How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Home › Buckingham Intelligence › Providers › Starling Banking Services
Provider profile · 2026 edition

Starling Banking Services review 2026: scores, fees and alternatives.

The banking services arm of Starling Bank.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 21 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
2.8 / 5Buckingham Intelligence score
0Awards 2026
1Index
10 of 14Rank, Safeguarding Banks Index

Short answer.

Starling Banking Services scores 2.8 out of 5 (55 out of 100) in the Buckingham Intelligence Safeguarding Banks Index 2026 and ranks 10 of 14. It is strongest for UK payment firms wanting their own sort code, and its best criterion is products at 4 out of 5. Not published or not stated on the pages read: who it serves, pricing, onboarding, technology, protection and scale and published pricing.

Awards and scores.

Scores from the Safeguarding Banks Index 2026.

Safeguarding Banks Index

2.8 / 555 out of 100 · rank 10 of 14

No award in the Safeguarding Banks Index 2026.

SegmentScore out of 100Rank
For E-money institutions5810 of 14
For payment institutions5810 of 14
For firms applying for a licence5010 of 14

The score out of 5 is the overall score out of 100 divided by 20. Leader goes to the top three overall, Best for to the first in each segment, and Top rated for to a score of 5 out of 5 on a criterion. Awards cannot be bought.

Strengths and watch-outs.

Where it scores best, and where to check closely, as shown in each ranking.

Strongest for

UK payment firms wanting their own sort code.

  • Products (4/5). Safeguarding, operational and CASS accounts on the firm's own sort code with Faster Payments, Bacs and inbound CHAPS.
  • Technology (4/5). Single API, real-time payments and dedicated accounts for reconciliation; real-time balances not stated.
  • Standing (4/5). PRA authorised bank with FSCS protection; no client numbers published.
Watch out for
  • Published pricing (1/5). Only free virtual accounts stated; no fees or interest published.
  • Onboarding (1/5). Only a general statement of quick onboarding; no timeline, document list or route before authorisation.

Published facts.

What Starling Banking Services publishes on its own pages, read on 21 October 2026.

The banking services arm of Starling Bank. It publishes safeguarding, operational, segregated and CASS accounts for regulated payment service providers on their own addressable sort code, with Faster Payments, Bacs and inbound CHAPS and API access. Safeguarding accounts are only for clients using its payment services. It does not publish prices, minimums or an onboarding process.

FactWhat the provider publishes
Legal status"Starling Bank Limited (trading as Starling) is registered in England and Wales" (No. 09092149). "We are authorised by the Prudential Regulation Authority and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority" (No. 730166).
Who it serves"a range of client money accounts suitable for e-money and payment institutions, as well as investment firms." Accounts page: "Only available to Payment Service Providers domiciled and regulated in the UK, or EEA and authorised to offer financial services within the UK." "All clients are regulated within the UK." "Our Safeguarding and Segregated Accounts are available only to clients using our Payment Services." "Eligibility criteria applies"; the former eligibility criteria page now redirects to the Banking Services home page. Minimums not published.
ProductsSegregated, operational, safeguarding and CASS accounts and virtual accounts on an "own addressable UK sort code" with Faster Payments and Bacs, plus inbound CHAPS; GBP.
PricingUnlimited virtual accounts "at no extra cost". No fee schedule or interest rate published.
Onboarding"We offer a quick and straightforward onboarding process, which includes handling the FPS settlement for you." No document list, timeline or route before authorisation published.
Technology"All opened and managed by one simple API"; real-time payments; "Simplify reconciliation with dedicated accounts for inflows and outflows". Real-time balances not stated.
Protection and scaleFSCS protection page and leaflet linked. No client numbers published.
Date read21 October 2026

Not published or not stated by Starling Banking Services

  • Who it serves. Minimums not published.
  • Pricing. No fee schedule or interest rate published.
  • Onboarding. No document list, timeline or route before authorisation published.
  • Technology. Real-time balances not stated.
  • Protection and scale. No client numbers published.
  • Published pricing. No fees or interest published.

A fact that is not published is scored as not offered or, for a fee, as if it were high. It is never estimated.

Facts read on 21 October 2026 from: starlingbank.com/banking-services/…, starlingbank.com/banking-services/….

Criterion scores.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

  • Who it serves: 3/5. UK-regulated or EEA firms authorised in the UK; safeguarding only for payment services clients; minimums not published; scored for the UK.
  • Products: 4/5. Safeguarding, operational and CASS accounts on the firm's own sort code with Faster Payments, Bacs and inbound CHAPS.
  • Published pricing: 1/5. Only free virtual accounts stated; no fees or interest published.
  • Onboarding: 1/5. Only a general statement of quick onboarding; no timeline, document list or route before authorisation.
  • Technology: 4/5. Single API, real-time payments and dedicated accounts for reconciliation; real-time balances not stated.
  • Standing: 4/5. PRA authorised bank with FSCS protection; no client numbers published.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Safeguarding Banks Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

Starling Banking Services alternatives.

The other providers in the same ranking, ordered by score.

ProviderScore out of 5RankStrongest for
ClearBank4.21 of 14EMIs and PIs needing direct UK and EU scheme access
European Merchant Bank3.82 of 14EU EMIs wanting a published safeguarding tariff
Mano Bank3.83 of 14EU EMIs and PIs wanting fixed published safeguarding fees
Memo Bank3.64 of 14EU firms wanting interest on safeguarded euros
Magnetiq Bank3.55 of 14EEA EMIs and PIs still in the licensing queue
Banking Circle3.56 of 14Multi-currency safeguarding across the UK and EEA
Bank of London3.57 of 14Firms opening accounts during authorisation
Griffin3.28 of 14Dedicated per-customer safeguarding accounts
LHV Bank3.09 of 14GBP and EUR safeguarding with agency banking
Solaris2.211 of 14A second safeguarding account for licensed EMIs and PIs
CaixaBank2.112 of 14Payment firms licensed or passported into Spain
BNY1.913 of 14Large EMIs investing safeguarded cash in money market funds
Sutor Bank1.914 of 14Digital e-money and payment firms using banking as a service

Full Safeguarding Banks Index ranking

Starling Banking Services compared.

Side by side on every criterion, fact and award.

Head-to-head comparisons cover pairs within the top five of each ranking. Starling Banking Services is compared with its alternatives in the table above.

All comparisons

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.