How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Home › Buckingham Intelligence › Comparisons › Griffin vs Swan
Comparison · 2026 edition

Griffin vs Swan: banking as a service compared 2026.

Griffin and Swan side by side in the Banking-as-a-Service and Sponsor Banks Index 2026: scores, evidence, published facts and awards.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 26 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
3.2 / 5Griffin
3.9 / 5Swan
SwanHigher overall
6Criteria compared

Short answer.

In the Banking-as-a-Service and Sponsor Banks Index, Swan scores higher overall: 3.9 out of 5 (78 out of 100) against 3.2 (64), ranking 1 and 5 of 11. Swan also scores higher in every segment.

Scores side by side.

Overall and segment scores out of 100, and the score out of 5.

ScoreGriffinSwan
Score out of 53.23.9
Score out of 1006478
Overall rank5 of 111 of 11
For fintechs launching accounts and cards (out of 100)63, rank 579, rank 2
For software platforms embedding finance (out of 100)61, rank 577, rank 1
For regulated payment and e-money firms (out of 100)69, rank 579, rank 2
TypeUK bank for embedded financeEmbedded banking under a French e-money licence

Criterion by criterion.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

CriterionGriffinSwan
Product range3/5
Accounts and payment rails published; cards and lending not published.
4/5
Accounts, cards and SEPA payments published; lending not published.
Published pricing2/5
Monthly spend tiers published; onboarding fee only as a "from" price.
2/5
Card and set-up fees published; plan price only as "starting from".
Licence and deposit protection5/5
Own UK banking licence with firm reference and FSCS protection.
4/5
Own e-money licence with register number and named safeguarding banks; e-money is safeguarded, not deposit-insured.
Compliance support3/5
Automated KYC and KYB published; transaction monitoring not described.
4/5
Swan states it carries the regulatory and fraud risk; transaction monitoring not described.
Integration4/5
API, sandbox and a stated launch time; ready-made screens not published.
5/5
API, sandbox, no-code screens and a stated launch time.
Markets1/5
UK only.
4/5
31 EEA countries.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Banking-as-a-Service and Sponsor Banks Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

Published facts.

What each provider publishes on its own pages, read on 26 October 2026.

FactGriffinSwan
Product rangeEmbedded bank accounts, business accounts, savings, client money, safeguarding, payments (Faster Payments, Bacs credits, CHAPS) and Verify. Cards and lending not published.Accounts with IBANs starting FR, DE, ES, NL and IT; virtual IBANs; physical, virtual and Apple Pay or Google Pay cards; SEPA transfers and SEPA Direct Debit. Lending not described.
PricingPlatform banking onboarding "from £15,000"; monthly minimum spend packages £4,000, £6,000 and £10,000, Enterprise custom.Sandbox free; Swan on demand "Starting from 2990€/m"; Enterprise custom; non-euro card payments 2%; physical cards 5€ each; no set-up fees.
Licence and deposit protectionGriffin Bank Ltd, "authorised by the Prudential Regulation Authority and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority and Prudential Regulation Authority", firm reference 970920; FSCS "up to £120,000".Licensed electronic money institution authorised by the ACPR (REGAFI 86245) on 04/06/2020; client funds safeguarded at BNP Paribas and Natixis.
Compliance supportVerify: "Automate KYC/KYB checks"; "Use our onboarding products to automate key compliance processes.""No banking license required"; clients do not need an internal compliance team; "Swan takes on all the risk for you." KYC and onboarding listed in the sandbox.
Integration"Embed accounts, payments and onboarding via our API"; sandbox at app.griffin.com/register; "Go live in 6 to 8 weeks".Sandbox with API explorer, Postman collection and event simulator; "#nocode interfaces let you create your white-labeled MVP in minutes"; "launch in weeks, not months".
Scale"80+ companies use Griffin"; "£8.9B+ payments processed since launching in 2024".Not listed in this index
MarketsNot listed in this indexServices across the EEA; FAQ lists 31 countries.
Date read26 October 202626 October 2026

Not published or not stated by Griffin: product range, compliance support and integration.

Not published or not stated by Swan: product range, compliance support and integration.

Facts read on 26 October 2026 from: griffin.com/pricing, griffin.com/about, griffin.com/products/embedded-bank-accounts, griffin.com/products/payments, griffin.com/products/verify, griffin.com/deposit-protection; and swan.io/pricing, swan.io/use-cases/fintech, swan.io/faq.

Awards 2026.

Awards follow from the published scores and cannot be bought.

Griffin
Top rated for licence and deposit protection 2026
Swan
Leader 2026Best for software platforms embedding finance 2026Top rated for integration 2026

Who each suits.

From each provider's strongest criteria and published terms.

Griffin suits

UK fintechs and platforms wanting a bank with published plan tiers and fast onboarding.

  • Licence and deposit protection (5/5). Own UK banking licence with firm reference and FSCS protection.

Griffin full profile

Swan suits

European software platforms wanting accounts and cards fast, with no-code screens.

  • Integration (5/5). API, sandbox, no-code screens and a stated launch time.

Swan full profile

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.