How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Provider profile · 2026 edition

Griffin review 2026: scores, pricing and alternatives.

Griffin is a UK bank authorised by the PRA that offers embedded bank accounts, safeguarding and client money accounts, Faster Payments, Bacs credits and CHAPS, and automated KYC and KYB checks.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 21 and 26 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
3.2 / 5Buckingham Intelligence score
3Awards 2026
3Indices
5 of 11Rank, Banking-as-a-Service and Sponsor Banks Index

Short answer.

Griffin is ranked in 3 Buckingham Intelligence indices. Its highest score is 3.2 out of 5 (64 out of 100) in the Banking-as-a-Service and Sponsor Banks Index, where it ranks 5 of 11. It is strongest for UK fintechs and platforms wanting a bank with published plan tiers and fast onboarding, with 5 out of 5 for licence and deposit protection. Not published or not stated on the pages read: product range, compliance support and integration.

Also ranked in: Safeguarding Banks Index (3.2 out of 5, rank 8 of 14) and Virtual Accounts and IBANs Index (2.8 out of 5, rank 6 of 10).

Awards and scores.

Scores from the Banking-as-a-Service and Sponsor Banks Index, Safeguarding Banks Index and Virtual Accounts and IBANs Index 2026.

Banking-as-a-Service and Sponsor Banks Index

3.2 / 564 out of 100 · rank 5 of 11
Top rated for licence and deposit protection 2026
SegmentScore out of 100Rank
For fintechs launching accounts and cards635 of 11
For software platforms embedding finance615 of 11
For regulated payment and e-money firms695 of 11

Safeguarding Banks Index

3.2 / 564 out of 100 · rank 8 of 14
Top rated for standing 2026
SegmentScore out of 100Rank
For E-money institutions678 of 14
For payment institutions668 of 14
For firms applying for a licence609 of 14

Virtual Accounts and IBANs Index

2.8 / 556 out of 100 · rank 6 of 10
Top rated for regulatory standing 2026
SegmentScore out of 100Rank
For payment and e-money firms675 of 10
For marketplaces and platforms566 of 10
For businesses collecting from abroad467 of 10

The score out of 5 is the overall score out of 100 divided by 20. Leader goes to the top three overall, Best for to the first in each segment, and Top rated for to a score of 5 out of 5 on a criterion. Awards cannot be bought.

Strengths and watch-outs.

Where it scores best, and where to check closely, as shown in each ranking.

Banking-as-a-Service and Sponsor Banks Index

Strongest for

UK fintechs and platforms wanting a bank with published plan tiers and fast onboarding.

  • Licence and deposit protection (5/5). Own UK banking licence with firm reference and FSCS protection.
Watch out for
  • Published pricing (2/5). Monthly spend tiers published; onboarding fee only as a "from" price.
  • Markets (1/5). UK only.

Safeguarding Banks Index

Strongest for

Dedicated per-customer safeguarding accounts.

  • Standing (5/5). PRA authorised bank with deposit protection and a published count of 50+ client companies.
Watch out for
  • Published pricing (2/5). Business and platform prices published as "from" figures; no interest rate stated for safeguarded balances.
  • Onboarding (2/5). Claims onboarding in days and platform go-live in 6 to 8 weeks; no document list; licence required.

Virtual Accounts and IBANs Index

Strongest for

UK payment, e-money and investment firms needing safeguarding or client money accounts.

  • Regulatory standing (5/5). Own UK banking licence with firm reference and FSCS terms.
Watch out for
  • Currencies and markets (1/5). Sterling only.
  • Published pricing (1/5). Only "from" prices and minimum spend tiers published.

Published facts.

What Griffin publishes on its own pages, read on 21 and 26 October 2026.

Banking-as-a-Service and Sponsor Banks Index

Griffin is a UK bank authorised by the PRA that offers embedded bank accounts, safeguarding and client money accounts, Faster Payments, Bacs credits and CHAPS, and automated KYC and KYB checks. It publishes monthly minimum spend tiers and a 6 to 8 week go-live, though its onboarding fee is a "from" price. Cards and lending are not offered on the pages read.

FactWhat the provider publishes
Product rangeEmbedded bank accounts, business accounts, savings, client money, safeguarding, payments (Faster Payments, Bacs credits, CHAPS) and Verify. Cards and lending not published.
PricingPlatform banking onboarding "from £15,000"; monthly minimum spend packages £4,000, £6,000 and £10,000, Enterprise custom.
Licence and deposit protectionGriffin Bank Ltd, "authorised by the Prudential Regulation Authority and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority and Prudential Regulation Authority", firm reference 970920; FSCS "up to £120,000".
Compliance supportVerify: "Automate KYC/KYB checks"; "Use our onboarding products to automate key compliance processes."
Integration"Embed accounts, payments and onboarding via our API"; sandbox at app.griffin.com/register; "Go live in 6 to 8 weeks".
Scale"80+ companies use Griffin"; "£8.9B+ payments processed since launching in 2024".
Date read26 October 2026

Not published or not stated by Griffin

  • Product range. Cards and lending not published.
  • Compliance support. Transaction monitoring not described.
  • Integration. Ready-made screens not published.

