How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Provider profile · 2026 edition

LHV Bank review 2026: scores, fees and alternatives.

A UK bank with a dedicated financial institutions unit serving over 200 regulated firms.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 21 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
3.0 / 5Buckingham Intelligence score
0Awards 2026
1Index
9 of 14Rank, Safeguarding Banks Index

Short answer.

LHV Bank scores 3.0 out of 5 (61 out of 100) in the Buckingham Intelligence Safeguarding Banks Index 2026 and ranks 9 of 14. It is strongest for GBP and EUR safeguarding with agency banking, and its best criterion is who it serves at 4 out of 5. Not published or not stated on the pages read: who it serves, protection and scale, products, published pricing, technology and standing.

Awards and scores.

Scores from the Safeguarding Banks Index 2026.

Safeguarding Banks Index

3.0 / 561 out of 100 · rank 9 of 14

No award in the Safeguarding Banks Index 2026.

SegmentScore out of 100Rank
For E-money institutions629 of 14
For payment institutions629 of 14
For firms applying for a licence608 of 14

The score out of 5 is the overall score out of 100 divided by 20. Leader goes to the top three overall, Best for to the first in each segment, and Top rated for to a score of 5 out of 5 on a criterion. Awards cannot be bought.

Strengths and watch-outs.

Where it scores best, and where to check closely, as shown in each ranking.

Strongest for

GBP and EUR safeguarding with agency banking.

  • Who it serves (4/5). Authorised EMIs and PIs regulated in the UK, EEA or Gibraltar, final-stage applicants considered; micro-enterprises excluded, minimums not published.
  • Products (4/5). Safeguarding, operational and virtual accounts with GBP and EUR scheme access; agency banking appears only in an older news release; direct scheme membership not stated.
  • Technology (4/5). API account and IBAN issuance with reconciliation reporting; real-time balances not stated.
  • Standing (4/5). PRA authorised bank with 200+ regulated financial institution clients; deposit protection not stated.
Watch out for
  • Published pricing (0/5). Published fee documents cover the LHV Current Account only; no safeguarding fees or interest published.
  • Onboarding (2/5). Eligibility and onboarding principles published; no document list or timeline.

Published facts.

What LHV Bank publishes on its own pages, read on 21 October 2026.

A UK bank with a dedicated financial institutions unit serving over 200 regulated firms. It publishes multi-currency safeguarding and operational accounts, virtual accounts and GBP and EUR scheme access, and full eligibility criteria naming authorised EMIs and PIs. It publishes no fees for financial institutions and no onboarding timeline.

FactWhat the provider publishes
Legal status"LHV Bank Limited (13180211) is registered in England and Wales" and is "authorised by the Prudential Regulation Authority and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority".
Who it serves"Your company must be a regulated financial institution supervised by the Financial Conduct Authority" or equivalent EEA or Gibraltar regulators. Named types include "Authorised E-Money Institution" and "Authorised Payment Institution". Firms "in the final stages of obtaining approval may also be considered." Must not be an autonomous micro-enterprise; minimum revenue and monthly payment levels set by LHV, not published. Crypto providers accepted subject to extra review.
ProductsSafeguarding: "Multicurrency accounts to comply with regulatory requirements are available to regulated entities to hold client funds." Operational and virtual accounts; GBP and EUR IBANs; "access to UK and European payment schemes". Agency banking with indirect access to Faster Payments, STEP2 and RT1 and client-owned sort codes is described only in a news release that predates LHV Bank Limited's UK banking licence; current product pages do not mention it.
PricingThe "Fees, rates and charges" page publishes Fee Information Documents for the LHV Current Account (latest dated 11 November 2025). No fees or interest for financial institution or safeguarding accounts are published.
OnboardingEligibility criteria, onboarding principles and compliance requirements published (last reviewed November 2022). No document list or timeline.
Technology"Instant IBANs issuance via API"; "Comprehensive reporting for complete visibility and reconciliation"; LHV Connect API and Open Banking API.
Protection and scale"We are a trusted partner to over 200 regulated financial institutions". Deposit protection for financial institution balances not stated on the pages read.
Date read21 October 2026

Not published or not stated by LHV Bank

  • Who it serves. Minimum revenue and monthly payment levels set by LHV, not published.
  • Protection and scale. Deposit protection for financial institution balances not stated on the pages read.
  • Who it serves. Micro-enterprises excluded, minimums not published.
  • Products. Direct scheme membership not stated.
  • Published pricing. No safeguarding fees or interest published.
  • Technology. Real-time balances not stated.
  • Standing. Deposit protection not stated.

A fact that is not published is scored as not offered or, for a fee, as if it were high. It is never estimated.

Facts read on 21 October 2026 from: lhv.com/financialinstitutions, lhv.com/financialinstitutions/accounts, lhv.com/financialinstitutions/…, lhv.com/financialinstitutions/…, lhv.com/financialinstitutions/…, lhv.com/legal/fees, lhv.com/about/news/….

Criterion scores.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

  • Who it serves: 4/5. Authorised EMIs and PIs regulated in the UK, EEA or Gibraltar, final-stage applicants considered; micro-enterprises excluded, minimums not published.
  • Products: 4/5. Safeguarding, operational and virtual accounts with GBP and EUR scheme access; agency banking appears only in an older news release; direct scheme membership not stated.
  • Published pricing: 0/5. Published fee documents cover the LHV Current Account only; no safeguarding fees or interest published.
  • Onboarding: 2/5. Eligibility and onboarding principles published; no document list or timeline.
  • Technology: 4/5. API account and IBAN issuance with reconciliation reporting; real-time balances not stated.
  • Standing: 4/5. PRA authorised bank with 200+ regulated financial institution clients; deposit protection not stated.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Safeguarding Banks Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

LHV Bank alternatives.

The other providers in the same ranking, ordered by score.

ProviderScore out of 5RankStrongest for
ClearBank4.21 of 14EMIs and PIs needing direct UK and EU scheme access
European Merchant Bank3.82 of 14EU EMIs wanting a published safeguarding tariff
Mano Bank3.83 of 14EU EMIs and PIs wanting fixed published safeguarding fees
Memo Bank3.64 of 14EU firms wanting interest on safeguarded euros
Magnetiq Bank3.55 of 14EEA EMIs and PIs still in the licensing queue
Banking Circle3.56 of 14Multi-currency safeguarding across the UK and EEA
Bank of London3.57 of 14Firms opening accounts during authorisation
Griffin3.28 of 14Dedicated per-customer safeguarding accounts
Starling Banking Services2.810 of 14UK payment firms wanting their own sort code
Solaris2.211 of 14A second safeguarding account for licensed EMIs and PIs
CaixaBank2.112 of 14Payment firms licensed or passported into Spain
BNY1.913 of 14Large EMIs investing safeguarded cash in money market funds
Sutor Bank1.914 of 14Digital e-money and payment firms using banking as a service

Full Safeguarding Banks Index ranking

LHV Bank compared.

Side by side on every criterion, fact and award.

Head-to-head comparisons cover pairs within the top five of each ranking. LHV Bank is compared with its alternatives in the table above.

All comparisons

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.