How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Provider profile · 2026 edition

BNY review 2026: scores, fees and alternatives.

A US custody and payments bank with a London branch and a Belgian bank.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 21 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
1.9 / 5Buckingham Intelligence score
0Awards 2026
1Index
13 of 14Rank, Safeguarding Banks Index

Short answer.

BNY scores 1.9 out of 5 (39 out of 100) in the Buckingham Intelligence Safeguarding Banks Index 2026 and ranks 13 of 14. It is strongest for large EMIs investing safeguarded cash in money market funds, and its best criterion is products at 3 out of 5. Not published or not stated on the pages read: legal status, who it serves, products, pricing, technology, protection and scale and published pricing.

Awards and scores.

Scores from the Safeguarding Banks Index 2026.

Safeguarding Banks Index

1.9 / 539 out of 100 · rank 13 of 14

No award in the Safeguarding Banks Index 2026.

SegmentScore out of 100Rank
For E-money institutions4113 of 14
For payment institutions4113 of 14
For firms applying for a licence3613 of 14

The score out of 5 is the overall score out of 100 divided by 20. Leader goes to the top three overall, Best for to the first in each segment, and Top rated for to a score of 5 out of 5 on a criterion. Awards cannot be bought.

Strengths and watch-outs.

Where it scores best, and where to check closely, as shown in each ranking.

Strongest for

Large EMIs investing safeguarded cash in money market funds.

  • Products (3/5). Safeguarding accounts with investment of safeguarded cash in government and treasury-only money market funds, plus USD clearing; no operating account or UK or euro scheme access stated.
  • Technology (3/5). Automated safeguarding and reconciliation reporting; no API or real-time balances stated.
  • Standing (3/5). Licensed bank authorised by the PRA and an ECB-supervised EU bank; deposit protection and fintech client numbers not stated.
Watch out for
  • Who it serves (2/5). EMIs and payment service providers named in a CASS 15 guide; no eligibility criteria, minimums or countries published.
  • Published pricing (0/5). No fees or interest published; fund yields not guaranteed.
  • Onboarding (1/5). Only a single onboarding and KYC process stated; no timeline or document list.

Published facts.

What BNY publishes on its own pages, read on 21 October 2026.

A US custody and payments bank with a London branch and a Belgian bank. Its CASS 15 guide states it offers safeguarding accounts to EMIs and payment service providers through its LiquidityDirect platform, so safeguarded cash can be placed in government and treasury-only money market funds, with automated safeguarding reporting. It publishes no eligibility criteria, prices, timeline or API details for these accounts.

FactWhat the provider publishes
Legal status"The Bank of New York Mellon, a banking corporation organized pursuant to the laws of the State of New York" is "authorized by the Prudential Regulation Authority ("PRA") (Firm Reference Number: 122467)"; its London branch "is subject to regulation by the Financial Conduct Authority ("FCA") and limited regulation by the PRA." "The Bank of New York Mellon SA/NV" is "authorized and regulated as a significant credit institution by the European Central Bank". The entity that opens safeguarding accounts is not stated.
Who it servesWritten for firms under CASS 15, "payment service providers, including electronic money institutions (EMIs) and authorised payments institutions (APIs)"; BNY's network is described as "helping EMIs and PSPs support global payment flows". No eligibility criteria, minimums or countries published.
Products"clients can allocate safeguarded cash to government and treasury-only MMFs through safeguarding accounts offered by BNY" via LiquidityDirect; "USD clearing and correspondent banking network"; FX. Operating accounts and UK or euro scheme access for these firms not stated.
PricingNot published. Money market fund yields "will vary depending on market conditions and fund composition and are not guaranteed."
Onboarding"LiquidityDirect also supports a single onboarding and KYC process with automated execution and settlement". No timeline or document list.
Technology"The platform's automated reporting also streamlines delivery of key Treasury and safeguarding reports"; "the audit trail and reporting needed for reconciliations, monthly returns and resolution pack maintenance". API and real-time balances not stated.
Protection and scaleCase study: BNY "acts as a safeguarding bank for some regulated entities within the group" of AstroPay. Deposit protection and fintech client numbers not stated.
Date read21 October 2026

Not published or not stated by BNY

  • Legal status. The entity that opens safeguarding accounts is not stated.
  • Who it serves. No eligibility criteria, minimums or countries published.
  • Products. Operating accounts and UK or euro scheme access for these firms not stated.
  • Pricing. Not published.
  • Technology. API and real-time balances not stated.
  • Protection and scale. Deposit protection and fintech client numbers not stated.
  • Products. No operating account or UK or euro scheme access stated.
  • Published pricing. No fees or interest published.
  • Technology. No API or real-time balances stated.

A fact that is not published is scored as not offered or, for a fee, as if it were high. It is never estimated.

Facts read on 21 October 2026 from: bny.com/corporate/global/en/insights/…, bny.com/assets/corporate/documents/pdf/….

Criterion scores.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

  • Who it serves: 2/5. EMIs and payment service providers named in a CASS 15 guide; no eligibility criteria, minimums or countries published.
  • Products: 3/5. Safeguarding accounts with investment of safeguarded cash in government and treasury-only money market funds, plus USD clearing; no operating account or UK or euro scheme access stated.
  • Published pricing: 0/5. No fees or interest published; fund yields not guaranteed.
  • Onboarding: 1/5. Only a single onboarding and KYC process stated; no timeline or document list.
  • Technology: 3/5. Automated safeguarding and reconciliation reporting; no API or real-time balances stated.
  • Standing: 3/5. Licensed bank authorised by the PRA and an ECB-supervised EU bank; deposit protection and fintech client numbers not stated.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Safeguarding Banks Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

BNY alternatives.

The other providers in the same ranking, ordered by score.

ProviderScore out of 5RankStrongest for
ClearBank4.21 of 14EMIs and PIs needing direct UK and EU scheme access
European Merchant Bank3.82 of 14EU EMIs wanting a published safeguarding tariff
Mano Bank3.83 of 14EU EMIs and PIs wanting fixed published safeguarding fees
Memo Bank3.64 of 14EU firms wanting interest on safeguarded euros
Magnetiq Bank3.55 of 14EEA EMIs and PIs still in the licensing queue
Banking Circle3.56 of 14Multi-currency safeguarding across the UK and EEA
Bank of London3.57 of 14Firms opening accounts during authorisation
Griffin3.28 of 14Dedicated per-customer safeguarding accounts
LHV Bank3.09 of 14GBP and EUR safeguarding with agency banking
Starling Banking Services2.810 of 14UK payment firms wanting their own sort code
Solaris2.211 of 14A second safeguarding account for licensed EMIs and PIs
CaixaBank2.112 of 14Payment firms licensed or passported into Spain
Sutor Bank1.914 of 14Digital e-money and payment firms using banking as a service

Full Safeguarding Banks Index ranking

BNY compared.

Side by side on every criterion, fact and award.

Head-to-head comparisons cover pairs within the top five of each ranking. BNY is compared with its alternatives in the table above.

All comparisons

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.