WhatsApp and Telegram +44 7563 115980
[email protected]

Plaid and Tink side by side in the Open Banking and Account-to-Account Payments Index 2026: scores, evidence, published facts and awards.
In the Open Banking and Account-to-Account Payments Index, Plaid scores higher overall: 3.9 out of 5 (78 out of 100) against 3.8 (76), ranking 1 and 2 of 12. Plaid also scores higher in every segment.
Overall and segment scores out of 100, and the score out of 5.
| Score | Plaid | Tink |
|---|---|---|
| Score out of 5 | 3.9 | 3.8 |
| Score out of 100 | 78 | 76 |
| Overall rank | 1 of 12 | 2 of 12 |
| For payment and e-money firms (out of 100) | 85, rank 1 | 83, rank 2 |
| For lenders and fintech apps (out of 100) | 79, rank 1 | 76, rank 2 |
| For merchants and platforms (out of 100) | 70, rank 1 | 69, rank 2 |
| Type | Open banking data and payments platform | Open banking data and payments platform |
Each score with the evidence behind it.
| Criterion | Plaid | Tink |
|---|---|---|
| Bank coverage | 5/5 12,000+ institutions across 20 countries published. | 5/5 3,000+ connections across 18 countries published. |
| Product range | 5/5 Account data, pay by bank, VRP and payouts all published. | 5/5 Account data, pay by bank, VRP, payouts and refunds all published. |
| Published pricing | 0/5 Not published; plans list products without prices. | 0/5 Not published for new customers. |
| Regulatory standing | 5/5 FCA and DNB licences with numbers published. | 5/5 Licences with numbers from Swedish, German and UK regulators. |
| Integration | 4/5 Free sandbox, hosted bank connection screen and live API access; SDKs not confirmed on the pages read. | 4/5 SDKs, API reference, hosted Tink Link, console and sign-up; sandbox not confirmed on the pages read. |
| Security certifications | 4/5 ISO 27001 and SOC 2 published; SOC 2 type not stated. | 3/5 SOC 2 Type II published; ISO 27001 not stated. |
Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Open Banking and Account-to-Account Payments Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored
What each provider publishes on its own pages, read on 26 October 2026.
| Fact | Plaid | Tink |
|---|---|---|
| Bank coverage | "Access 12,000+ financial institutions and both personal and business accounts across 20 countries." | FAQ: "Tink has 3000+ connections to banks and financial institutions across 18 countries." |
| Product range | Products listed: Pay by Bank, Variable Recurring Payments, Payouts ("Seamless payouts within your app"), Transactions, Balance, Income and Identity Verification. | Products: Pay by Bank ("instant payments and refunds"), Sweeping Variable Recurring Payments, Payouts, Account Check, Transactions, Income Check and Risk Insights. |
| Pricing | US and Canada pricing page lists Pay as You Go, Growth and Custom plans with products "Included" or "Contact for pricing"; no prices published. | "The prices listed on this page are applicable exclusively to our existing customers"; new clients "should contact our sales team". Standard and Enterprise plans: "Contact us" and "Custom pricing". |
| Regulatory standing | Plaid Financial Limited "authorised and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) under firm reference number 804718"; Plaid B.V. "authorised and supervised by De Nederlandsche Bank (DNB) under registration number R179714". | Tink AB, Swedish Financial Supervisory Authority, SFSA ID 44059; Tink Germany GmbH, BaFin-ID 10152149; Tink Financial Services Limited, FCA FRN 988456; each licensed for account information and payment initiation services. |
| Integration | "Start testing in sandbox for free"; Plaid Link bank connection screen; pay-as-you-go plan by request; unlimited live API calls. | "Our SDKs make it fast and easy to build"; API reference, Tink Link demo, Tink Console to configure products, online sign-up. |
| Security certifications | "Plaid is certified as ISO 27001 compliant", "ISO 27701 compliant" and "SSAE18 SOC 2 compliant" (report type not stated). | "Our systems are SOC 2 Type II compliant, covering Trust Service Criteria for Security & Availability." ISO 27001 not stated on the pages read. |
| Date read | 26 October 2026 | 26 October 2026 |
Not published or not stated by Plaid: pricing, security certifications and integration.
Not published or not stated by Tink: security certifications, published pricing and integration.
Facts read on 26 October 2026 from: plaid.com/en-gb, plaid.com/pricing, plaid.com/en-gb/safety; and tink.com, tink.com/pricing, tink.com/faq, tink.com/legal/faq, tink.com/products/pay-by-bank.
Awards follow from the published scores and cannot be bought.
From each provider's strongest criteria and published terms.
Fintechs and lenders needing wide bank coverage with UK and EU licences.
Banks, lenders and payment firms across Europe wanting licences in three regions.
Tell us what you need and where you operate.