How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Home › Buckingham Intelligence › Comparisons › Plaid vs Salt Edge
Comparison · 2026 edition

Plaid vs Salt Edge: open banking compared 2026.

Plaid and Salt Edge side by side in the Open Banking and Account-to-Account Payments Index 2026: scores, evidence, published facts and awards.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 26 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
3.9 / 5Plaid
3.3 / 5Salt Edge
PlaidHigher overall
6Criteria compared

Short answer.

In the Open Banking and Account-to-Account Payments Index, Plaid scores higher overall: 3.9 out of 5 (78 out of 100) against 3.3 (66), ranking 1 and 5 of 12. Plaid also scores higher in every segment.

Scores side by side.

Overall and segment scores out of 100, and the score out of 5.

ScorePlaidSalt Edge
Score out of 53.93.3
Score out of 1007866
Overall rank1 of 125 of 12
For payment and e-money firms (out of 100)85, rank 169, rank 5
For lenders and fintech apps (out of 100)79, rank 167, rank 4
For merchants and platforms (out of 100)70, rank 161, rank 6
TypeOpen banking data and payments platformOpen banking and open finance platform

Criterion by criterion.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

CriterionPlaidSalt Edge
Bank coverage5/5
12,000+ institutions across 20 countries published.
5/5
5,000+ institutions across 50+ countries published.
Product range5/5
Account data, pay by bank, VRP and payouts all published.
4/5
Account data, payments, payouts and refunds published; VRP not named.
Published pricing0/5
Not published; plans list products without prices.
0/5
Not published on the pages read.
Regulatory standing5/5
FCA and DNB licences with numbers published.
3/5
One FCA licence with number; EU licence not detailed.
Integration4/5
Free sandbox, hosted bank connection screen and live API access; SDKs not confirmed on the pages read.
4/5
Self-serve API keys, documentation and dashboard; SDKs not confirmed on the pages read.
Security certifications4/5
ISO 27001 and SOC 2 published; SOC 2 type not stated.
3/5
ISO 27001 published.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Open Banking and Account-to-Account Payments Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

Published facts.

What each provider publishes on its own pages, read on 26 October 2026.

FactPlaidSalt Edge
Bank coverage"Access 12,000+ financial institutions and both personal and business accounts across 20 countries.""Connect to over 5,000 financial institutions across 50+ countries through one unified platform."
Product rangeProducts listed: Pay by Bank, Variable Recurring Payments, Payouts ("Seamless payouts within your app"), Transactions, Balance, Income and Identity Verification.Data Aggregation, Data Enrichment, Financial Insights, Pay by bank ("Pay with any bank from Europe & UK"), Bulk Payments and "Instant payouts and refunds". VRP not named on the pages read.
PricingUS and Canada pricing page lists Pay as You Go, Growth and Custom plans with products "Included" or "Contact for pricing"; no prices published.Pricing page could not be opened (page not found). Not published on the pages read.
Regulatory standingPlaid Financial Limited "authorised and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) under firm reference number 804718"; Plaid B.V. "authorised and supervised by De Nederlandsche Bank (DNB) under registration number R179714".Salt Edge Limited, "registered in England and Wales (#11178811) and authorized by the FCA (#822499)"; homepage states "PSD2-licensed".
Integration"Start testing in sandbox for free"; Plaid Link bank connection screen; pay-as-you-go plan by request; unlimited live API calls."Get API keys" self-serve; Account Information and Payment Initiation docs, dashboard and TPP developer portal.
Security certifications"Plaid is certified as ISO 27001 compliant", "ISO 27701 compliant" and "SSAE18 SOC 2 compliant" (report type not stated)."We are ISO 27001-certified".
Date read26 October 202626 October 2026

Not published or not stated by Plaid: pricing, security certifications and integration.

Not published or not stated by Salt Edge: product range, pricing and integration.

Facts read on 26 October 2026 from: plaid.com/en-gb, plaid.com/pricing, plaid.com/en-gb/safety; and saltedge.com.

Awards 2026.

Awards follow from the published scores and cannot be bought.

Plaid
Leader 2026Best for payment and e-money firms 2026Best for lenders and fintech apps 2026Best for merchants and platforms 2026Top rated for bank coverage 2026Top rated for product range 2026Top rated for regulatory standing 2026
Salt Edge
Top rated for bank coverage 2026

Who each suits.

From each provider's strongest criteria and published terms.

Plaid suits

Fintechs and lenders needing wide bank coverage with UK and EU licences.

  • Bank coverage (5/5). 12,000+ institutions across 20 countries published.
  • Product range (5/5). Account data, pay by bank, VRP and payouts all published.
  • Regulatory standing (5/5). FCA and DNB licences with numbers published.

Plaid full profile

Salt Edge suits

Lenders and payment firms needing data from many countries.

  • Bank coverage (5/5). 5,000+ institutions across 50+ countries published.

Salt Edge full profile

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.