A fact that is not published is scored as not offered or, for a fee, as if it were high. It is never estimated.

Facts read on 26 October 2026 from: griffin.com/pricing, griffin.com/about, griffin.com/products/embedded-bank-accounts, griffin.com/products/payments, griffin.com/products/verify, griffin.com/deposit-protection.

Safeguarding Banks Index

A UK bank built for software platforms, fully authorised in March 2024. It publishes dedicated and pooled safeguarding accounts for FCA-regulated EMIs and PIs, client money accounts and API reconciliation, and publishes platform and business account prices. Its eligibility page accepts UK private limited companies and says it may not be able to work with firms based outside the UK. It does not publish the rate paid on safeguarded balances.

FactWhat the provider publishes
Legal status"Griffin Bank Ltd ("Griffin") is a company registered in England and Wales (No. 10842931)." "Griffin is authorised by the Prudential Regulation Authority and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority and Prudential Regulation Authority." FRN 970920.
Who it serves"Our safeguarding services are for FCA-regulated electronic money institutions and payments institutions." Applicants must be "a registered company limited by shares (Ltd) based in the UK" and "have the correct regulatory permissions". Firms based outside the UK: "We may not be able to work with you", depending on the products sought. No minimums listed.
ProductsDedicated safeguarding accounts ("Individual bank accounts for each of your customers") or one pooled safeguarding account; client money accounts; operational accounts. Company facts list payments via Faster Payments, inbound CHAPS and instant book transfers, with Bacs and outbound CHAPS "Coming soon". Scheme membership not stated.
PricingBusiness bank accounts: monthly fees "From £100"; interest "From 1.75%" (1.76% AER, variable, tracks Bank of England base rate). Platform banking: one-off onboarding fee "from £15,000"; monthly minimum spend packages of £3,500, £5,000 or £10,000, or Enterprise "Custom". Safeguarding accounts "are able to earn interest, depending on your contract"; no safeguarding-specific rate.
OnboardingSafeguarding page: "Onboard with us in days, not months." Pricing page, platform banking: go-live stated as 6 to 8 weeks. No document list. Regulatory permissions required.
TechnologyAPI integration with "your existing ledger and accounting systems"; "Instantly reconcile customer funds with our ledger"; "instant payment notifications, simplified reconciliation, automated reporting". Real-time balances not stated.
Protection and scale"Your customers' deposits are protected", with a deposit protection page linked. Pricing page: "Trusted by 50+ companies".
Date read21 October 2026

Not published or not stated by Griffin

  • Who it serves. No minimums listed.
  • Products. Scheme membership not stated.
  • Technology. Real-time balances not stated.
  • Who it serves. FCA-regulated EMIs and PIs, UK private limited companies, no minimums stated.
  • Published pricing. No interest rate stated for safeguarded balances.

A fact that is not published is scored as not offered or, for a fee, as if it were high. It is never estimated.

Facts read on 21 October 2026 from: griffin.com/products/safeguarding, griffin.com/solutions/e-money-and-payments, griffin.com/pricing, griffin.com/eligibility, griffin.com/company-facts, griffin.com/support/faqs/questions/….

Virtual Accounts and IBANs Index

Griffin is a UK bank offering dedicated accounts with their own sort code and account number for each customer, and pooled safeguarding accounts, receiving on Faster Payments, Bacs and CHAPS. It publishes its PRA authorisation and FSCS terms, and onboarding in days. It serves sterling only and publishes only "from" prices.

FactWhat the provider publishes
CurrenciesSterling accounts; UK only.
Account ownershipEmbedded accounts with "a real sort code and unique account number", owned by the customer; safeguarding "Individual bank accounts for each of your customers" or "One pooled safeguarding account".
PricingBusiness accounts "From £100" a month; platform banking onboarding "from £15,000"; monthly minimum spend packages from £4,000.
Local railsFaster Payments, Bacs credits and CHAPS.
Regulatory standingGriffin Bank Ltd authorised by the PRA, regulated by the FCA and PRA, firm reference 970920; FSCS "up to £120,000".
IntegrationAPI; sandbox at app.griffin.com/register; "Onboard with us in days, not months."
Date read26 October 2026

Not published or not stated by Griffin

  • Account ownership. Virtual accounts not published.
  • Integration. Self-serve platform sign-up not published.

A fact that is not published is scored as not offered or, for a fee, as if it were high. It is never estimated.

Facts read on 26 October 2026 from: griffin.com/products/safeguarding, griffin.com/products/embedded-bank-accounts, griffin.com/products/payments, griffin.com/pricing, griffin.com/deposit-protection.

