How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Home › Buckingham Intelligence › Providers › Memo Bank
Provider profile · 2026 edition

Memo Bank review 2026: scores, fees and alternatives.

A French business bank.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 21 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
3.6 / 5Buckingham Intelligence score
2Awards 2026
1Index
4 of 14Rank, Safeguarding Banks Index

Short answer.

Memo Bank scores 3.6 out of 5 (72 out of 100) in the Buckingham Intelligence Safeguarding Banks Index 2026 and ranks 4 of 14. It is strongest for EU firms wanting interest on safeguarded euros, with 5 out of 5 for technology and standing. Not published or not stated on the pages read: who it serves and onboarding.

Awards and scores.

Scores from the Safeguarding Banks Index 2026.

Safeguarding Banks Index

3.6 / 572 out of 100 · rank 4 of 14
Top rated for technology 2026Top rated for standing 2026
SegmentScore out of 100Rank
For E-money institutions764 of 14
For payment institutions754 of 14
For firms applying for a licence667 of 14

The score out of 5 is the overall score out of 100 divided by 20. Leader goes to the top three overall, Best for to the first in each segment, and Top rated for to a score of 5 out of 5 on a criterion. Awards cannot be bought.

Strengths and watch-outs.

Where it scores best, and where to check closely, as shown in each ranking.

Strongest for

EU firms wanting interest on safeguarded euros.

  • Technology (5/5). API with real-time webhooks on every movement and virtual IBAN reconciliation.
  • Standing (5/5). ECB-licensed bank with FGDR deposit protection and a published count of 50+ client account clients.
Watch out for
  • Onboarding (2/5). Online opening stated; no timeline, document list or pre-authorisation route.

Published facts.

What Memo Bank publishes on its own pages, read on 21 October 2026.

A French business bank. It publishes client accounts for payment and e-money institutions in EUR, USD and GBP with French IBANs, real-time webhooks and virtual IBANs, and it is the only assessed bank that publishes the interest paid on safeguarded balances. A Memo Bank current account is required first.

FactWhat the provider publishes
Legal status"Memo Bank is a limited company (Société Anonyme)"; "We're a credit institution, licensed by the ECB and supervised by the ACPR".
Who it serves"Serving Payment Institutions, Electronic Money Institutions, fiduciaries, financing companies, and collection agencies"; also "ACPR-exempt entities". A Memo Bank business current account is required first. Countries and minimums not published.
ProductsClient (safeguarding) accounts, each paired with a settlement account; "By default, all our client accounts are denominated in euros (EUR)", with USD or GBP on request; French IBANs; SEPA transfers and direct debits; international transfers.
PricingClient account balances earn 25% of the €STR, paid monthly, "from the first euro". Payments plans "From €449 excl. VAT per month". The tariff PDF (updated 8 September 2026) lists safeguarding and settlement account pricing as "Nous consulter" (on request).
Onboarding"signing the terms and conditions and opening the client account can be done online." No timeline or document list; accounts before authorisation not stated.
Technology"Plug our Premium API into your own systems"; "You are notified in real time (webhooks) upon the creation of the account, as well as on incoming and outgoing movements." Virtual IBANs for "precise, granular reconciliation".
Protection and scale"covered by the FGDR, France's deposit guarantee scheme"; LCR of 477% and CET1 ratio of 50%; "more than 50 clients" supported in opening client accounts.
Date read21 October 2026

Not published or not stated by Memo Bank

  • Who it serves. Countries and minimums not published.
  • Onboarding. Accounts before authorisation not stated.
  • Who it serves. A Memo current account is required and countries and minimums are not published.

A fact that is not published is scored as not offered or, for a fee, as if it were high. It is never estimated.

Facts read on 21 October 2026 from: memo.bank/en/product/client-accounts, memo.bank/en/usage/safeguarding-funds, memo.bank/en/pricing, assets.memo.bank/documents/….

Criterion scores.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

  • Who it serves: 3/5. PIs, EMIs and exempt entities named; a Memo current account is required and countries and minimums are not published.
  • Products: 4/5. Safeguarding accounts paired with settlement accounts in EUR, USD and GBP with SEPA and international transfers; no agency banking.
  • Published pricing: 4/5. Interest on client account balances published (25% of €STR); safeguarding account fees on request and plan fees only as a "from" price.
  • Onboarding: 2/5. Online opening stated; no timeline, document list or pre-authorisation route.
  • Technology: 5/5. API with real-time webhooks on every movement and virtual IBAN reconciliation.
  • Standing: 5/5. ECB-licensed bank with FGDR deposit protection and a published count of 50+ client account clients.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Safeguarding Banks Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

Memo Bank alternatives.

The other providers in the same ranking, ordered by score.

ProviderScore out of 5RankStrongest for
ClearBank4.21 of 14EMIs and PIs needing direct UK and EU scheme access
European Merchant Bank3.82 of 14EU EMIs wanting a published safeguarding tariff
Mano Bank3.83 of 14EU EMIs and PIs wanting fixed published safeguarding fees
Magnetiq Bank3.55 of 14EEA EMIs and PIs still in the licensing queue
Banking Circle3.56 of 14Multi-currency safeguarding across the UK and EEA
Bank of London3.57 of 14Firms opening accounts during authorisation
Griffin3.28 of 14Dedicated per-customer safeguarding accounts
LHV Bank3.09 of 14GBP and EUR safeguarding with agency banking
Starling Banking Services2.810 of 14UK payment firms wanting their own sort code
Solaris2.211 of 14A second safeguarding account for licensed EMIs and PIs
CaixaBank2.112 of 14Payment firms licensed or passported into Spain
BNY1.913 of 14Large EMIs investing safeguarded cash in money market funds
Sutor Bank1.914 of 14Digital e-money and payment firms using banking as a service

Full Safeguarding Banks Index ranking

Memo Bank compared.

Side by side on every criterion, fact and award.

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.