How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Home › Buckingham Intelligence › Comparisons › Salt Edge vs Tink
Comparison · 2026 edition

Salt Edge vs Tink: open banking compared 2026.

Salt Edge and Tink side by side in the Open Banking and Account-to-Account Payments Index 2026: scores, evidence, published facts and awards.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 26 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
3.3 / 5Salt Edge
3.8 / 5Tink
TinkHigher overall
6Criteria compared

Short answer.

In the Open Banking and Account-to-Account Payments Index, Tink scores higher overall: 3.8 out of 5 (76 out of 100) against 3.3 (66), ranking 2 and 5 of 12. Tink also scores higher in every segment.

Scores side by side.

Overall and segment scores out of 100, and the score out of 5.

ScoreSalt EdgeTink
Score out of 53.33.8
Score out of 1006676
Overall rank5 of 122 of 12
For payment and e-money firms (out of 100)69, rank 583, rank 2
For lenders and fintech apps (out of 100)67, rank 476, rank 2
For merchants and platforms (out of 100)61, rank 669, rank 2
TypeOpen banking and open finance platformOpen banking data and payments platform

Criterion by criterion.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

CriterionSalt EdgeTink
Bank coverage5/5
5,000+ institutions across 50+ countries published.
5/5
3,000+ connections across 18 countries published.
Product range4/5
Account data, payments, payouts and refunds published; VRP not named.
5/5
Account data, pay by bank, VRP, payouts and refunds all published.
Published pricing0/5
Not published on the pages read.
0/5
Not published for new customers.
Regulatory standing3/5
One FCA licence with number; EU licence not detailed.
5/5
Licences with numbers from Swedish, German and UK regulators.
Integration4/5
Self-serve API keys, documentation and dashboard; SDKs not confirmed on the pages read.
4/5
SDKs, API reference, hosted Tink Link, console and sign-up; sandbox not confirmed on the pages read.
Security certifications3/5
ISO 27001 published.
3/5
SOC 2 Type II published; ISO 27001 not stated.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Open Banking and Account-to-Account Payments Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

Published facts.

What each provider publishes on its own pages, read on 26 October 2026.

FactSalt EdgeTink
Bank coverage"Connect to over 5,000 financial institutions across 50+ countries through one unified platform."FAQ: "Tink has 3000+ connections to banks and financial institutions across 18 countries."
Product rangeData Aggregation, Data Enrichment, Financial Insights, Pay by bank ("Pay with any bank from Europe & UK"), Bulk Payments and "Instant payouts and refunds". VRP not named on the pages read.Products: Pay by Bank ("instant payments and refunds"), Sweeping Variable Recurring Payments, Payouts, Account Check, Transactions, Income Check and Risk Insights.
PricingPricing page could not be opened (page not found). Not published on the pages read."The prices listed on this page are applicable exclusively to our existing customers"; new clients "should contact our sales team". Standard and Enterprise plans: "Contact us" and "Custom pricing".
Regulatory standingSalt Edge Limited, "registered in England and Wales (#11178811) and authorized by the FCA (#822499)"; homepage states "PSD2-licensed".Tink AB, Swedish Financial Supervisory Authority, SFSA ID 44059; Tink Germany GmbH, BaFin-ID 10152149; Tink Financial Services Limited, FCA FRN 988456; each licensed for account information and payment initiation services.
Integration"Get API keys" self-serve; Account Information and Payment Initiation docs, dashboard and TPP developer portal."Our SDKs make it fast and easy to build"; API reference, Tink Link demo, Tink Console to configure products, online sign-up.
Security certifications"We are ISO 27001-certified"."Our systems are SOC 2 Type II compliant, covering Trust Service Criteria for Security & Availability." ISO 27001 not stated on the pages read.
Date read26 October 202626 October 2026

Not published or not stated by Salt Edge: product range, pricing and integration.

Not published or not stated by Tink: security certifications, published pricing and integration.

Facts read on 26 October 2026 from: saltedge.com; and tink.com, tink.com/pricing, tink.com/faq, tink.com/legal/faq, tink.com/products/pay-by-bank.

Awards 2026.

Awards follow from the published scores and cannot be bought.

Salt Edge
Top rated for bank coverage 2026
Tink
Leader 2026Top rated for bank coverage 2026Top rated for product range 2026Top rated for regulatory standing 2026

Who each suits.

From each provider's strongest criteria and published terms.

Salt Edge suits

Lenders and payment firms needing data from many countries.

  • Bank coverage (5/5). 5,000+ institutions across 50+ countries published.

Salt Edge full profile

Tink suits

Banks, lenders and payment firms across Europe wanting licences in three regions.

  • Bank coverage (5/5). 3,000+ connections across 18 countries published.
  • Product range (5/5). Account data, pay by bank, VRP, payouts and refunds all published.
  • Regulatory standing (5/5). Licences with numbers from Swedish, German and UK regulators.

Tink full profile

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.