How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Home › Buckingham Intelligence › Comparisons › Plaid vs Yapily
Comparison · 2026 edition

Plaid vs Yapily: open banking compared 2026.

Plaid and Yapily side by side in the Open Banking and Account-to-Account Payments Index 2026: scores, evidence, published facts and awards.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 26 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
3.9 / 5Plaid
3.5 / 5Yapily
PlaidHigher overall
6Criteria compared

Short answer.

In the Open Banking and Account-to-Account Payments Index, Plaid scores higher overall: 3.9 out of 5 (78 out of 100) against 3.5 (70), ranking 1 and 3 of 12. Plaid also scores higher in every segment.

Scores side by side.

Overall and segment scores out of 100, and the score out of 5.

ScorePlaidYapily
Score out of 53.93.5
Score out of 1007870
Overall rank1 of 123 of 12
For payment and e-money firms (out of 100)85, rank 177, rank 3
For lenders and fintech apps (out of 100)79, rank 167, rank 3
For merchants and platforms (out of 100)70, rank 166, rank 3
TypeOpen banking data and payments platformOpen banking API platform

Criterion by criterion.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

CriterionPlaidYapily
Bank coverage5/5
12,000+ institutions across 20 countries published.
5/5
2,000 institutions across 19 countries published.
Product range5/5
Account data, pay by bank, VRP and payouts all published.
5/5
Account data, payments, VRP and bulk payments published.
Published pricing0/5
Not published; plans list products without prices.
0/5
Not published.
Regulatory standing5/5
FCA and DNB licences with numbers published.
5/5
FCA and Bank of Lithuania licences with numbers published.
Integration4/5
Free sandbox, hosted bank connection screen and live API access; SDKs not confirmed on the pages read.
4/5
API docs, console, demo app and sign-up; SDKs and sandbox not confirmed on the pages read.
Security certifications4/5
ISO 27001 and SOC 2 published; SOC 2 type not stated.
0/5
Not published on the pages read.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Open Banking and Account-to-Account Payments Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

Published facts.

What each provider publishes on its own pages, read on 26 October 2026.

FactPlaidYapily
Bank coverage"Access 12,000+ financial institutions and both personal and business accounts across 20 countries.""Explore over 2,000 institutions directly integrated in 19 countries", "with the majority of banks covered in the UK and Germany".
Product rangeProducts listed: Pay by Bank, Variable Recurring Payments, Payouts ("Seamless payouts within your app"), Transactions, Balance, Income and Identity Verification.Products listed: Payments, Variable Recurring Payments, Commercial VRP, Bulk Payments, Data, Data Plus and Validate.
PricingUS and Canada pricing page lists Pay as You Go, Growth and Custom plans with products "Included" or "Contact for pricing"; no prices published."Tailored pricing for every business"; "Let's talk". No prices published.
Regulatory standingPlaid Financial Limited "authorised and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) under firm reference number 804718"; Plaid B.V. "authorised and supervised by De Nederlandsche Bank (DNB) under registration number R179714"."Yapily Connect Ltd is regulated by the UK Financial Conduct Authority with no. 827001"; "Yapily Connect UAB is regulated by the Bank of Lithuania with no. LB002045".
Integration"Start testing in sandbox for free"; Plaid Link bank connection screen; pay-as-you-go plan by request; unlimited live API calls.API docs "designed so AI coding agents can connect directly", Customer Console, demo app, "Get Started" sign-up.
Security certifications"Plaid is certified as ISO 27001 compliant", "ISO 27701 compliant" and "SSAE18 SOC 2 compliant" (report type not stated).Not published on the pages read.
Date read26 October 202626 October 2026

Not published or not stated by Plaid: pricing, security certifications and integration.

Not published or not stated by Yapily: pricing, security certifications and integration.

Facts read on 26 October 2026 from: plaid.com/en-gb, plaid.com/pricing, plaid.com/en-gb/safety; and yapily.com, yapily.com/pricing, yapily.com/product/open-banking-country-coverage, yapily.com/legal.

Awards 2026.

Awards follow from the published scores and cannot be bought.

Plaid
Leader 2026Best for payment and e-money firms 2026Best for lenders and fintech apps 2026Best for merchants and platforms 2026Top rated for bank coverage 2026Top rated for product range 2026Top rated for regulatory standing 2026
Yapily
Leader 2026Top rated for bank coverage 2026Top rated for product range 2026Top rated for regulatory standing 2026

Who each suits.

From each provider's strongest criteria and published terms.

Plaid suits

Fintechs and lenders needing wide bank coverage with UK and EU licences.

  • Bank coverage (5/5). 12,000+ institutions across 20 countries published.
  • Product range (5/5). Account data, pay by bank, VRP and payouts all published.
  • Regulatory standing (5/5). FCA and DNB licences with numbers published.

Plaid full profile

Yapily suits

Payment firms and software platforms needing UK and EU coverage including business accounts.

  • Bank coverage (5/5). 2,000 institutions across 19 countries published.
  • Product range (5/5). Account data, payments, VRP and bulk payments published.
  • Regulatory standing (5/5). FCA and Bank of Lithuania licences with numbers published.

Yapily full profile

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.