. |
| Product range | 5/5 Account data, pay by bank, VRP and payouts all published. | 4/5 Payments, payouts and account data published; VRP not named. |
| Published pricing | 0/5 Not published; plans list products without prices. | 0/5 Not published on the pages read. |
| Regulatory standing | 5/5 FCA and DNB licences with numbers published. | 5/5 Swedish and UK licences published, with an FCA number and Swedish corporate identity number. |
| Integration | 4/5 Free sandbox, hosted bank connection screen and live API access; SDKs not confirmed on the pages read. | 4/5 API, SDKs and documentation; sandbox and self-serve sign-up not confirmed on the pages read. |
| Security certifications | 4/5 ISO 27001 and SOC 2 published; SOC 2 type not stated. | 0/5 Not published on the pages read. |
Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Open Banking and Account-to-Account Payments Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored
What each provider publishes on its own pages, read on 26 October 2026.
| Fact | Plaid | Trustly |
|---|---|---|
| Bank coverage | "Access 12,000+ financial institutions and both personal and business accounts across 20 countries." | "connects you to 12,000+ banks worldwide with just one API"; "110M+ users across 30+ countries". |
| Product range | Products listed: Pay by Bank, Variable Recurring Payments, Payouts ("Seamless payouts within your app"), Transactions, Balance, Income and Identity Verification. | Trustly Pay, Trustly Payouts ("Secure payouts in seconds"), Trustly Connect, Trustly ID and Trustly Insights; Subscription and Bill Pay solution. VRP not named on the pages read. |
| Pricing | US and Canada pricing page lists Pay as You Go, Growth and Custom plans with products "Included" or "Contact for pricing"; no prices published. | Not published on the pages read. |
| Regulatory standing | Plaid Financial Limited "authorised and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) under firm reference number 804718"; Plaid B.V. "authorised and supervised by De Nederlandsche Bank (DNB) under registration number R179714". | Trustly Group AB (corporate identity number 556754-8655) "is an authorized Swedish payment institution under the supervision of the Swedish Financial Supervisory Authority"; Trustly UK Limited, FCA Firm Reference Number 1005703. |
| Integration | "Start testing in sandbox for free"; Plaid Link bank connection screen; pay-as-you-go plan by request; unlimited live API calls. | One API with documentation; "SDK Reference Android, iOS, React Native, Web"; merchant portal. |
| Security certifications | "Plaid is certified as ISO 27001 compliant", "ISO 27701 compliant" and "SSAE18 SOC 2 compliant" (report type not stated). | Not published on the pages read. |
| Date read | 26 October 2026 | 26 October 2026 |
Not published or not stated by Plaid: pricing, security certifications and integration.
Not published or not stated by Trustly: product range, pricing and integration.
Facts read on 26 October 2026 from: plaid.com/en-gb, plaid.com/pricing, plaid.com/en-gb/safety; and trustly.com, trustly.com/legal-hub.
Awards follow from the published scores and cannot be bought.
From each provider's strongest criteria and published terms.
Fintechs and lenders needing wide bank coverage with UK and EU licences.
Merchants in gaming, travel and subscriptions wanting pay by bank across Europe and the US.
Tell us what you need and where you operate.