How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Provider profile · 2026 edition

Basiq review 2026: scores, pricing and alternatives.

An Australian open banking data platform, owned by Cuscal, that reads account data under the Consumer Data Right (Australia's open banking law).

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 26 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
2.5 / 5Buckingham Intelligence score
0Awards 2026
1Index
9 of 12Rank, Open Banking and Account-to-Account Payments Index

Short answer.

Basiq scores 2.5 out of 5 (50 out of 100) in the Buckingham Intelligence Open Banking and Account-to-Account Payments Index 2026 and ranks 9 of 12. It is strongest for australian lenders and fintech apps using Consumer Data Right data, and its best criterion is integration at 4 out of 5. Not published or not stated on the pages read: security certifications, published pricing and integration.

Awards and scores.

Scores from the Open Banking and Account-to-Account Payments Index 2026.

Open Banking and Account-to-Account Payments Index

2.5 / 550 out of 100 · rank 9 of 12

No award in the Open Banking and Account-to-Account Payments Index 2026.

SegmentScore out of 100Rank
For payment and e-money firms498 of 12
For lenders and fintech apps489 of 12
For merchants and platforms538 of 12

The score out of 5 is the overall score out of 100 divided by 20. Leader goes to the top three overall, Best for to the first in each segment, and Top rated for to a score of 5 out of 5 on a criterion. Awards cannot be bought.

Strengths and watch-outs.

Where it scores best, and where to check closely, as shown in each ranking.

Strongest for

Australian lenders and fintech apps using Consumer Data Right data.

  • Integration (4/5). Sandbox, API, no-code dashboard and sign-up; SDKs not confirmed on the pages read.
Watch out for
  • Product range (1/5). Account data and reports published; payments not detailed.
  • Security certifications (0/5). No certification named on the pages read.

Published facts.

What Basiq publishes on its own pages, read on 26 October 2026.

An Australian open banking data platform, owned by Cuscal, that reads account data under the Consumer Data Right (Australia's open banking law). It publishes per-user prices, 135+ connected institutions, a sandbox and its accreditation number. It serves Australia only, its platform access fee is not published, and payments and security certifications are not detailed on the pages read.

FactWhat the provider publishes
Bank coverage"Connect to 135+ banks and financial institutions in Australia"; data from banks, superannuation and energy providers. Australia only.
Product rangeCustomer data, data enrichment and affordability, income and expense reports; homepage refers to "the power of payments and data" with parent Cuscal. Bank payments, VRP and payouts not detailed on the pages read.
PricingCustomer data "$0.50 per user / month" "+ Platform access fee"; data enrichment "$0.25 per user / month"; affordability report "from $3.00 per report"; startup programme "$250/month for up to 6 months" (reduced rate).
Regulatory standing"Basiq Pty Ltd is an accredited data recipient under the Consumer Data Right (accr. # ADRBNK000208)".
Integration"Our intuitive sandbox allows you to test your apps before going live"; API with code samples; dashboard with a no-code report option; "Get started" sign-up.
Security certificationsData security page describes "bank grade security" and encryption; no certification named.
Date read26 October 2026

Not published or not stated by Basiq

  • Security certifications. No certification named.
  • Published pricing. Platform access fee not published and reports priced "from".
  • Integration. SDKs not confirmed on the pages read.

A fact that is not published is scored as not offered or, for a fee, as if it were high. It is never estimated.

Facts read on 26 October 2026 from: basiq.io, basiq.io/pricing, basiq.io/data-security.html.

Criterion scores.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

  • Bank coverage: 3/5. 135+ institutions in Australia; scored on access for that country.
  • Product range: 1/5. Account data and reports published; payments not detailed.
  • Published pricing: 3/5. Per-user data prices published; platform access fee not published and reports priced "from".
  • Regulatory standing: 3/5. CDR accreditation number published.
  • Integration: 4/5. Sandbox, API, no-code dashboard and sign-up; SDKs not confirmed on the pages read.
  • Security certifications: 0/5. No certification named on the pages read.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Open Banking and Account-to-Account Payments Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

Basiq alternatives.

The other providers in the same ranking, ordered by score.

ProviderScore out of 5RankStrongest for
Plaid3.91 of 12Fintechs and lenders needing wide bank coverage with UK and EU licences
Tink3.82 of 12Banks, lenders and payment firms across Europe wanting licences in three regions
Yapily3.53 of 12Payment firms and software platforms needing UK and EU coverage including business accounts
Trustly3.34 of 12Merchants in gaming, travel and subscriptions wanting pay by bank across Europe and the US
Salt Edge3.35 of 12Lenders and payment firms needing data from many countries
GoCardless3.06 of 12UK businesses collecting recurring payments by direct debit and pay by bank
Volt2.87 of 12Merchants and payment firms taking and returning instant bank payments in Europe, the UK and Australia
Finverse2.78 of 12Businesses in Hong Kong and Southeast Asia collecting recurring bank payments
TrueLayer2.110 of 12UK and European merchants wanting pay by bank, recurring payments and instant payouts
Token.io1.911 of 12Banks, acquirers and gateways adding pay by bank to their own offer
Brankas1.812 of 12Banks and fintechs in Southeast Asia building payment and data products

Full Open Banking and Account-to-Account Payments Index ranking

Basiq compared.

Side by side on every criterion, fact and award.

Head-to-head comparisons cover pairs within the top five of each ranking. Basiq is compared with its alternatives in the table above.

All comparisons

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.