How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Provider profile · 2026 edition

Token.io review 2026: scores, pricing and alternatives.

A UK pay by bank infrastructure provider used by banks and payment gateways, including HSBC, BNP Paribas and Global Payments.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 26 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
1.9 / 5Buckingham Intelligence score
2Awards 2026
1Index
11 of 12Rank, Open Banking and Account-to-Account Payments Index

Short answer.

Token.io scores 1.9 out of 5 (39 out of 100) in the Buckingham Intelligence Open Banking and Account-to-Account Payments Index 2026 and ranks 11 of 12. It is strongest for banks, acquirers and gateways adding pay by bank to their own offer, with 5 out of 5 for product range and regulatory standing. Not published or not stated on the pages read: pricing and bank coverage.

Awards and scores.

Scores from the Open Banking and Account-to-Account Payments Index 2026.

Open Banking and Account-to-Account Payments Index

1.9 / 539 out of 100 · rank 11 of 12
Top rated for product range 2026Top rated for regulatory standing 2026
SegmentScore out of 100Rank
For payment and e-money firms499 of 12
For lenders and fintech apps3512 of 12
For merchants and platforms3412 of 12

The score out of 5 is the overall score out of 100 divided by 20. Leader goes to the top three overall, Best for to the first in each segment, and Top rated for to a score of 5 out of 5 on a criterion. Awards cannot be bought.

Strengths and watch-outs.

Where it scores best, and where to check closely, as shown in each ranking.

Strongest for

Banks, acquirers and gateways adding pay by bank to their own offer.

  • Product range (5/5). Payments, VRP, payouts and data all published.
  • Regulatory standing (5/5). FCA and BaFin licences with numbers published.
Watch out for
  • Bank coverage (1/5). UK and Europe named; no counts published.
  • Published pricing (0/5). Not published on the pages read.
  • Integration (0/5). Not published on the pages read.
  • Security certifications (0/5). Not published on the pages read.

Published facts.

What Token.io publishes on its own pages, read on 26 October 2026.

A UK pay by bank infrastructure provider used by banks and payment gateways, including HSBC, BNP Paribas and Global Payments. It publishes all four product types and UK and German licences with numbers. It does not publish bank or country counts, prices, developer tools or security certifications on the pages read.

FactWhat the provider publishes
Bank coverage"Instant, easy to use payments for nearly anyone with a bank account in the UK & Europe." No bank or country count on the pages read.
Product rangePayments, Variable recurring payments ("One-click, recurring and automated bank payments"), Payouts ("Real-time payouts and withdrawals") and Data.
PricingNot published on the pages read.
Regulatory standing"Token.io Ltd. is authorised by the UK's Financial Conduct Authority to provide Payment Initiation Services and Account information Services under Reference number: 795904." Token GmbH authorised by BaFin and the Bundesbank "under ID number: 158595".
IntegrationNot published on the pages read.
Security certificationsNot published on the pages read.
Date read26 October 2026

Not published or not stated by Token.io

  • Pricing. Not published on the pages read.
  • Bank coverage. No counts published.

A fact that is not published is scored as not offered or, for a fee, as if it were high. It is never estimated.

Facts read on 26 October 2026 from: token.io.

Criterion scores.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

  • Bank coverage: 1/5. UK and Europe named; no counts published.
  • Product range: 5/5. Payments, VRP, payouts and data all published.
  • Published pricing: 0/5. Not published on the pages read.
  • Regulatory standing: 5/5. FCA and BaFin licences with numbers published.
  • Integration: 0/5. Not published on the pages read.
  • Security certifications: 0/5. Not published on the pages read.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Open Banking and Account-to-Account Payments Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

Token.io alternatives.

The other providers in the same ranking, ordered by score.

ProviderScore out of 5RankStrongest for
Plaid3.91 of 12Fintechs and lenders needing wide bank coverage with UK and EU licences
Tink3.82 of 12Banks, lenders and payment firms across Europe wanting licences in three regions
Yapily3.53 of 12Payment firms and software platforms needing UK and EU coverage including business accounts
Trustly3.34 of 12Merchants in gaming, travel and subscriptions wanting pay by bank across Europe and the US
Salt Edge3.35 of 12Lenders and payment firms needing data from many countries
GoCardless3.06 of 12UK businesses collecting recurring payments by direct debit and pay by bank
Volt2.87 of 12Merchants and payment firms taking and returning instant bank payments in Europe, the UK and Australia
Finverse2.78 of 12Businesses in Hong Kong and Southeast Asia collecting recurring bank payments
Basiq2.59 of 12Australian lenders and fintech apps using Consumer Data Right data
TrueLayer2.110 of 12UK and European merchants wanting pay by bank, recurring payments and instant payouts
Brankas1.812 of 12Banks and fintechs in Southeast Asia building payment and data products

Full Open Banking and Account-to-Account Payments Index ranking

Token.io compared.

Side by side on every criterion, fact and award.

Head-to-head comparisons cover pairs within the top five of each ranking. Token.io is compared with its alternatives in the table above.

All comparisons

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.