How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Home › Buckingham Intelligence › Providers › Bank of London
Provider profile · 2026 edition

Bank of London review 2026: scores, fees and alternatives.

A UK clearing bank that holds deposits at the Bank of England.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 21 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
3.5 / 5Buckingham Intelligence score
1Awards 2026
1Index
7 of 14Rank, Safeguarding Banks Index

Short answer.

Bank of London scores 3.5 out of 5 (69 out of 100) in the Buckingham Intelligence Safeguarding Banks Index 2026 and ranks 7 of 14. It is strongest for firms opening accounts during authorisation, with 5 out of 5 for products. Not published or not stated on the pages read: who it serves, pricing, protection and scale, published pricing and technology.

Awards and scores.

Scores from the Safeguarding Banks Index 2026.

Safeguarding Banks Index

3.5 / 569 out of 100 · rank 7 of 14
Top rated for products 2026
SegmentScore out of 100Rank
For E-money institutions697 of 14
For payment institutions707 of 14
For firms applying for a licence686 of 14

The score out of 5 is the overall score out of 100 divided by 20. Leader goes to the top three overall, Best for to the first in each segment, and Top rated for to a score of 5 out of 5 on a criterion. Awards cannot be bought.

Strengths and watch-outs.

Where it scores best, and where to check closely, as shown in each ranking.

Strongest for

Firms opening accounts during authorisation.

  • Products (5/5). Safeguarding, operating and CASS accounts, direct settlement participation in Bacs and Faster Payments, and agency banking sort codes.
Watch out for
  • Published pricing (0/5). No fees or interest published.

Published facts.

What Bank of London publishes on its own pages, read on 21 October 2026.

A UK clearing bank that holds deposits at the Bank of England. It publishes safeguarding accounts built for EMIs and PIs with an FCA-compliant acknowledgement letter, agency banking with sponsored sort codes, and an operating account for firms still going through FCA authorisation. It does not publish prices, timelines or client numbers.

FactWhat the provider publishes
Legal status"'Bank of London', 'The Bank of London' and 'TBOL' are registered trading names of The Bank of London Group Limited." "Bank of London is a bank authorised by the Bank of England's Prudential Regulation Authority" and "regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority and the Bank of England's Prudential Regulation Authority." FRN 930379.
Who it servesSafeguarding accounts "Built for E-money Institutions (EMIs) and Payment Institutions (PIs)"; also "pre-regulated entities, businesses in the process of obtaining FCA authorisation". Minimums and countries not published.
ProductsSafeguarding accounts with deposits "kept 100% at the Bank of England"; operating accounts; CASS accounts; virtual accounts; "Agency Banking sort code sponsored scheme access". The bank describes itself as "a direct settlement participant in Bacs and Faster Payments, with access to CHAPS" and "directly connected to UK payment schemes"; clients reach Faster Payments and Bacs "through our indirect access model, without the need to become a direct scheme participant".
PricingNot published.
Onboarding"Open an operating account to manage your business funds during the authorisation process"; "we can establish safeguarding account structures in readiness for go-live once authorised." No timeline or document list.
Technology"Real-time access to payment infrastructure and interbank networks though API or Online Banking"; API documentation for Faster Payments, Bacs and CHAPS; virtual IBANs with "a reconciled ledger of customer balances".
Protection and scale"All deposits held 100% at the Bank of England, fully liquid and FSCS protected". Provides "an FCA-compliant acknowledgement letter". No client numbers published.
Date read21 October 2026

Not published or not stated by Bank of London

  • Who it serves. Minimums and countries not published.
  • Pricing. Not published.
  • Protection and scale. No client numbers published.
  • Published pricing. No fees or interest published.
  • Technology. Real-time balances not stated.

A fact that is not published is scored as not offered or, for a fee, as if it were high. It is never estimated.

Facts read on 21 October 2026 from: bankoflondon.com, bankoflondon.com/what-we-offer/accounts/…, bankoflondon.com/who-we-serve/…, bankoflondon.com/who-we-serve/…, bankoflondon.com/what-we-offer/….

Criterion scores.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

  • Who it serves: 4/5. EMIs, PIs and firms in FCA authorisation named; minimums and countries not published.
  • Products: 5/5. Safeguarding, operating and CASS accounts, direct settlement participation in Bacs and Faster Payments, and agency banking sort codes.
  • Published pricing: 0/5. No fees or interest published.
  • Onboarding: 3/5. Operating account during authorisation with safeguarding ready at go-live; no timeline or document list.
  • Technology: 4/5. Real-time payment API with scheme documentation and reconciled virtual IBAN ledger; real-time balances not stated.
  • Standing: 4/5. PRA authorised bank, deposits held at the Bank of England and FSCS protected; no client numbers.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Safeguarding Banks Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

Bank of London alternatives.

The other providers in the same ranking, ordered by score.

ProviderScore out of 5RankStrongest for
ClearBank4.21 of 14EMIs and PIs needing direct UK and EU scheme access
European Merchant Bank3.82 of 14EU EMIs wanting a published safeguarding tariff
Mano Bank3.83 of 14EU EMIs and PIs wanting fixed published safeguarding fees
Memo Bank3.64 of 14EU firms wanting interest on safeguarded euros
Magnetiq Bank3.55 of 14EEA EMIs and PIs still in the licensing queue
Banking Circle3.56 of 14Multi-currency safeguarding across the UK and EEA
Griffin3.28 of 14Dedicated per-customer safeguarding accounts
LHV Bank3.09 of 14GBP and EUR safeguarding with agency banking
Starling Banking Services2.810 of 14UK payment firms wanting their own sort code
Solaris2.211 of 14A second safeguarding account for licensed EMIs and PIs
CaixaBank2.112 of 14Payment firms licensed or passported into Spain
BNY1.913 of 14Large EMIs investing safeguarded cash in money market funds
Sutor Bank1.914 of 14Digital e-money and payment firms using banking as a service

Full Safeguarding Banks Index ranking

Bank of London compared.

Side by side on every criterion, fact and award.

Head-to-head comparisons cover pairs within the top five of each ranking. Bank of London is compared with its alternatives in the table above.

All comparisons

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.