How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Home › Buckingham Intelligence › Comparisons › Griffin vs Weavr
Comparison · 2026 edition

Griffin vs Weavr: banking as a service compared 2026.

Griffin and Weavr side by side in the Banking-as-a-Service and Sponsor Banks Index 2026: scores, evidence, published facts and awards.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 26 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
3.2 / 5Griffin
3.2 / 5Weavr
WeavrHigher overall
6Criteria compared

Short answer.

In the Banking-as-a-Service and Sponsor Banks Index, Weavr scores higher overall: 3.2 out of 5 (65 out of 100) against 3.2 (64), ranking 4 and 5 of 11. Griffin scores higher for fintechs launching accounts and cards and regulated payment and e-money firms; Weavr scores higher for software platforms embedding finance.

Scores side by side.

Overall and segment scores out of 100, and the score out of 5.

ScoreGriffinWeavr
Score out of 53.23.2
Score out of 1006465
Overall rank5 of 114 of 11
For fintechs launching accounts and cards (out of 100)63, rank 561, rank 7
For software platforms embedding finance (out of 100)61, rank 568, rank 4
For regulated payment and e-money firms (out of 100)69, rank 565, rank 6
TypeUK bank for embedded financeEmbedded finance platform over a partner e-money firm

Criterion by criterion.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

CriterionGriffinWeavr
Product range3/5
Accounts and payment rails published; cards and lending not published.
4/5
Accounts, cards and payment rails published; lending not published.
Published pricing2/5
Monthly spend tiers published; onboarding fee only as a "from" price.
3/5
Fixed monthly entry plan price published; usage and compliance charges not published.
Licence and deposit protection5/5
Own UK banking licence with firm reference and FSCS protection.
3/5
Named partner e-money firm with regulator and reference; Weavr itself is not the licence holder.
Compliance support3/5
Automated KYC and KYB published; transaction monitoring not described.
1/5
Fraud monitoring only; KYC and KYB responsibility not described.
Integration4/5
API, sandbox and a stated launch time; ready-made screens not published.
5/5
API, sandbox, embeddable screens and a stated launch time.
Markets1/5
UK only.
3/5
UK and EU business clients.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Banking-as-a-Service and Sponsor Banks Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

Published facts.

What each provider publishes on its own pages, read on 26 October 2026.

FactGriffinWeavr
Product rangeEmbedded bank accounts, business accounts, savings, client money, safeguarding, payments (Faster Payments, Bacs credits, CHAPS) and Verify. Cards and lending not published.Wallet accounts with IBANs; Mastercard debit cards, virtual or physical; SEPA, SWIFT and Faster Payments transfers. Lending not described.
PricingPlatform banking onboarding "from £15,000"; monthly minimum spend packages £4,000, £6,000 and £10,000, Enterprise custom.Launch: "£ 1,947 / € 2,370 per month", a platform licence subscription excluding set-up, product usage and compliance service charges; Scale: "Let's talk".
Licence and deposit protectionGriffin Bank Ltd, "authorised by the Prudential Regulation Authority and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority and Prudential Regulation Authority", firm reference 970920; FSCS "up to £120,000".EU accounts and cards issued by Paynetics AD, authorised by the Bulgarian National Bank; UK by Paynetics UK, FCA firm reference 942777; client funds held in safeguarding accounts; e-money "not covered by any Deposit Guarantee Scheme".
Compliance supportVerify: "Automate KYC/KYB checks"; "Use our onboarding products to automate key compliance processes."Launch needs no "compliance expertise"; compliance service charges billed separately; fraud monitoring included. KYC and KYB not described.
Integration"Embed accounts, payments and onboarding via our API"; sandbox at app.griffin.com/register; "Go live in 6 to 8 weeks".Free sandbox and simulator; API reference; embeddable UI elements in React Native and Flutter; "up and running with your new embedded finance programme in a few weeks".
Scale"80+ companies use Griffin"; "£8.9B+ payments processed since launching in 2024".Not listed in this index
MarketsNot listed in this indexLegal entities in the UK (Weavr Ltd) and the EU (Weavr (Europe) Ltd); Launch for "approved B2B payments use cases in EU and UK".
Date read26 October 202626 October 2026

Not published or not stated by Griffin: product range, compliance support and integration.

Not published or not stated by Weavr: product range, compliance support and published pricing.

Facts read on 26 October 2026 from: griffin.com/pricing, griffin.com/about, griffin.com/products/embedded-bank-accounts, griffin.com/products/payments, griffin.com/products/verify, griffin.com/deposit-protection; and weavr.io/pricing, weavr.io.

Awards 2026.

Awards follow from the published scores and cannot be bought.

Griffin
Top rated for licence and deposit protection 2026
Weavr
Top rated for integration 2026

Who each suits.

From each provider's strongest criteria and published terms.

Griffin suits

UK fintechs and platforms wanting a bank with published plan tiers and fast onboarding.

  • Licence and deposit protection (5/5). Own UK banking licence with firm reference and FSCS protection.

Griffin full profile

Weavr suits

UK and EU business software adding accounts and cards at a fixed monthly price.

  • Integration (5/5). API, sandbox, embeddable screens and a stated launch time.

Weavr full profile

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.