How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Home › Buckingham Intelligence › Providers › GoCardless
Provider profile · 2026 edition

GoCardless review 2026: scores, pricing and alternatives.

A UK bank payments provider that combines direct debit with open banking pay by bank, recurring pay by bank and account data.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 26 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
3.0 / 5Buckingham Intelligence score
1Awards 2026
1Index
6 of 12Rank, Open Banking and Account-to-Account Payments Index

Short answer.

GoCardless scores 3.0 out of 5 (61 out of 100) in the Buckingham Intelligence Open Banking and Account-to-Account Payments Index 2026 and ranks 6 of 12. It is strongest for UK businesses collecting recurring payments by direct debit and pay by bank, with 5 out of 5 for product range. Not published or not stated on the pages read: published pricing and integration.

Awards and scores.

Scores from the Open Banking and Account-to-Account Payments Index 2026.

Open Banking and Account-to-Account Payments Index

3.0 / 561 out of 100 · rank 6 of 12
Top rated for product range 2026
SegmentScore out of 100Rank
For payment and e-money firms656 of 12
For lenders and fintech apps606 of 12
For merchants and platforms577 of 12

The score out of 5 is the overall score out of 100 divided by 20. Leader goes to the top three overall, Best for to the first in each segment, and Top rated for to a score of 5 out of 5 on a criterion. Awards cannot be bought.

Strengths and watch-outs.

Where it scores best, and where to check closely, as shown in each ranking.

Strongest for

UK businesses collecting recurring payments by direct debit and pay by bank.

  • Product range (5/5). Pay by bank, recurring pay by bank, outbound payments and account data published.
Watch out for
  • Published pricing (0/5). Not read; scored as not published.

Published facts.

What GoCardless publishes on its own pages, read on 26 October 2026.

A UK bank payments provider that combines direct debit with open banking pay by bank, recurring pay by bank and account data. It publishes UK bank coverage, an FCA registration number, ISO 27001 since 2016 and 350+ software integrations. Its pricing page could not be read, and it does not publish an EU licence on the pages read.

FactWhat the provider publishes
Bank coverage"GoCardless has connections with over 100 of the biggest banks in the UK, and covers roughly 99% of consumer and business accounts."
Product rangeOne-off pay by bank, Recurring Pay by Bank ("Our open banking-powered feature, Pay by Bank, now supports recurring" payments), outbound payments ("Send payments instantly"), and account information after acquiring Nordigen "to expand its AIS coverage across Europe".
PricingPricing page could not be read at the date of reading.
Regulatory standing"GoCardless Ltd (company registration number 07495895) is authorised by the Financial Conduct Authority under the Payment Services Regulations 2017, registration number 597190".
Integration"350+ integrations" including Xero, QuickBooks and Zuora; API integrations; online sign-up.
Security certifications"ISO27001 certified since 2016".
Date read26 October 2026

Not published or not stated by GoCardless

  • Published pricing. Scored as not published.
  • Integration. SDKs and sandbox not confirmed on the pages read.

A fact that is not published is scored as not offered or, for a fee, as if it were high. It is never estimated.

Facts read on 26 October 2026 from: gocardless.com/bank-account-data, gocardless.com/security.

Criterion scores.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

  • Bank coverage: 3/5. 100+ UK banks and 99% of UK accounts published; no country count.
  • Product range: 5/5. Pay by bank, recurring pay by bank, outbound payments and account data published.
  • Published pricing: 0/5. Not read; scored as not published.
  • Regulatory standing: 3/5. One FCA registration number published.
  • Integration: 4/5. API, 350+ software integrations and sign-up; SDKs and sandbox not confirmed on the pages read.
  • Security certifications: 3/5. ISO 27001 published.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Open Banking and Account-to-Account Payments Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

GoCardless alternatives.

The other providers in the same ranking, ordered by score.

ProviderScore out of 5RankStrongest for
Plaid3.91 of 12Fintechs and lenders needing wide bank coverage with UK and EU licences
Tink3.82 of 12Banks, lenders and payment firms across Europe wanting licences in three regions
Yapily3.53 of 12Payment firms and software platforms needing UK and EU coverage including business accounts
Trustly3.34 of 12Merchants in gaming, travel and subscriptions wanting pay by bank across Europe and the US
Salt Edge3.35 of 12Lenders and payment firms needing data from many countries
Volt2.87 of 12Merchants and payment firms taking and returning instant bank payments in Europe, the UK and Australia
Finverse2.78 of 12Businesses in Hong Kong and Southeast Asia collecting recurring bank payments
Basiq2.59 of 12Australian lenders and fintech apps using Consumer Data Right data
TrueLayer2.110 of 12UK and European merchants wanting pay by bank, recurring payments and instant payouts
Token.io1.911 of 12Banks, acquirers and gateways adding pay by bank to their own offer
Brankas1.812 of 12Banks and fintechs in Southeast Asia building payment and data products

Full Open Banking and Account-to-Account Payments Index ranking

GoCardless compared.

Side by side on every criterion, fact and award.

Head-to-head comparisons cover pairs within the top five of each ranking. GoCardless is compared with its alternatives in the table above.

All comparisons

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.