Criterion scores.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

Banking-as-a-Service and Sponsor Banks Index

  • Product range: 3/5. Accounts and payment rails published; cards and lending not published.
  • Published pricing: 2/5. Monthly spend tiers published; onboarding fee only as a "from" price.
  • Licence and deposit protection: 5/5. Own UK banking licence with firm reference and FSCS protection.
  • Compliance support: 3/5. Automated KYC and KYB published; transaction monitoring not described.
  • Integration: 4/5. API, sandbox and a stated launch time; ready-made screens not published.
  • Markets: 1/5. UK only.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Banking-as-a-Service and Sponsor Banks Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

Safeguarding Banks Index

  • Who it serves: 3/5. FCA-regulated EMIs and PIs, UK private limited companies, no minimums stated; scored for the UK.
  • Products: 4/5. Dedicated or pooled safeguarding plus client money and operational accounts, with Faster Payments and inbound CHAPS listed; scheme membership not stated.
  • Published pricing: 2/5. Business and platform prices published as "from" figures; no interest rate stated for safeguarded balances.
  • Onboarding: 2/5. Claims onboarding in days and platform go-live in 6 to 8 weeks; no document list; licence required.
  • Technology: 4/5. API with instant reconciliation against Griffin's ledger and automated reporting; real-time balances not stated.
  • Standing: 5/5. PRA authorised bank with deposit protection and a published count of 50+ client companies.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Safeguarding Banks Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

Virtual Accounts and IBANs Index

  • Currencies and markets: 1/5. Sterling only.
  • Account ownership: 4/5. Dedicated accounts in each customer's name and pooled safeguarding accounts; virtual accounts not published.
  • Published pricing: 1/5. Only "from" prices and minimum spend tiers published.
  • Local rails and speed: 3/5. UK payment systems published.
  • Regulatory standing: 5/5. Own UK banking licence with firm reference and FSCS terms.
  • Integration: 4/5. API, sandbox and a stated onboarding time; self-serve platform sign-up not published.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Virtual Accounts and IBANs Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

Griffin alternatives.

The other providers in the same ranking, ordered by score.

In the Banking-as-a-Service and Sponsor Banks Index

ProviderScore out of 5RankStrongest for
Swan3.91 of 11European software platforms wanting accounts and cards fast, with no-code screens
Solaris3.92 of 11European fintechs wanting a licensed bank that carries the compliance work
Airwallex3.83 of 11Platforms serving business customers in many countries from one integration
Weavr3.24 of 11UK and EU business software adding accounts and cards at a fixed monthly price
ClearBank3.26 of 11UK payment and e-money firms wanting FSCS-protected accounts and direct UK payment access
Synctera2.87 of 11Fintechs in the US and Canada wanting onboarding and monitoring built in
Column2.68 of 11US fintechs wanting to build directly on a chartered bank rather than through a middle layer
Increase2.69 of 11US platforms wanting a fully priced payments and accounts API
Unit2.410 of 11US software platforms wanting ready-made banking screens
Treasury Prime1.911 of 11US banks running their own fintech programmes

Full Banking-as-a-Service and Sponsor Banks Index ranking

In the Safeguarding Banks Index

ProviderScore out of 5RankStrongest for
ClearBank4.21 of 14EMIs and PIs needing direct UK and EU scheme access
European Merchant Bank3.82 of 14EU EMIs wanting a published safeguarding tariff
Mano Bank3.83 of 14EU EMIs and PIs wanting fixed published safeguarding fees
Memo Bank3.64 of 14EU firms wanting interest on safeguarded euros
Magnetiq Bank3.55 of 14EEA EMIs and PIs still in the licensing queue
Banking Circle3.56 of 14Multi-currency safeguarding across the UK and EEA
Bank of London3.57 of 14Firms opening accounts during authorisation
LHV Bank3.09 of 14GBP and EUR safeguarding with agency banking
Starling Banking Services2.810 of 14UK payment firms wanting their own sort code
Solaris2.211 of 14A second safeguarding account for licensed EMIs and PIs
CaixaBank2.112 of 14Payment firms licensed or passported into Spain
BNY1.913 of 14Large EMIs investing safeguarded cash in money market funds
Sutor Bank1.914 of 14Digital e-money and payment firms using banking as a service

Full Safeguarding Banks Index ranking

In the Virtual Accounts and IBANs Index

ProviderScore out of 5RankStrongest for
Airwallex4.31 of 10Platforms and businesses needing local receiving details in many currencies at published prices
Wise Business4.02 of 10Small and mid-sized businesses collecting from customers abroad
Nium3.83 of 10Payment firms and platforms issuing accounts in their customers' names under their own brand
ClearBank3.34 of 10UK payment and e-money firms needing safeguarding and virtual accounts at a bank
Swan2.85 of 10European platforms issuing euro accounts with local IBANs to their customers
Weavr2.67 of 10UK and EU business software giving each client account an IBAN at a fixed monthly price
Payoneer2.68 of 10Sellers and freelancers collecting from marketplaces and overseas clients
Column2.59 of 10US fintechs needing FBO accounts and account numbers at a chartered bank
Increase2.410 of 10US platforms creating many account numbers for reconciliation

Full Virtual Accounts and IBANs Index ranking

Griffin compared.

Side by side on every criterion, fact and award.

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.